We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dreamlike and tasteful experience!”

Restaurant Zafferano
Ranked #15 of 131 Restaurants in Platanias
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$56
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Restaurant Zafferano is the second Italian restaurant opened by the owners of the well-established Restaurant Kariatis in Chania. Beautiful, contemporary design offering both style and comfort, Zafferano opened in 2004 with a refreshingly different menu comprised of premier ingredients from both Crete and Italy. Every dish at Zafferano is prepared and cooked completely fresh to order, serving up a delicious selection of fresh pasta, risotto, fresh filleted fish and seafood specialities, vegetarian dishes and succulent fresh fillet steaks. Also for the fourth summer we continue to seduce sushi lovers with our sensational sushi bar. All this, together with the added indulgence of our delicate, gourmet desserts and a wine list featuring both excellent award-winning Greek wines and an extensive choice of great International wines from around the world - we invite you to fine dine in Zafferano for what promises to be, an evening of delicious indulgence!
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A dreamlike and tasteful experience!”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We recommend all to visit the Zafferano restaurant in Platanias (Crete). Zafferano restaurant offering and delivers an complete Italian cusine, with an professional attitude, fantastic service and knowledge. The food was dreamlike wonderful and was everytime an fantastic well balanced experience. Zafferano as restaurant and concept has pinpointed everything required to become a Michelin star.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Ronald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    66
    25
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Modi, Chania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

An upmarket restaurant serving delicious Italian food in a beautifully decorated restaurant. Have visited many times, as I have their sister restaurant in Chania, Kariatis, which I would also recommend. On my last visit, I thoroughly enjoyed one of their gnocchi dishes as an appetiser, while my husband had salmon, avocado and goats cheese. My main dish of ravioli al tartufo was delicious, as was my husband's chicken Dijon. There is an excellent choice of desserts if you have room and the complimentary desert wine and chocolate truffle at the end are a lovely touch. The wine list is extensive and should please even the most discerning palate.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Irenaptn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Affordable luxury”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This is a classy place serving excellent pasta dishes, just like being in Italy. The white chair coverings did seem to emit a slight "plasticy" smell, but that really did not affect the enjoyment of the service and food. The final "on the house" touch of sweet desert wine and two chocolate dusted truffles was fabulous. A most enjoyable little piece of luxury at an affordable price.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jacqui s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent service”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This restaurant has a very relaxing atmosphere and is nicely decorated in a modern way. The staff were very attentive and suggested a good bottle of wine when the one the we ordered was unavailable. The pollo picante pizza was amazing. It was a little bit of a spicy kick to it which was good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 146tomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Food and service, built one word: excellent.”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The apetitazer gnocchi al tartufo and garlic spicy bread were perfect and the main dishes the same, filetto ai porcini e pollo con pomodorini. The service was excellent too. !!!

From Mia and Nicola

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nimica2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Zafferano also viewed

Platanias, Chania Prefecture
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Restaurant Zafferano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing