We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ignore the bad reveiws”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amazones Village Suites
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Piskopiano
GreenLeadersGold level
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Ignore the bad reveiws”
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have just returned from ten days at the Amazones Suits where we had a lovely stay ! We had a jnr suite sea facing, large bedroom with comfy bed, spotlessly clean bathroom and kitchen diner, towels changed most days and pool towels provided free.
We booked bed and breakfast mainly because we wanted to use the local tavernas, breakfast was more than adequate just don't expect the full English, what was on offer is much healthier.
The hotel is run by Caterina and Stella who are just the nicest most helpful people always ready to give advise and help regarding tours and bus trips ect. The bar staff, Dimmitri and Georges always smiling and cheerful.
We read about the views from the pool and yes there is a an electric cable or three but really this is rural Crete and if you are that bothered about your photo use Picaso or photo shop to edit it out !!
From our point of view the only downside to staying at the Amazones is that it's up hill anyone who has mobility problems should be aware of this, other wise it is perfectly placed between two other villages all of which have plenty of tavernas, we ate mostly in Piskipiano. Checkout the reviews for all the taverns.
We would not hesitate to return to the Amazones we enjoyed a very nice holiday and made several new friends.
John and Chris
Plymouth
Uk

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jjgbseadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amazonesclub, Manager at Amazones Village Suites, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your time and for your review.
We honored for choosing our property for your holidays and we are looking forward to seeing you again soon in the coming future.
We wish you a good winter.
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    112
    59
    34
    36
See reviews for
89
338
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

when we got there they told us that althou we order the room and got confermation thay dont have a room. then they put us in a 2* hostel and charge us in there price... (we where not the only one there that they did that to - it's kind of a way they do things there)
they gave us access to the food and pool - that was not eatable
There is no parking and hard to get with the car
we left with all the family after one day and not 5 as we order
It's not even a 3* hotel - Don't go there !!!

Room Tip: just go any were else and not to this hotel after we checked out - we went to blue aegean aparthot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
47 Thank yftach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amazonesclub, Manager at Amazones Village Suites, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your time.
You reservation was rejected to your travel agency due to unavailability.
Your travel agency did not infomr you about it.
Your travel agency did not and could not find you anywhere to stay.
We offered you a temporary solution until you sorted things out with your travel agency, since you arrived 20:30hours and there was no alternative vacant hotel in the area.
You were free to choose whether to stay or go and you chose on your own free will to stay and use the services.
We offered you free breakfast for your whole family, two adults and three kids.
We are sorry that you had to pay for the room and the meals ( dinner for 5 persons) you had for the one night stay, but this is a common practice around the world.
You are sorry to say that we cannot accept your rating or review since you were not a hotel guest.
We wish you all the best in the coming future.
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broendby, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed in suite A1, amazing panoramic view to the sea and chersonissos, we enjoyed our stay the suite was clean, nice big swimming pool and the management (Catering & Stella) was helpful and friendly. Beautiful Crete, we would like as satisfied customers recommend this hotel :-)

Room Tip: Our room A1 was amazing <3
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Christo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amazonesclub, Manager at Amazones Village Suites, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your time and feedback.
We wish you a pleasant winter and we are looking forward to seeing you soon in the near future.
Best Regards,
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pangbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed for a week in a sea view suite, booked through Secret Escapes. The hotel itself is nice, the rooms are clean, the suites big, and the view great.The breakfast setting overlooking the sea view is very relaxing. Dinner is a fairly basic, but perfectly edible buffet-style affair - and for the Secret Escapes price you can't really complain. The bar and snack items are all very reasonably priced (~€2.50 a beer) and the location is nice - out of the noise of the beach side part of Hersonissos but close enough to walk down in the evening (15-20 mins); Koutouloufari (10 mins) or Old Hersonissos (10 mins) also have nice bars and restaurants and a more relaxed atmosphere.

What we did have to complain about was the overbooking - particularly annoying as it appears many others have shared this apparently consistent problem. The hotel was overbooked such that we had to spend 2 of our 7 nights in a fairly grotty, concrete monstrosity down the road with a view of the car park - not the sea view suite we were hoping for! The other problem this creates is that all the people who have fallen foul of the overbooking (a reasonable proportion whilst we stayed - some losing 4-5 days of their holiday) can still use the hotel facilities, so bar service is slow as the two staff try hard to compensate for the extra people, and the pool area is crowded...this of course is all complemented beautifully by the atmosphere created by a large proportion of sadly quite grumpy guests (and clearly frustrated staff) - although they, as we did, all mellowed after a few days in the sun.

If they sort the overbooking out, then this is a nice hotel in a peaceful location with helpful staff - but if being told that your hotel is too full to accommodate you after travelling 2000 miles isn't the relaxing start to a holiday that you're looking for, then I wouldn't recommend that you risk booking here until the reviews reflect that the issue has been resolved.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wolfy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amazonesclub, Manager at Amazones Village Suites, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your time.
We apologize in advance for any inconvenience but this has been an exceptionally busy season for all Greece.
We tried under the circumstances to minimize the trouble.
Please, remember that due to different work schedules and time differences miscommunication that leads to unpleasant situations may happen.
We thank you so much for choosing the Amazones Village Suites and we are looking forward to seeing you in the coming season.
Have a good winter.
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This was the first time we have visited Crete and we enjoyed it a lot. The people are very friendly and we actually thought that the Amazones Village was fine. Friendly staff, lovely view and breakfast was utilitarian but was a decent way to start the day. The big issue we had, and it would appear that this is a common problem, was overbooking. We booked 2 suites but after sitting in reception for an hour were told that Expedia had overbooked the hotel. We found that lots of guests had the same issue though they had traveled with other agents. We were offered one room for the four of us to share which was not acceptable. We therefore had to take one room at Amazones and one at a shabby establishment a couple of hundred yards away. Not ideal! This was a shame because we were pretty happy with the Amazones and would have been very happy if we could have all stayed where we booked.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen W H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amazonesclub, General Manager at Amazones Village Suites, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for visiting us.
We are looking forward to seeing you again in the coming future.
Best Regards,
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thame, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We really enjoyed our stay @Amazones Villages. Our room was a great size being a junior suite and although it was over the bar area it was not a problem noise-wise. Ok the furnishings were a little tired but the room was clean and simply furnished to cover everything you might need. Although we didn't use it it was also well equipped if you wanted to do self- catering, with fridge, plates, cutlery etc. We had a small welcome basket of wine, fruit + water, which was unexpected but very nice. From our balcony we had a terrific panoramic view looking out over the lovely pool. The pool area is the hotel's best feature, it was fab with sunbeds on the surrounding area + bar service - what's not to like?

We went half-board and the breakfast was great, lovely Greek yogurt, cereal, toast, eggs etc - dont expect a full English, this is Greece. For the evening meal the food was at best ok, not a gastronomic experience more school dinners! But there was always something from the choice on offer that was fine enough to eat. The Greek food was the best the tsatziki was delicious, good salads, delicious filo pastry squares, lamb etc. I have to say the evening meal was the main bone of contention amongst other guests, some people who booked half- board ate out every night but it wasn't that bad, though I wouldn't have looked forward to a second week of it! We'd recommend going B+B as there are plenty of other places to eat out at @ very reasonable prices both at Piskopiano and the bigger Koutouloufari just a stroll away. Kosta's @
Piskopiano is worth a mention the food here was excellent quality + delicious, if not the cheapest, but there are plenty places offering a mix of mezzes for 16€ for 2 people.

Unlike some of the reviewers we found the staff extremely friendly, from the always very cheerful Dimitri who was stand out nice, to Stella, Nico and Caterina, also Dimitri's aunt and the lovely cleaner whose name I never knew. For the price this place was great value for money.

The place itself is situated up the hill about a km out of Chersonnissus and from our point of view all the better for this! Chersonnissus is quite a busy place but can offer night life, lots of tourist shops, plenty of eateries and cheap beer during happy hour if you want it. There is also an excellent bus service from the main street there, bus stop no 21 I think it's opposite a bank to go towards Heraklion. Don't worry if you put your hand out and the bus doesn't stop, this'll be the express which shoots through, there will be another along pretty soon! By using the bus service it's easy to get to sandy beaches in either direction, we liked Kokkini towards Heraklion. This is where we got drinks for 4 of us for 5€ at the canteen bus on the beach! The owner speaks very good English as do most Greek people.

We also went to Knossos a must see if you are in the area, by taking the bus to Heraklion+ getting off at the bus station for the connecting bus. The connecting bus was easy to spot at one end of the station , you buy your tickets at the little kiosk before you get on. It was during this journey that we realised the ordinary service bus from Heraklion to Malia goes straight through the airport, so for 3€ each we used this as our transfer back to get the plane home! It was very easy and much cheaper than a 40€ taxi. All the bus fares were very reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue_and_TonyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amazonesclub, Manager at Amazones Village Suites, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your time and feedback.
We wish you a pleasant winter and we are looking forward to seeing you soon in the near future.
Best Regards,
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This was our fifth year at Amazones. It just keeps getting better and better.

We love it here. It ticks all the boxes. I have stayed in a lot of hotels all over Greece and this is by fat my favourite.

The staff are fantastic. Caterina does a great job. Dimitris, Dizianna and Nikos are all wonderful. So attentive and hard working. They go beyond what is expected to ensure a great holiday. We miss Nikos already and have only been back a week. Brilliant bartender/host and a lovely man.

I don't know the names of the other staff, but the lady who covers breakfast and the cleaning lady also deserve a mention. Breakfast is constantly topped up and tables were cleared for two hours from 8.30 - 10.30. Nice start to the day. It is unusual to get a breakfast like this included in Greek hotels/apartments. The cleaner comes in daily (except Sunday) and makes the bed, cleans the kitchen and bathroom and changes the towels etc. She works so hard and really deserves a mention.

We will definitely be coming back next year for our sixth visit. We are made to feel so welcome and at home. It is a perfect location for a well needed break come September.

I have read the other reviews on here. Whilst I appreciate overbooking may be a problem, I think this problem lies with the booking agents rather than the hotel. I was in the hotel bar until 5am one morning whilst a number of new arrivals were expected. Tet didn't show up. This comes down to the booking agents. The hotel cannot be blamed for their problems. People seem to forget the difficulties the Greek economy have had in recent years. Hotels and small businesses should not be blamed for covering themselves.

Thanks Caterina for another lovely holiday. Roll on September 2014.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandFEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amazonesclub, Manager at Amazones Village Suites, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your time and feedback.
We wish you a pleasant winter and we are looking forward to seeing you soon in the near future.
Best Regards,
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piskopiano
0.1 mi away
Korifi Suites Art Hotel
Korifi Suites Art Hotel
#6 of 9 in Piskopiano
180 reviews
0.6 mi away
Galaxy Villas
Galaxy Villas
#6 of 13 in Koutouloufari
310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dream Village
Dream Village
#1 of 9 in Piskopiano
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
239 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#2 of 13 in Koutouloufari
994 reviews
1.9 mi away
Village Heights Golf Resort
Village Heights Golf Resort
#3 of 171 in Hersonissos
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amazones Village Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amazones Village Suites

Property: Amazones Village Suites
Address: Lyktou Road, Piskopiano, Crete 70015, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Piskopiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Piskopiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Amazones Village Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awaken to the Mediterranean of your dreams at Amazones Village Suites. Set atop an ocean bluff, with majestic views over sparkling blue waters and neighbouring Hersonissos beyond, this lushly landscaped Cretan 4-star boutique hotel was once a rock. Relax in the most spacious, beautifully appointed suites in the Cretan Sea, where designer furnishing and terraces summon the feel of a small private vacation home. From dazzling bbq parties to a romantic dinner for two, our helpful personal service will see to your every need. Designed in a subtly elegant, comfortable style, this cherished Cretan luxury hotel offers a truly unforgettable destination for romantic retreats, golf, cultural escapes or fun family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Lastminute, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amazones Village Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amazones Village Hotel Piskopiano
Hotel Amazones Village
Amazones Village Suites Piskopiano, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing