We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place and lovely people, an ideal holiday destination for families” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Metohi Georgila

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Metohi Georgila
Ranked #2 of 12 Platanias B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful place and lovely people, an ideal holiday destination for families”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

A friend of ours recommend this villa hotel to us and it turned out to be one of the best holiday experience for us in recent years! The hotel is very thoughtfully designed and decorated, blending classic building features with modern facilitates, and full of lovely details. The suite we stayed had high ceiling, full of light, a spacious bathroom and a well-equipped kitchen - perfect for family with kid. Each suite/flat has a balcony or terrace - it is refreshing to be able to wake up to see the wonderful sea view while having a coffee on the balcony. The best thing is the pool, beautiful and welcoming, we had a dip in everyday. The location is on the hillside, very secluded and private, yet with easy driving distance to nice beaches in Platanias and Chania. Although it does not have a restaurant in it, the owners do provide lovely breakfast choices, scrumptious cakes and one can order pizza, sandwich and snacks at the bar. The owners also live in the estate, and they are very easy to approach, warm and helpful, it makes us feel like staying in a big family. We just came back from the Crete holiday and are already thinking of going back .... A top choice for the family, we can't recommend more of it!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    5
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
41
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bilbao, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

After leaving another Villa because of the quality of the apartments we had reserved, we found Metohi Georgila in a "last minute ciber-cafe search" in Platanias. Never thought we would be so lucky.

The way they treated us was wonderfull during our 11 nights of stay: charmfull rooms, constant details, the apartments were cleaned daily and perfectly, super relaxing place with no noise but nature,...

Thanks a lot to all of you back from Spain and hope to see you again sometime!

We wish you the best with the upcoming baby!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Egoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

We were curious upon reading previous reviews, how is it possible to have 7 excellent (not good or average but excellent) and 2 poor reviews (from the same party)? Upon arrival it was obvious that we would share the views of the excellent 7 reviews. We can not rave more about this place. The owners were kind gentle and welcoming souls. The facilities were of an incredibly high standard ensuring excellent comfort levels. the meticulous attention to detail were obvious. The simple things such as quality of linen and ensuring you had not only bath towels but your own personal pool towels were very appreciated. The size of the rooms were generous the air conditioning was excellent. The kitchens were well stocked with utensils and owners were instantly responsive when we asked for anything. Rooms were serviced daily.

The owners would often leave us baked home-made goods in the morning whilst at all times respecting our privacy making them the most discerning and accomplished of hosts. Access to laundry was unrestricted and they provided us with their own laundry detergents etc. They were a wonderful source of information and would make reservations to restaurants on our behalf, remember this is not a hotel!

It was obvious that this was a labour of love for the family and not some souless commercial venture. We would have no hesitation in recommending this place as an ideal base for western Chania. This is for those who don't want to stay in a hotel and enjoy staying in a villa like place and wish to independently travel western Crete ie you will need a car!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mat1060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rethymnon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

We went there after searching in booking. We were impressed by the location (up on a hill), by its history and by the wonderful job, the owner and his wife had done there. Our expectations came true indeed. The five appartments (we visited all) are magnificent decorated with old authenticate things while they have everything to make you feel comfortable. What's impressive is that the owners took care on every detail in order to create a place where you can relax (by the pool or out in the wonderful verandas each appartment has), have fun (in a distance of 5 klm there are many clubs, restaurants, beach bars etc) or see the wonderful cretan nature.
What I think is that "Metoxi Georgila" is a question of quality!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank evangeliaRethymnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

Very bad service:
1. The reception is not saffted (you have to call the owner in order to get somtheing).
2. Though we orded a baby bed and DVD we didn't got any.
3. No bath room.
4. Very bed Wi-Fi connection.
5. You are not allowed to use the lundary service (although they say so on the e-mail). You have to ask for the owners permission. He locked the room with our clothes in it because we did so.The dryer is not on the policy even if you are willing to pay for it. Bring extra clothes!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michalma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metohi76, Owner at Metohi Georgila, responded to this review, 11 May 2011
We already replied to the comments of this party from Israel, but as we all can read there are more comments.
1. We are not a city hotel with 24hrs reception and 20 people for staff, we are a little complex of five guest houses, a small friendly family business. The guests don't need to call the "owner", we just inform them that if they need anything they can call from their room 101 or 102 so we'll be able to help them.
2. The only email that we got, was asking for a DVD player and we agreed with the guest who asked for it that it would be available whenever they would need it. The 2nd or 3rd day they asked for it and in 5 min they got it. As for the baby cot, the agency specifically asked for only one in the small apartment and of-course it was in the room their arrival day. We would be able to provide them with an extra baby cot (as we did with the baby bath, something that usually don't find in a hotel) if they just was asking for one...but they never did.
3. No bath-room? What happened? Every day I was checking the rooms and the bathrooms were in the houses. I can't really understand once more what for we are accused.
4.The 1st day some of the guests asked me for the Wii-Fii connection. I informed that the building is an old traditional house with really thick walls built from big stones and as the connection is wireless is hard to get signal in every single room of each guest house, so you need to find in the house or at the balcony where is the best signal. We didn't have any complaints before,but still it's the best that can be done in buildings like this with Wi-Fi connection. We are really sorry for that.
5. We never send any email about the laundry services. The information leaflet in the rooms, describes specifically that laundry room is open from 9am-6pm everyday. Nobody asked where the laundry room was, or how the machine works (the instructions on it, are in Greek). We didn't actually lock any clothes inside, we just locked the laundry room after 9pm for security and hygienic reason (we are at the countryside). The moment the guests came back at the hotel and asked for their clothes around 10pm, we unlock for them to get them. As for the dryer is a professional machine, not for the guests to use, even if they want to pay for it. It's not a money issue, it's a hygienic issue. In this machine we only put hotel sheets and towels that no one else except the authorised personnel has the right to touch, for guest's health safety. There is a clotheshorse in every single room. I think that when somebody decides to travel in winter or springtime that the warm weather and the sun are not every day fact, especially with young kids, maybe needs to get some extra clothes, or try to do laundry day time to have some time during the day to dry the clothes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

We were 3 families there, and if it wasn't they terrible service and hospitality, it could have been a great place.
In general, the setting of the place is good, location is comfortable, and the rooms are good. However, if the level of service remains as we experienced, I wouldn't consider recommending.
Just some examples - when we asked for an extra blanket (it was cold, and we got just a sheet to cover with), we were told that they don't provide such, and we should use the bed's cover...
Before we arrived, we specifically asked for a child bed (2 yrs. old child). We got an extra mattress (which was ok with us), but they placed it on the single room at the 2nd floor. Obviously, we took the mattress down so that the child will be close to us, and the owner was extremely upset that we moved it.
Before coming - we asked (emails) if there are any laundry services, and we were told that there is a laundromat for use. However, they were very unhappy, and even asked us not to use it.
These are simple examples, and I have many more!
We constantly spoke with the travel agent about this, and she told us the this place is known for its great hospitality, so the only explanation we have is that the people in charge during our stay were not the usual ones.
So - before you go there, make sure you are not going to be with the man who was taking care after us (I don't remember his name, but he was a former Canadian, at his 40's, with no understanding at all that he's running a service more than anything else).

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank toothpick_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metohi76, Owner at Metohi Georgila, responded to this review, 30 April 2011
In response to the negative comments made from our recent guests from Israel i would like to state the following:
We met every demand that was on the official request form.
Regarding the so called "request for extra blankets",all of our beds in the hotel have two sheets-pillow cases-and quilts all year round!!!In addition,extra blankets can be found inside every closet at all times.so...it is impossible for a guest to go to bed with just "a simple sheet"....
The email that we got from the travel agent mentioned ONE baby bed for ARIADNI appartement where a baby 6 months old would sleep in,which the guests got.
ARTEMIS appartement has a double bed and a pull out couch at the ground floor.Three single beds and a couch at the upper level.The guests asked -and were declined of course-to put the matress from one single bed upstairs ON THE FLOOR downstairs.Instead we gave them an extra folding bed to put right next to the double bed downstairs,from which -again without asking they put the matress on the floor-againts common sense.!!!Through their entire stay here we made no comment about the incident and let them keep the matress on the floor-something that will upset past and future guest-something that shows total inconsidaration for other guests from their part.!!
Concernig the laundry service-yes we provide a laundry room for guests.That means guests are offered free of charge a washing machine to use-on specific operating hours.Nobody from the three families never asked as to where the laundry room is ,nore how it can be used.In stead took the liberty(or should i stay the rudness)to find it themselfes by start opening doors around the premises,and used the washing machine.Again,until that point we didn't make any comment to them and keept on being the very good hosts we always are,as every on of our guests knows us to be.When we discovered hotel towels and sheets taken out from (the proffesional dryer)we showed our discomfort and told the guests to stop using it any further.again very politely!We remind them of the clotheshorse that there are in every appartement.We also gave them extra-were in the appartement in question was one all ready opened for them on the upper hallway.So that the wet towels that were daily thrown on the LCD TELEVISION to dry ,to be put on the clotheshorse to dry properly and not on the TV!!!!
By they way,there are some more examples ...the guests-again without taking permission from the managementp-moved tables from the upstairs veranda to the ground floor,making damages and marks on the wall along the stairway.Also they moved the tv from one room to another ,again without asking-something that became a habbit i gues....
At ARIADNI appartement guests also (they saw it as an example from "somewhere else" i guess) put the matress on the floor with no excuse!!(and we dont think that another baby slept on the floor because there were blood stains on the matress,the sheets and the quilt).....
Along those examples i would like to add that everything the guests asked for they received.they asked for a DVD player-they got it
they asked for a baby bath-they got it
Anything they would have asked,they would have get
BUT...they never asked...they decided to act differently....
...WE are very sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your stay here.BUT,,,,keep in mind that the same people since day one have served and pleased every single satisfied guest that ever stayed and will stay at METOHI GEORGILA.In our line of work the customer is always right untill he crosses that thin red line..When that happens and we have to protect and preserve our property,maybe we might become a bit "UNPLEASENT WITH NO UNDERSTANDING"...At that point the customer "IS NOT ALWAYS RIGHT "..


THE MANAGEMENT AND STAFF AT
METOHI GEORGILA TRADITONAL HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2010

The best place I ever stayed. A heaven. We enjoyed an unforgetable week in the most quality place one could ever imagine for his holidays. I absolutely recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisAsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platanias
0.6 mi away
Ledra Maleme
Ledra Maleme
#4 of 15 in Maleme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
1.2 mi away
Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel
2.9 mi away
Esthisis Suites
Esthisis Suites
#8 of 69 in Platanias
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Silver Beach Hotel
Silver Beach Hotel
#3 of 11 in Gerani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.5 mi away
Solimar Aquamarine Hotel
2.2 mi away
Minoa Palace Resort & Spa
Minoa Palace Resort & Spa
#1 of 69 in Platanias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metohi Georgila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metohi Georgila

Property: Metohi Georgila
Address: Purgos Psilonerou, Platanias, Crete 730 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Platanias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Metohi Georgila 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metohi Georgila is a quiet resting place, built in 1908 by Dr Styliano Georgila, a personal friend of Eleftherios Venizelos. This house was not only a home, but also a shelter of hospitality for his friends and family. Years later… wanting to continue the warmth and the generous Cretan hospitality, which by the way our family kept for the last three generations, we reconstructed the building and we created 5 independent residences. Our inspiration wasn’t the need of a business, but the joy of offering and sharing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Metohi Georgila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metohi Georgila Platanias, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing