We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amazones Village Suites
Nearby Hotels
US$73
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dream Village(Piskopiano)(Great Value!)
US$18
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Asterias Village Resort(Koutouloufari)(Great Value!)
US$42
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Panorama(Piskopiano)
Villa SoRenia(Piskopiano)
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lofos Apartments(Piskopiano)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stelva Villas(Piskopiano)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mika Villas(Piskopiano)
Travelocity
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (578)
Filter reviews
578 results
Traveller rating
322
122
62
34
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
322
122
62
34
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalf boardsea viewgreek yogurteach eveninggreat holidayexcept sundaycold meatssteep hillamazing viewsnext yeartransfer coachrestaurants and barspool area is lovelyfresh towelswalking difficultieskitchen areahired a car
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
233 - 238 of 578 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed in suite A1, amazing panoramic view to the sea and chersonissos, we enjoyed our stay the suite was clean, nice big swimming pool and the management (Catering & Stella) was helpful and friendly. Beautiful Crete, we would like as satisfied customers recommend this hotel :-)

Room Tip: Our room A1 was amazing <3
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Thank Christo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amazonesclub, Manager at Amazones Village Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your time and feedback.
We wish you a pleasant winter and we are looking forward to seeing you soon in the near future.
Best Regards,
The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed for a week in a sea view suite, booked through Secret Escapes. The hotel itself is nice, the rooms are clean, the suites big, and the view great.The breakfast setting overlooking the sea view is very relaxing. Dinner is a fairly basic, but perfectly edible buffet-style affair - and for the Secret Escapes price you can't really complain. The bar and snack items are all very reasonably priced (~€2.50 a beer) and the location is nice - out of the noise of the beach side part of Hersonissos but close enough to walk down in the evening (15-20 mins); Koutouloufari (10 mins) or Old Hersonissos (10 mins) also have nice bars and restaurants and a more relaxed atmosphere.

What we did have to complain about was the overbooking - particularly annoying as it appears many others have shared this apparently consistent problem. The hotel was overbooked such that we had to spend 2 of our 7 nights in a fairly grotty, concrete monstrosity down the road with a view of the car park - not the sea view suite we were hoping for! The other problem this creates is that all the people who have fallen foul of the overbooking (a reasonable proportion whilst we stayed - some losing 4-5 days of their holiday) can still use the hotel facilities, so bar service is slow as the two staff try hard to compensate for the extra people, and the pool area is crowded...this of course is all complemented beautifully by the atmosphere created by a large proportion of sadly quite grumpy guests (and clearly frustrated staff) - although they, as we did, all mellowed after a few days in the sun.

If they sort the overbooking out, then this is a nice hotel in a peaceful location with helpful staff - but if being told that your hotel is too full to accommodate you after travelling 2000 miles isn't the relaxing start to a holiday that you're looking for, then I wouldn't recommend that you risk booking here until the reviews reflect that the issue has been resolved.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wolfy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amazonesclub, Manager at Amazones Village Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your time.
We apologize in advance for any inconvenience but this has been an exceptionally busy season for all Greece.
We tried under the circumstances to minimize the trouble.
Please, remember that due to different work schedules and time differences miscommunication that leads to unpleasant situations may happen.
We thank you so much for choosing the Amazones Village Suites and we are looking forward to seeing you in the coming season.
Have a good winter.
The Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This was the first time we have visited Crete and we enjoyed it a lot. The people are very friendly and we actually thought that the Amazones Village was fine. Friendly staff, lovely view and breakfast was utilitarian but was a decent way to start the day. The big issue we had, and it would appear that this is a common problem, was overbooking. We booked 2 suites but after sitting in reception for an hour were told that Expedia had overbooked the hotel. We found that lots of guests had the same issue though they had traveled with other agents. We were offered one room for the four of us to share which was not acceptable. We therefore had to take one room at Amazones and one at a shabby establishment a couple of hundred yards away. Not ideal! This was a shame because we were pretty happy with the Amazones and would have been very happy if we could have all stayed where we booked.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen W H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amazonesclub, General Manager at Amazones Village Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for visiting us.
We are looking forward to seeing you again in the coming future.
Best Regards,
The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We really enjoyed our stay @Amazones Villages. Our room was a great size being a junior suite and although it was over the bar area it was not a problem noise-wise. Ok the furnishings were a little tired but the room was clean and simply furnished to cover everything you might need. Although we didn't use it it was also well equipped if you wanted to do self- catering, with fridge, plates, cutlery etc. We had a small welcome basket of wine, fruit + water, which was unexpected but very nice. From our balcony we had a terrific panoramic view looking out over the lovely pool. The pool area is the hotel's best feature, it was fab with sunbeds on the surrounding area + bar service - what's not to like?

We went half-board and the breakfast was great, lovely Greek yogurt, cereal, toast, eggs etc - dont expect a full English, this is Greece. For the evening meal the food was at best ok, not a gastronomic experience more school dinners! But there was always something from the choice on offer that was fine enough to eat. The Greek food was the best the tsatziki was delicious, good salads, delicious filo pastry squares, lamb etc. I have to say the evening meal was the main bone of contention amongst other guests, some people who booked half- board ate out every night but it wasn't that bad, though I wouldn't have looked forward to a second week of it! We'd recommend going B+B as there are plenty of other places to eat out at @ very reasonable prices both at Piskopiano and the bigger Koutouloufari just a stroll away. Kosta's @
Piskopiano is worth a mention the food here was excellent quality + delicious, if not the cheapest, but there are plenty places offering a mix of mezzes for 16€ for 2 people.

Unlike some of the reviewers we found the staff extremely friendly, from the always very cheerful Dimitri who was stand out nice, to Stella, Nico and Caterina, also Dimitri's aunt and the lovely cleaner whose name I never knew. For the price this place was great value for money.

The place itself is situated up the hill about a km out of Chersonnissus and from our point of view all the better for this! Chersonnissus is quite a busy place but can offer night life, lots of tourist shops, plenty of eateries and cheap beer during happy hour if you want it. There is also an excellent bus service from the main street there, bus stop no 21 I think it's opposite a bank to go towards Heraklion. Don't worry if you put your hand out and the bus doesn't stop, this'll be the express which shoots through, there will be another along pretty soon! By using the bus service it's easy to get to sandy beaches in either direction, we liked Kokkini towards Heraklion. This is where we got drinks for 4 of us for 5€ at the canteen bus on the beach! The owner speaks very good English as do most Greek people.

We also went to Knossos a must see if you are in the area, by taking the bus to Heraklion+ getting off at the bus station for the connecting bus. The connecting bus was easy to spot at one end of the station , you buy your tickets at the little kiosk before you get on. It was during this journey that we realised the ordinary service bus from Heraklion to Malia goes straight through the airport, so for 3€ each we used this as our transfer back to get the plane home! It was very easy and much cheaper than a 40€ taxi. All the bus fares were very reasonable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue_and_TonyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amazonesclub, Manager at Amazones Village Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your time and feedback.
We wish you a pleasant winter and we are looking forward to seeing you soon in the near future.
Best Regards,
The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This was our fifth year at Amazones. It just keeps getting better and better.

We love it here. It ticks all the boxes. I have stayed in a lot of hotels all over Greece and this is by fat my favourite.

The staff are fantastic. Caterina does a great job. Dimitris, Dizianna and Nikos are all wonderful. So attentive and hard working. They go beyond what is expected to ensure a great holiday. We miss Nikos already and have only been back a week. Brilliant bartender/host and a lovely man.

I don't know the names of the other staff, but the lady who covers breakfast and the cleaning lady also deserve a mention. Breakfast is constantly topped up and tables were cleared for two hours from 8.30 - 10.30. Nice start to the day. It is unusual to get a breakfast like this included in Greek hotels/apartments. The cleaner comes in daily (except Sunday) and makes the bed, cleans the kitchen and bathroom and changes the towels etc. She works so hard and really deserves a mention.

We will definitely be coming back next year for our sixth visit. We are made to feel so welcome and at home. It is a perfect location for a well needed break come September.

I have read the other reviews on here. Whilst I appreciate overbooking may be a problem, I think this problem lies with the booking agents rather than the hotel. I was in the hotel bar until 5am one morning whilst a number of new arrivals were expected. Tet didn't show up. This comes down to the booking agents. The hotel cannot be blamed for their problems. People seem to forget the difficulties the Greek economy have had in recent years. Hotels and small businesses should not be blamed for covering themselves.

Thanks Caterina for another lovely holiday. Roll on September 2014.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandFEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amazonesclub, Manager at Amazones Village Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your time and feedback.
We wish you a pleasant winter and we are looking forward to seeing you soon in the near future.
Best Regards,
The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews