We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Hotel - but very cold room”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Platanias
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sofia Beach Studios/Apartments
Snedsted, Denmark
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“OK Hotel - but very cold room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

OK room - but VERY cold, even it was 28 celcius degrees outside.
We had to use the aircon as heater.
Almost no sun on the balcony - just aprox. half an hour late afternoon.
Our view from our room was a view to a container.

The dining table was a low coffe table, where there was no room for our legs.

The blankets on the beds was very dirty
We tried to get a new sheet in reception on sunday morning, but we had to wait until monday afternoon to get one - as "the cleaning was closed".

Cleaning was good, lots of warm water and staff was friendly.

Internet was only available inside the reception area.
AND... the reception was closed (locked) all afternoon.
On the hotel next to Sofia, we could buy a weeks internet for 30 EURO.

Checkout time was noon, but as bus pickup was early evening we were able to stay in the room.
By paying 30 EURO - lovely but a little bit expensive - we think.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TB_7752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    7
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

We were lucky with the weather, only 1 cloudy day, 1 day the temperature reached 36. Sofia apartments are a friendly place to stay. The apartments are set close to the beach and you are on the edge of town but they are very peaceful and there were no nights of disturbed sleep. You can eat at the Sofia which was about average price for the town. The town itself is quite busy with lots of places to eat and drink and shop. Shops consist of bakers, little supermarkets, clothes, hand made shoes and bags... etc. Two of our favourite places to eat were Liothyto (its wrote in Greek and thats my translation!) which is a short walk from the apartments towards town on the opposite side of the road. Also, Horiatiko which is in the next town Agia Marina. We had bread and dips, 2 main meals, chocolate cake and a carafe of wine for less than 20 euros. Agia Marina has a nicer beach than Planatania with pink tinted sand. You can walk here it takes about 20 - 30 mins or take the local bus. We also went to Chania for the evening which took about an hour. It is best to go here in the afternoon and stay until early evening. Chania is a big working city once away from the harbour and its easy to get disorientated in the dark but worth a viist. The guy that runs the bar and sunbeds is called Victor and he has a very funny sense of humour. Very nice man.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindaYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2010

Just having the holiday blues come down from a fantastic stay at Sofia Beach in Plantanias...
The location of Sofia Beach was amazing, a few steps away from the pool and you are on the beach, which was lovely, a few steps away from the front reception and you are on the main restaurant road with lots of shops and places to eat. Never heard of Plantanias before, think its a little gem!
Wasn't lots of brits abroad types around there either, lots of Swedish and Scandinavians tourists which was a nice change! The resort itself was lovely, lots of nice places to eat, our favs were the Mylos (the old water mill - just across the roads from Sofias) The restaurant directly to the right of Sofias - Ariediens? The food is also nice at the rooftop place called Karma - nice decor etc very modern but the service when we went was a little lacking. Loved having the odd Gyros every now and then also - its a local dish of pork in flatbread - costs about €2! Bargain and tasty!
Most of the restaurants serve similar food but all with plenty of choice on the menu - Would defo recommend Mylos though - most places tend to bring you fresh melon at the end with a small ouzo. Like most places abroad now they bring you bread to the table and add a small fee prob 1-2€ on your bill - we didn't mind but you could always say no when they 1st bring it to you?
Coming back to Sofia's - the rooms where a lot better than we expected for a 2* - When staying in Greece we have always been warned to expect basic - the rooms here could be described as that, but I think basic is a little harsh - we stayed in room 110 which seemed to be newly decorated or built, bathroom was nice, the room was spacious, airy and bright. We found the beds to be comfy and always slept well. We had a balcony which we normally like to use on a holiday but found it to be a little to in the open - It was directly overlooked by the room across us and also to the side - so would have liked it to be a little more private. But never mind.
We did pay an extra €45 for the air con + €15 for the safe key, the air con leaked at first which was a pain but we reported it and it was fixed quickly. The only downside to the room for us was the kitchen area - it was well equipped in our opinion to cook the odd meal - which I wanted to do to save a few pennies. There was 2 hob rings but not really any pans big enough to actually cook anything. There isn't a microwave either or a toaster which would have made things a lot better. we tried the toastie machine one day but it wasn't non stick so it all went a bit messy!
The food in the pool bar was nice, had a greek salad one day €4 and a chicken toast another €4 - really enjoyed them - they have greek special dishes advertised each day also. The bar had a happy hour on each day from 1.30pm till 2.30pm - with local beer Mythos costing €2 for a large bottle and cocktails costing €4. Service was always good - Victor was a character! The pool is shared with a swedish / scand hotel next door - pool isn't massive but big enough for having a leisurely dip, don't expect to be doing any serious lengths / swimming!
The bar and food area for the hotel which Sofia shares the pool with is also really nice! Great menu and also another happy hour from 4pm - 5pm - think all the drinks are half price - we timed our happy hours well! Good atmosphere and service from the staff there also.
We had one day out on our week stay to Chania - it cost €1.70 each to get there and the same coming back. Chania has a lovely harbour which is in a Venetian style as it was invaded years ago by italy - lovely bars and places to eat with a sea view - great little rustic back streets oozing culture and charm. Would defo recommend a trip out there - word of warning! Its a bit of a free for all getting the bus back from the station - the people who worked there were quite rude and unhelpful so be prepared!
The aim of this last minute 7 night break for us was to relax, chill and get a good tan - which was achieved greatly!! We booked it last min and it cost us with flights from Manchester for both of us £520, which we think is a good price for what we got. I personally wouldn't pay any more than £600 if we went again. Wouldn't recommend this holiday for young group of lads / girls wanting some bar / clubby type nightlife - It is more for couples and families who enjoy a nice meal out at night.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danny4681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

The hotel is in a fabulous location, one minute of a pleasant walk through the floral garden to the lovely beach.
The rooms are basic, and are somewhat comfortable - i.e. well equiped with kitchen utensils, chairs, table and wardrobe. But the beds and sofa bed are awful and were very difficult to sleep on. The room had a horrible smell of urine and the air con which cost 50 euros didn't even work! When complained to the receptionist, she just shrugged her shoulders.
The food in the bar was avergage, but Victor was very lovely and efficient.

Would recommend the hotel if it had a little work done to the rooms and a new receptionist would be helpful..

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miss_starr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
61 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

Had a lovely week at Sofia Beach Apartments in Platanias. Was a bit concerned before we went that the resort would be too busy, but it turned out to be lovely. Very family orientated, lots to do and plenty to see., If you want to get away from the noise and bustle in the evenings (the road does get very busy) there are plenty of good tavernas down next to the beach. If you want to get a sunbed, you need to be there early. The pool is shared with the Scandanavian hotel next door and the sun beds had usually gone by 9am!!! There are plenty on the beach though.

Chania is about half an hour away on the local bus and is a lovely city. The harbour is beautiful and there are plenty of streets and shops to explore. The buses back to Platanias run until about 11pm so you can stay there for the evening.

We also went to Knossos which was ok and walked the Samaria Gorge which was very hard work, but amazing and well worth it. The little bus that does various daily tours is worth a trip too.

All in all, a great holiday. Hotel in lovely location - in centre of town but on the beach. Loads to do in surrounding area - would definately go back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank echo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2010

We stayed for one week, after being referred this location by friends, and it was perfect. The studios were basic but clean and when we needed anything extra (i.e. toilet roll) it was with us within a minute! Sofia and Victor are lovely and very welcoming. Unfortunately I was very ill at the end of our holiday and Victor called the emergency Dr for us. Victor also supplied delicious fresh strawberry milkshakes - definitely give those a try!

The location is perfect for couples and families as the pool is kiddy friendly and the beach is just beyond the pool (although the majority of the beach is shingle). Beware, the sand gets REALLY hot so make sure you take flip-flops/beach shoes.

All the restaurants and cafes were very welcoming and we couldn't fault them. Our favourite was Symposium and the crepe/ice cream across the road from the apartments.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maflegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2010

I have just returned from a week at these apartments and was not dissappointed.
From the moment we arrived, how about this, you've just spent 4 hrs on a plane and then on a coach. So the last thing you want to do is queue at a reception, Not here, Sophia took us all to our apartments (ours was upstairs) and then came back along to make sure everything was ok.Spotless and lovely balcony to sit on. We'd already unpacked by then so off to the pool bar for a free arrival drink.
We found Sophia very helpful, even ringing the bus station in Chania to find out the bus times to Paleochora for us.
We loved the two dogs, who were a constant source of amusement.
The apartments are close to supermarkets, taverna's, bus stops etc and of course right on the beach.
We had lunch in the pool bar a couple of times and dinner one evening and were very pleased with the service from Victor (very funny!!!) and the food we got, especially the homemade meatballs. Mmmmmm !!!!
Next door to the apartments is the little fun train stop an easy excursion and fun !!!
Thank you for making our holiday !!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GWGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platanias
0.0 mi away
Sofia Hotel
Sofia Hotel
#5 of 23 in Plakias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Blue Sea Apartments
Hotel Blue Sea Apartments
#20 of 69 in Platanias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seashell Apartments
Seashell Apartments
#1 of 2 in Pirgos Psilonerou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Minoa Palace Resort & Spa
Minoa Palace Resort & Spa
#1 of 69 in Platanias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avra Imperial Beach Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Conte Marino Villas
Conte Marino Villas
#1 of 1 in Kontomari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofia Beach Studios/Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofia Beach Studios/Apartments

Property: Sofia Beach Studios/Apartments
Address: Platanias, Crete, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Platanias
Hotel Class:3 star — Sofia Beach Studios/Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Sofia Beach Studios/Apartments Hotel Platanias
Sofia Beach Studios/Apartments Platanias, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing