We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the nicer places in Platanias”
Review of Kantapi Taverna

Kantapi Taverna
Ranked #35 of 133 Restaurants in Platanias
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek, Seafood
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“One of the nicer places in Platanias”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Located directly at the main street you would expect this to be a noisy place. And you were plainly wrong. Sitting under lemon trees and wine you will hear just a fountain and soft greek music.

The food is not exactly classy but of good quality. We had swordfish and it was much better than what you would expect in such a touristy place. They waiters are all connected with headphones and microphones, which is a bit spooky at first, but they are really friendly and perfectly willing to fulfill any special wishes.

When we made our reservation the day before, they let us choose a table. Much to our surprise: when we arrived the table was decorated with rose leaves and flowers. Nice gesture, guys!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2hornunicorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    48
    21
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kristiansund, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I have 3 favorite restaurants in platanias,and this is one of them. Good menu,the staff is very nice every time i go there,and the food is good :) I reccomend this restaurant to many people every year when i am in platanias and someone ask me for a good place to eat.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Greek taverna for classical Greek dishes”
Reviewed 9 October 2011

I was surprised to read 2 other reviews of this place just before I am starting to write mine now. Perhaps things changed over time?
This taverna was one of the best we tried in Platanias for a 30-40 eur dinners for 2, during our 2week stay on Crete this year. We ate there 3 times in total because we liked it so much the 1st time.
The place has a very charming and romantic atmosphere with tables spread around on white gravel, and orange trees above the head, with little spot lights between the branches. Ideal for couples on dates IMO. The fountain at one of the walls is giving pleasant chill. We only ate in the evenings there, and it was Sept/October, so perhaps this is when it works best.
Service is okay, timely and polite. Big plus is they are not dragging you inside from outside.
We ate couple of dishes with my wife and they all had in common that portions were large and food was very tasty. They are masters of meat in sauces of all kinds, I loved the veal stiffado for instance, soft like butter. We loved all the classic Greek basic dishes there like Moussaka, Souvlaki, grilled feta etc
Also the barrel red wine was the best from the tavernas we tried in Platanias.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marcin_cph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Jungle light”
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Restaurant on main street on dirt ground under olive trees with waterfall and humid, tropic like athmosphere. A different kind of experience. We arrived late in the evening for dinner, that might be why the waiters had lost their smiles, not unfriendly , just flat.The "Stolen Lamb" dish was average, the meat good, but vegetables like from a american frozen mix with corn as main ingredient.Salmon in French cheese sauce was ok. The tablecloths were moist and the bread dry

  • Visited July 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bjsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Kantapi Taverna/restaurant”
Reviewed 6 June 2009

We were 6 person visiting the Kantapi restaurant in Platanias in may 2009.The taverna is located next to the Caldera Bay hotel.Alright food but bad service.One of us didn't got the food together with the others because the waitor forgot her order. He promised her free food if she would wait for 15 minutes. She agreed but when we got the bill her food were fully charged.We tried to argument but the waitor claim that as long she areed to wait for the food she had to pay.We paid after some discussions but did not leave any tip.Later that same night another of the company had to go to the doctor because she became sick.The doctor think it could be from the food from the taverna.So my advise will be: Stay away from this restaurant

Helpful?
6 Thank vikingfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kantapi Taverna also viewed

Platanias, Chania Prefecture
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Kantapi Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing