We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ideal Beach Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Platanias
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ideal Beach Hotel
Ranked #31 of 69 Hotels in Platanias
Huittinen, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ideal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed one week in Ideal Beach with friends. Our room was studio, just normal, nothing special. Not the beautiest one, but good for us, we only slept and took showers in our room. Everything worked, there were fridge, safety box, small tv (which we didn't use), hot water (took a little time to get that). If you want just stay in room whole holiday then our studio with terrace won't be your choice. From our terrace we saw a little piece of garden, neightbours balconys and the wall of main building. There were peaceful, but we weren't there in the middle of the high season. We heard about nothing noise.

Hotel area is clean, garden is well cared for, beautiful flowers, every day we saw somebody to take care of the garden. Also our room were clean, cleaning is (if I remember right) six times in week.

Hotel is next to the beach, lovely! Sunbeds in the beach cost some euros per day, in the pool area chairs were free. Nice and deep swimmingpool and own pool for children. Pool is ok to swim a little, maybe not if you want to swim a long way. For us it was really good! Service in restaurant was always happy, they smiled all the time and were very friendly. You just don't have to do more than lay in sunbed in the beach and ask waitress to bring you cold beer. Means that also in the beach is service.

We also got half board, breakfast and dinner (in the evening). Breakfast was very simple but ok, dinner was also simple, but always food was good! Greek evening (every wednesday?) was also nice, so many different foods (traditional), some dancers and music.

Ideal Beach located in the middle of Platanias village. So you don't need to walk far from hotel and you have everything. Even if the location is so centre, there was peaceful in hotel area. And also next to the hotel there is very nice restaurant Skoniako!

With me there were three other persons, age about 30 y, two couples. I could recommend this hotel for many different travellers. Maybe if you have honeymoon then you have to take at least dirrerent room or if you gonna mostly stay in room. But yes, hotel was nice, good choice!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MariaK239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    56
    34
    7
    4
See reviews for
57
48
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rong, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Had a wondeful week here with good friends. The people in the restaurant, especially Olga and Tony were GREAT. Service and smiles all day long. And the beach is right there. A two minutes walk to restaurants with great greek couisine. Fun shopping and just under 30 minutes with bus to Chania city.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trygvesdotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

We booked one week at this hotel trough Apollo. The hotel is rated 4 stars. Not sure who`s responsible for the rating, but i can say, they have not travelled much!

The hotel is located right next to the beach, and there`s a swimmingpool shared with the hotel just next door. There`s also a bar/restaurant on location.
The reception is not open 24/7 so if you don`t travel trough charter (not sure thats even possible) be sure to arrive during opening hours.

We were given room 102 wich is located closest to the reception area. Be sure to sleep with earplugs if you`re a light sleeper. Everyone arriving late WILL wake you up. We felt that everyone arriving late after too many schnaps was inside our room on their way back home. If thats not gonna keep you awake its the horrible beds. I have never slept in a worse bed than this. I think sleeping on the floor would`ve been more comfy.

I`ve seen better bathrooms in one star hostels in London. The floor flooded everytime we took a shower. Making us responsible for global warming trough the use of so many towels:-( If you`ve never been to Greece before, try Google where to put the toilet paper. The result is not in the toilet. But thats not the Hotels fault and is not by anyway affecting the poor rating.

Oh and our ipad had a bigger screen than the TV.
Wi-fi is charged to a ridiculous rate. One code, one device. So surfing on your iphone and laptop at the same time is not possible! I can`t understand why?
Our room had a safe available free of charge.

The food served in the restaurant was horrible, but all the other restaurants in Platanias is no better.

I was actually thinking of rating this hotel with one star, but the location and the hotel area was actually pretty nice, so i`ll rate it with two stars.

Staff was very friendly!

I will never go back to Platanias, i think it was a horrible Place. But the Island itself was interesting. If i one day return to Crete, i`ll rent a car/motorcycle and travel around the island.

If you`re thinking of booking this hotel during high season when prices are on its peak, i would call it a rip-off. If this is a 4 star rated hotel on the island, i can`t belive the horrors people are facing.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Haraldsenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Platanias hotels

Vaasa, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

We spent 6 days at Ideal Beach resorts main building (hotel room). The hotel area is very clean and tidy and is located on the beach. Sadly the rooms at the main building are very noisy. All the noises from the corridor comes through the door. That dont really bother so much at daytime, but at night times its really irritating if you try to sleep. Guests coming from bars etc. or just arriving to hotel at night make a lot of noice (echo makes it worse). I dont know if we were just unlucky cause the whole week people kept coming (with a lot of noice) between midnight and morning. They had a info at the maindesk asking guests kindly to avoid slamming the doors, but that did not stop it happening. The room was ok, though the mattress is really hard (you can ask an extra mattress pad which helps a lot). The other apartments in other buildings seemed to be very nice with own entrance. The staff is very friendly and helping. Alltough the noises at nights were irritating we still had a very nice holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JEK77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

We have been coming to platanias for the last 6 years now,and have been using the facilities at the Ideal Beach every year,we cannot fault the staff they are all really brilliant they are like family.Iknow this hotel is only available to book in Scandinavia but if you are ever in Platanias give this place a look at and i am sure Dimitris and all his staff will look after you,Dimitris love you man The english B-----ds.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank davoManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

Just came back from staying at Ideal Beach. We were to friends, and we stayed in a double room. Everything was great - and for the price paid we could not have asked for more. The hotel is right at the beach, the center of Platanias, shopping and i could go on. Pool area very nice - You have to get up early to get a sunbed though. Only downside are the game machines, making noise all day.! Rooms where great - We stayed out most of the time enyoing the sun. The walls are a bit thin but we slept very well. I can recommend eating at the restaurant called Symposium at the main road. Overall we had a lovely stay and would come back :)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TropicanoGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naantali, Finland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2011

It was little cold in the hotell. Rooms was typical not so luxus but quit ok. Coffeemaker was broken but we got new one.
There was Cockroachies in the bathrum.
Hotel was near on the beach and near centrum so localisation was good. Swimming pool was nice but had too little easy chairs. Food in the hotels restaurant was good, personnel was very happy. To our travel price didint include breakfest but it was possible to buy breakfest if you wanted.
In the spring when was little bit cold, this wasnt best choose beacause on the beach was cold and windy.

Room Tip: Near sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Apollo

Helpful?
2 Thank matkailja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Platanias hotels
0.1 mi away
Indigo Mare
Indigo Mare
#16 of 69 in Platanias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.7 mi away
Menia Beach Hotel
Menia Beach Hotel
#9 of 69 in Platanias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Blue Sea Apartments
Hotel Blue Sea Apartments
#20 of 69 in Platanias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Amaryllis
Hotel Amaryllis
#15 of 69 in Platanias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ermis Suites
Ermis Suites
#32 of 69 in Platanias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.6 mi away
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ideal Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ideal Beach Hotel

Property: Ideal Beach Hotel
Address: Platanias-Kydonais, Platanias, Crete 731 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Platanias
Hotel Class:4 star — Ideal Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Ideal Beach Hotel Platanias, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing