We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We disagree with negative reviews.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amazones Village Suites
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Piskopiano
GreenLeadersGold level
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We disagree with negative reviews.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a week in mid October and were very happy with our experience. The views were wonderful and the staff friendly and helpful especially Dimitri who was very efficient and loved to pull up a chair and have a chat with us every evening. Like one of your other reviewers we were allowed the use of our room until we left, in the evening, on the final day. Also we were offered a complimentary evening meal before our departure and a lunch on the day we arrived, even though we were late, due to our flight being delayed. On the day of our arrival there was a mix up with one of our suitcases and Dimitri happily made a phone call to sort it out for us.
We were also staying there when the earthquake struck and were totally unaware of it. There was certainly no shaking, cracks or debris. Perhaps this reviewer was staying on another island!
A few things are looking a little tired in the rooms but the apartments were clean and roomy.
Reading some of the negative reviews it is hard to believe that they are describing where we stayed. It smacks of a vendetta against the staff.
All in all we enjoyed our stay and urge prospective guests to disregard this misleading criticism.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amazonesclub, Manager at Amazones Village Suites, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your time and feedback.
Thank you for speaking the truth about our hotel and our work.
It was a pleasure meeting you.
We wish you a pleasant winter and we are looking forward to seeing you soon in the near future.
Best Regards,
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    110
    59
    33
    36
See reviews for
87
326
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Felixstowe
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

I have just returned from a most enjoyable stay at The Amazones Village Suites. Excellent service in a friendly family atmosphere. Fabulous sea views and delicious, plentiful local cuisine cooked on premises. Buffet breakfast taken on the sun drenched patio overlooking the pool and sea. Spacious, clean suite including kitchenette, lounge and balcony. Fresh towels as often as wished. The owners, Caterina and Stella were friendly and helpful, even to the point where Caterina saw us walking down the hill to Herssonisis and she stopped to offer us a lift!! I so enjoyed my visit I am looking forward to returning next year, the negative reviews are totally beyond my comprehension. The standard of an hotel cannot vary so much from one week to the next.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henry1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amazonesclub, Manager at Amazones Village Suites, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your time and feedback.
Thank you for speaking the truth about our hotel and our work.
It was a pleasure meeting you.
We wish you a pleasant winter and we are looking forward to seeing you soon in the near future.
Best Regards,
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Just returned from an excellent stay at the Amazones Village Suites. Sea View suite with Jacuzzi bath, lounge, kitchenette & balcony spotlessly clean. Rooms cleaned well & towels changed as often as we wished. Excellent Cretan cuisine cooked on the premises with very generous portions. Caterina & Stella were so friendly & helpful. We had a very late flight back to UK so I asked Stella if we could keep our room a little later than the normal check-out. She arranged for us to have the suite until we were picked up at 9.25pm. We were so grateful. Caterina also offered us a complimentary dinner for our last evening before we left. We were staying at Amazones on Saturday Oct. 12th, the date of the earthquake in Crete. However I and our fellow guests didn't learn about it until next morning at breakfast when one of the guests read about it on their laptop. Stella explained that as the Amazones is built on the rock of the mountain very little is felt. No one staying on 12th Oct. here experienced the event as described in one of the negative reviews. Negatives with consistent grammatical errors & common points always appear after a positive review is posted. This is an excellent place to stay. We cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Try and get a seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amazonesclub, Manager at Amazones Village Suites, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your time and feedback.
Thank you for speaking the truth about our hotel and our work.
It was a pleasure meeting you.
We wish you a pleasant winter and we are looking forward to seeing you soon in the near future.
Best Regards,
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

October 9-16. double room , kitchenette and lounge, spa bath all clean.Excellent balcony views, Greek cuisine excellent, staff could not be more attentive and friendly. Thank you Dimitri,Stella and Katarina. Rooms cleaned every day fresh towels, and bedding.Good clean pool with excellent sunbeds around. again a great view. Cannot understand negative reviews at all, cannot be the same hotel.The experience was quite the opposite. Would recommend to anyone for a late season break. Shall return.Karen K

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amazonesclub, Manager at Amazones Village Suites, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your time and feedback.
Thank you for speaking the truth about our hotel and our work.
It was a pleasure meeting you.
We wish you a pleasant winter and we are looking forward to seeing you soon in the near future.
Best Regards,
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parma, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

My experience here was terrible, overbooking, dusty and old hotel with really unsupportive manager caterina! Rooms are roughly cleaned during the week and no service at sunday.
Breakfast is better if done directly at lidl! Stay far!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
43 Thank Federico S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have just returned from ten days at the Amazones Suits where we had a lovely stay ! We had a jnr suite sea facing, large bedroom with comfy bed, spotlessly clean bathroom and kitchen diner, towels changed most days and pool towels provided free.
We booked bed and breakfast mainly because we wanted to use the local tavernas, breakfast was more than adequate just don't expect the full English, what was on offer is much healthier.
The hotel is run by Caterina and Stella who are just the nicest most helpful people always ready to give advise and help regarding tours and bus trips ect. The bar staff, Dimmitri and Georges always smiling and cheerful.
We read about the views from the pool and yes there is a an electric cable or three but really this is rural Crete and if you are that bothered about your photo use Picaso or photo shop to edit it out !!
From our point of view the only downside to staying at the Amazones is that it's up hill anyone who has mobility problems should be aware of this, other wise it is perfectly placed between two other villages all of which have plenty of tavernas, we ate mostly in Piskipiano. Checkout the reviews for all the taverns.
We would not hesitate to return to the Amazones we enjoyed a very nice holiday and made several new friends.
John and Chris
Plymouth
Uk

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jjgbseadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amazonesclub, Manager at Amazones Village Suites, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your time and for your review.
We honored for choosing our property for your holidays and we are looking forward to seeing you again soon in the coming future.
We wish you a good winter.
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

when we got there they told us that althou we order the room and got confermation thay dont have a room. then they put us in a 2* hostel and charge us in there price... (we where not the only one there that they did that to - it's kind of a way they do things there)
they gave us access to the food and pool - that was not eatable
There is no parking and hard to get with the car
we left with all the family after one day and not 5 as we order
It's not even a 3* hotel - Don't go there !!!

Room Tip: just go any were else and not to this hotel after we checked out - we went to blue aegean aparthot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
47 Thank yftach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amazonesclub, Manager at Amazones Village Suites, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your time.
You reservation was rejected to your travel agency due to unavailability.
Your travel agency did not infomr you about it.
Your travel agency did not and could not find you anywhere to stay.
We offered you a temporary solution until you sorted things out with your travel agency, since you arrived 20:30hours and there was no alternative vacant hotel in the area.
You were free to choose whether to stay or go and you chose on your own free will to stay and use the services.
We offered you free breakfast for your whole family, two adults and three kids.
We are sorry that you had to pay for the room and the meals ( dinner for 5 persons) you had for the one night stay, but this is a common practice around the world.
You are sorry to say that we cannot accept your rating or review since you were not a hotel guest.
We wish you all the best in the coming future.
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piskopiano
0.6 mi away
Galaxy Villas
Galaxy Villas
#6 of 13 in Koutouloufari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Korifi Suites Art Hotel
Korifi Suites Art Hotel
#7 of 9 in Piskopiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#2 of 13 in Koutouloufari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dream Village
Dream Village
#1 of 9 in Piskopiano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.7 mi away
Creta Blue Suites
Creta Blue Suites
#5 of 13 in Koutouloufari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amazones Village Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amazones Village Suites

Property: Amazones Village Suites
Address: Lyktou Road, Piskopiano, Crete 70015, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Piskopiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Piskopiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Amazones Village Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awaken to the Mediterranean of your dreams at Amazones Village Suites. Set atop an ocean bluff, with majestic views over sparkling blue waters and neighbouring Hersonissos beyond, this lushly landscaped Cretan 4-star boutique hotel was once a rock. Relax in the most spacious, beautifully appointed suites in the Cretan Sea, where designer furnishing and terraces summon the feel of a small private vacation home. From dazzling bbq parties to a romantic dinner for two, our helpful personal service will see to your every need. Designed in a subtly elegant, comfortable style, this cherished Cretan luxury hotel offers a truly unforgettable destination for romantic retreats, golf, cultural escapes or fun family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amazones Village Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amazones Village Hotel Piskopiano
Hotel Amazones Village
Amazones Village Suites Piskopiano, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing