We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish setting + genuine Cretan hospitality”
Review of Metohi Georgila

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Metohi Georgila
Ranked #2 of 16 Platanias B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 December 2011

We were looking for a small self-catering property with lots of history and originality that offers the creature comfort of a luxury boutique hotel. Metohi Georgila more than met our expectation! The place is beautifully restored and tastefully furnished. I loved how each room has its own theme and showcases specific antiques. The rooms are spotless and are cleaned daily.

What made our time there truly memorable is Areti and Harris. They treated us like guests of the family and brought us fresh baked treats and harvests of their garden. We enjoyed our time there so much in 2010 that we went back in the summer of 2011. When I told my 5 year old that we were going back to Crete, he asked whether we were going to the hotel where the nice man by the pool had brought him a juice and a plaster when he hurted himself. Even a 5 year old knows it when he sees great service!

So, we may even go back for a third time next year!

Room Tip: For a family of 4, Titika offers the package: it's a two bed, two bath apartment with a huge ter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HMSHG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2011

Harris and Areti were the most fantastic hosts. The old cliche that they treated us as friends rather than paying guests was in this case completely apt: they cooked us a wonderful dinner which we shared with them, dropped freshly baked pastries in our room, and kept our kids entertained when we were not watching. Rather than a hotel, they have created an outstanding self-catering set-up with just enough extras and personal service to make you feel relaxed.
Most impressively, in a part of Crete that has in parts been spoiled by mass tourism, the family have tastefully restored an old building and its grounds to a very high standard. Everything is spotlessly clean and if we needed anything, our wishes were accommodated as much as it was possible to do so.
Another couple, who had booked in for a couple of nights, left for their next hotel destination a few miles away in Chania, only to return two nights later, saying they missed the calm and quality of their first nights in Crete at Metohi Georgila. Enough said!

Room Tip: Go for the apartment with the very large roof terrace overlooking the pool if you don't need to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sebgoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

A friend of ours recommend this villa hotel to us and it turned out to be one of the best holiday experience for us in recent years! The hotel is very thoughtfully designed and decorated, blending classic building features with modern facilitates, and full of lovely details. The suite we stayed had high ceiling, full of light, a spacious bathroom and a well-equipped kitchen - perfect for family with kid. Each suite/flat has a balcony or terrace - it is refreshing to be able to wake up to see the wonderful sea view while having a coffee on the balcony. The best thing is the pool, beautiful and welcoming, we had a dip in everyday. The location is on the hillside, very secluded and private, yet with easy driving distance to nice beaches in Platanias and Chania. Although it does not have a restaurant in it, the owners do provide lovely breakfast choices, scrumptious cakes and one can order pizza, sandwich and snacks at the bar. The owners also live in the estate, and they are very easy to approach, warm and helpful, it makes us feel like staying in a big family. We just came back from the Crete holiday and are already thinking of going back .... A top choice for the family, we can't recommend more of it!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

After leaving another Villa because of the quality of the apartments we had reserved, we found Metohi Georgila in a "last minute ciber-cafe search" in Platanias. Never thought we would be so lucky.

The way they treated us was wonderfull during our 11 nights of stay: charmfull rooms, constant details, the apartments were cleaned daily and perfectly, super relaxing place with no noise but nature,...

Thanks a lot to all of you back from Spain and hope to see you again sometime!

We wish you the best with the upcoming baby!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Egoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We were curious upon reading previous reviews, how is it possible to have 7 excellent (not good or average but excellent) and 2 poor reviews (from the same party)? Upon arrival it was obvious that we would share the views of the excellent 7 reviews. We can not rave more about this place. The owners were kind gentle and welcoming souls. The facilities were of an incredibly high standard ensuring excellent comfort levels. the meticulous attention to detail were obvious. The simple things such as quality of linen and ensuring you had not only bath towels but your own personal pool towels were very appreciated. The size of the rooms were generous the air conditioning was excellent. The kitchens were well stocked with utensils and owners were instantly responsive when we asked for anything. Rooms were serviced daily.

The owners would often leave us baked home-made goods in the morning whilst at all times respecting our privacy making them the most discerning and accomplished of hosts. Access to laundry was unrestricted and they provided us with their own laundry detergents etc. They were a wonderful source of information and would make reservations to restaurants on our behalf, remember this is not a hotel!

It was obvious that this was a labour of love for the family and not some souless commercial venture. We would have no hesitation in recommending this place as an ideal base for western Chania. This is for those who don't want to stay in a hotel and enjoy staying in a villa like place and wish to independently travel western Crete ie you will need a car!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mat1060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We went there after searching in booking. We were impressed by the location (up on a hill), by its history and by the wonderful job, the owner and his wife had done there. Our expectations came true indeed. The five appartments (we visited all) are magnificent decorated with old authenticate things while they have everything to make you feel comfortable. What's impressive is that the owners took care on every detail in order to create a place where you can relax (by the pool or out in the wonderful verandas each appartment has), have fun (in a distance of 5 klm there are many clubs, restaurants, beach bars etc) or see the wonderful cretan nature.
What I think is that "Metoxi Georgila" is a question of quality!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evangeliaRethymnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Very bad service:
1. The reception is not saffted (you have to call the owner in order to get somtheing).
2. Though we orded a baby bed and DVD we didn't got any.
3. No bath room.
4. Very bed Wi-Fi connection.
5. You are not allowed to use the lundary service (although they say so on the e-mail). You have to ask for the owners permission. He locked the room with our clothes in it because we did so.The dryer is not on the policy even if you are willing to pay for it. Bring extra clothes!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michalma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metohi76, Owner at Metohi Georgila, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2011

We already replied to the comments of this party from Israel, but as we all can read there are more comments.
1. We are not a city hotel with 24hrs reception and 20 people for staff, we are a little complex of five guest houses, a small friendly family business. The guests don't need to call the "owner", we just inform them that if they need anything they can call from their room 101 or 102 so we'll be able to help them.
2. The only email that we got, was asking for a DVD player and we agreed with the guest who asked for it that it would be available whenever they would need it. The 2nd or 3rd day they asked for it and in 5 min they got it. As for the baby cot, the agency specifically asked for only one in the small apartment and of-course it was in the room their arrival day. We would be able to provide them with an extra baby cot (as we did with the baby bath, something that usually don't find in a hotel) if they just was asking for one...but they never did.
3. No bath-room? What happened? Every day I was checking the rooms and the bathrooms were in the houses. I can't really understand once more what for we are accused.
4.The 1st day some of the guests asked me for the Wii-Fii connection. I informed that the building is an old traditional house with really thick walls built from big stones and as the connection is wireless is hard to get signal in every single room of each guest house, so you need to find in the house or at the balcony where is the best signal. We didn't have any complaints before,but still it's the best that can be done in buildings like this with Wi-Fi connection. We are really sorry for that.
5. We never send any email about the laundry services. The information leaflet in the rooms, describes specifically that laundry room is open from 9am-6pm everyday. Nobody asked where the laundry room was, or how the machine works (the instructions on it, are in Greek). We didn't actually lock any clothes inside, we just locked the laundry room after 9pm for security and hygienic reason (we are at the countryside). The moment the guests came back at the hotel and asked for their clothes around 10pm, we unlock for them to get them. As for the dryer is a professional machine, not for the guests to use, even if they want to pay for it. It's not a money issue, it's a hygienic issue. In this machine we only put hotel sheets and towels that no one else except the authorised personnel has the right to touch, for guest's health safety. There is a clotheshorse in every single room. I think that when somebody decides to travel in winter or springtime that the warm weather and the sun are not every day fact, especially with young kids, maybe needs to get some extra clothes, or try to do laundry day time to have some time during the day to dry the clothes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Platanias hotels
2.3 mi away
Minoa Palace Resort
Minoa Palace Resort
#1 of 68 in Platanias
1,219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seashell Apartments
Seashell Apartments
#2 of 2 in Pirgos Psilonerou
36 reviews
4.5 mi away
Avra Imperial Hotel
Avra Imperial Hotel
#1 of 12 in Kolymbari
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Conte Marino Villas
Conte Marino Villas
#1 of 1 in Kontomari
56 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
Karmi Studios & Apartments
Karmi Studios & Apartments
#8 of 12 in Kolymbari
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metohi Georgila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metohi Georgila

Address: Purgos Psilonerou, Platanias, Crete 730 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Platanias
Price Range: £65 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metohi Georgila 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metohi Georgila is a quiet resting place, built in 1908 by Dr Styliano Georgila, a personal friend of Eleftherios Venizelos. This house was not only a home, but also a shelter of hospitality for his friends and family. Years later… wanting to continue the warmth and the generous Cretan hospitality, which by the way our family kept for the last three generations, we reconstructed the building and we created 5 independent residences. Our inspiration wasn’t the need of a business, but the joy of offering and sharing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Stayforlong S.L., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Metohi Georgila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metohi Georgila Platanias, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing