We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views and great wine”
Review of Cosmos

Cosmos
Ranked #2 of 136 Restaurants in Platanias
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$24 - US$53
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, View
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Cosmos is the highest restauant in the area of Platanias, and from year 2002, serves suberb dinner to all foodies who are looking for perfection. Relax and chill over the multi-colour view of Chania under lounge music supported with our creative / simple menu of Mediterranean tastes, and a 300 labels cava of wines, whiskys , eau de vie , dessert wines, vintage Vodkas, Rums ect. Βaby wagons/trolleys are not allowed in the restaurant area during dinner time unless there is a kinetic problem, persons with special needs or kids with DOWN syndrome, and sadly is difficult to accommodate children under the age of 6. Have in mind that restaurant does not have children's playground and children's responsibility and behaviour remains with the accompanied adults. Trying to keep our food quality in high standards our menu is quiet compressed, with 10 main courses and 7 appetizers, so we do not serve menus for allergic and vegetarians. We do not have dress code but we recommend smart casual. No running / beach clothes or sport shorts please if possible. Telephone line is open from Monday to Sunday from 11:00-17:55 (28210-68558) Opening days: Monday to Sunday Service Hours: 18:30 - 23:30 dinner only
London
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic views and great wine”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This is a must-do when staying Platanias - the views are obviously fantatstic, but the food and service were also excellent, pretty much at the same level as other highly-rated restaurants in the region. What really stood out for me was the wines - the house selection was the best I had during my stay in Crete and we even got offered one on the house! I would recommend to put Cosmos on your list of restaurants to eat in but make sure to book early and go for a balcony table :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fabian0688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris P, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Cosmos, responded to this review, 21 January 2015
thank you my friend!!!

You can recommend us to your friends

:)
Cosmos general manager
Δημητρης Πρωiμακης
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    688
    173
    54
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Our party of 8 thoroughly enjoyed the experience of eating at this restaurant. The food was excellent, as was the service. Would certainly recommend it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 53Irene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris P, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Cosmos, responded to this review, 21 January 2015
Dear friend...
:)

we are very glad you liked our restaurant...

thank you for your words
:)
Cosmos general manager
Δημητρης Πρωiμακης
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

Definitely worth a visit. The staff are so friendly, excellent service. Great choice of wines. Food is beautiful. I had the sea bream and it was beautiful. The fish came whole but was then filleted at the table by the lovely waiter. Delicious. My husband had lamb and was equally as pleased. The views are beautiful but the dining experience and food were even better. Great find.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CMH1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris P, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Cosmos, responded to this review, 21 January 2015
Dear friend...
:)

we are very glad you liked our restaurant...

thank you very much...you make us feel very nice

day by day we are trying to become better...
:)
Cosmos general manager
Δημητρης Πρωiμακης
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Rude management, wonderful views”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The overall experience of Cosmos was relatively good. There are wonderful views to be had, the food is above average and the service exceptional. However, the attitude of the management is at least condescending. We were asked twice if we had booked (supposedly as they were full) in a manner that was neither polite nor welcoming. There are some other minor issues including charging for the bread without asking you (I note that other customers have complained about this) and the fact that the restaurant does not cater for vegetarians. This is unfortunate as Greek cuisine prides itself for the use of vegetables. The climb to the restaurant is strenuous but the view is rewarding (although the building it self is ugly).
If you want an evening with unbeatable views and good food Cosmos is your choice. Just ignore the patronising manager and his comments....

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JordieTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIMPChania, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Cosmos, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear friend...

Near the ending of the season 2013 i personaly want to thank you for visiting Cosmos . Your review is a chance for me to thank all these pepole who supported us this summer and waiting for your feedback no matter how you feel for us. Cosmos is always a good fortress for travellers who enjoy good-living , and is prepared to meet their expectations with love and smile : )


Many hugs to your land and i wish you to have a good winter

with honor
General Manager
Δημητρης Πρωιμακης
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food. Good view. Overall service good but spoilt slightly by managers attitude.”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Great food and lovely views. Waiters were also good. Table booked for special occasion. On clarifying our booking, the attitude and response from the owner was rude on 2 occassions. Despite that the food was exceptional but could be better by more friendly management as seen in other high rated restaurants in platanias.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank marley1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris P, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Cosmos, responded to this review, 22 January 2015
dear friend!!

i do not understand your reiew...

but anyway... i will try to become better

:)
Cosmos general manager
Δημητρης Πρωiμακης
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cosmos also viewed

Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Cosmos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing