We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A beautiful,enchanting villa exceeds all expectations.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Metohi Georgila

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Metohi Georgila
Ranked #2 of 12 Platanias B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A beautiful,enchanting villa exceeds all expectations.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We have recently returned from a wonderful holiday in Crete, where we were fortunate to have
stayed at villa Metohi Georgila. We found it on the internet and booked into, Agapi, one of the five apartments that have been created in and around the original villa, for an eight day stay.
The villa was sumptuous, with beautiful gardens at different levels and lots of bird life at this time of year.
We were warmly welcomed by Areti who met us at the airport and took us to our charming,
spotlessly cleansed fully equipped apartment. The home made cake, fruit and drinks were a lovely surprise and very much appreciated.
Hiring a car is recommended but we enjoyed travelling by bus and hiring bikes.
This is a great area of Crete, lovely beaches,warm sea,delicious food and friendly people.
We would run out of superlatives trying to describe the villa,the scent from the jasmine round the pool was wonderful. The warmth we experienced from Areti and the family,small kindnesses and the professionalism of the enterprise made for an amazing, relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: all the apartments are equally lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    5
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
41
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

My wife and I spent four nights in one of the great appartments. Service was perfect - wifi in the appartment, separate wifi in pool area, very clean rooms, good kitchen equipment, private parking, separate pool towels. The big pool is super for swimming. Supermarkets and beach right around the corner. The whole hotel leaves a very friendly, clean, romantic and well organized impression on the guest. Have fun to find it out on your own...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank airriedle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed two nights in a two bedroom apartment which had plenty of room to sleep up to 7 people. Areti and her husband Harris were wonderful hosts and other guests from France and Germany were using Metohi as a base to explore western Crete, you definitely need a car to see the area. We enjoyed the rest and relaxation of the pool and balcony as we were traveling throughout Crete staying in five other locations. Facilities are excellent with lovely family photographs and antiques highlighting the history of Areti's great grandfather's beautifully renovated home.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 20131618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Great room classic design theme, spotlessly clean and neat and, most of all, an EXCELLENT staff. The sunny bar and pool area, a glass of wine, a meeting point or just relaxing.

The friendly, attentive staff really made me feel "at home" here.

definitely going to come here again,

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank meterizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larnaca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

My husband, friends and I had a wonderful time at Metohi Georgila, we were made so welcome with a welcoming cake on the first night followed by some homemade pasties of cheese, spinach and mint and last but by no means least a farewell pot of homemade jam to take home. Where else would you get such attention? The property was everything we expected and more, the finer details in the accommodation was very much appreciated, we couldn't fault it, it was perfect. We intend to return at a later date to have some more pampering. Thank you so much Paul and Carol W

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

The host's are amazing,the property is spectacular.There is great attention to detail in the rooms,and the little touches(wlecome pack- tea/coffee/milk/butter/jam/crispbreads) plus a fruit cake then cheese and spinach pastries while we there plus home made jam when we were leaving were all very delicious.The pool area,sun lounges, and bar are loverly.The surrouding area was a joy to visit and Harris recommended some good restaurants to eat in the evening.All in all,a most wonderful holiday,and will visit again.

Room Tip: all rooms are different. vary in size to custmer rquirements
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 715Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

This property is stunning. We rented a huge, beautifully appointed, apartment in the lovingly renovated family summer home for two weeks in May. We plan to go back! Our welcome and care by the family was wonderful, and the whole property is meticulously maintained, included the large pool. There is an excellent comfortable bus service to Chania, and we had a rental car to enable easy access to the gorgeous mountain and coastal scenery of western and southern Crete. The local village of Maleme is within walking distance and has a decent supermarket with fresh produce, restaurants and on-site pottery store. A recommended restaurant, Argentina in Kolambari, had great seafood. We took a boat trip from Kissamos to the beautiful beach of Balos. We chose to take a small group tour with Diktynna (a travel company recommended by our hosts) to hike Europe's biggest gorge, the Samaria Gorge. It was brilliant, with door-to-door service including new minivan and ferry ride.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platanias
3.0 mi away
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Silver Beach Hotel
Silver Beach Hotel
#3 of 11 in Gerani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Solimar Aquamarine Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel
2.9 mi away
Esthisis Suites
Esthisis Suites
#7 of 69 in Platanias
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
4.2 mi away
Folia Apartments
Folia Apartments
#1 of 32 in Agia Marina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metohi Georgila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metohi Georgila

Property: Metohi Georgila
Address: Purgos Psilonerou, Platanias, Crete 730 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Platanias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Metohi Georgila 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metohi Georgila is a quiet resting place, built in 1908 by Dr Styliano Georgila, a personal friend of Eleftherios Venizelos. This house was not only a home, but also a shelter of hospitality for his friends and family. Years later… wanting to continue the warmth and the generous Cretan hospitality, which by the way our family kept for the last three generations, we reconstructed the building and we created 5 independent residences. Our inspiration wasn’t the need of a business, but the joy of offering and sharing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Metohi Georgila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metohi Georgila Platanias, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing