We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Dream vacation.”
other travellers have booked this property
villa Melody
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
villa Melody
The veranda with view to the pool and the garden Romantic master bedroom with view to garden and swimming pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
villa Melody
The veranda with view to the pool and the garden
Romantic master bedroom with view to garden and swimming pool
twin bedroom on the mezzanine
Fully fit kitchen
The stairway leading to the mezzanine with the twin bedroom
Children's playroom in the lower level
jacuzzi hot tub in main bathroom
Outside villa Melody's bedroom
Quiet sunbathing at the swimmin pool of villa Melody
Sunny swimming pool
Platanias Village
The Old Venetian Harbor in Chania
This paradise is just 30 minutes drive from villa Melody
We can organize your wedding night.....
Wedding reception at the villlas
Wedding reception at the garden
Wedding reception
Platania's Sandy Beach two minutes walk from villa
The main gate that hides our paradise
Villa Melody in a green garden
The famous venetian old harbor of Chania
...for romantic winter nights
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Platanias, Chania Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
English first
Greek first
Any
English first
Kmatthe2
Provo, Utah
1 review
“Dream vacation.”
Reviewed 25 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

My sisters and I came to Rock Houses Villas to celebrate my birthday—and what a birthday it was! Villa Melody was a lovely home—immaculate, comfortable, and brimming with all of the amenities for which one could hope (and some I hadn't even considered). While in a bustling tourist town, Villa Melody felt extremely private. It was the best of both worlds: private home and access to shops, restaurants, etc. Yioula and her family were warm and welcoming and always happy to answer questions. If I travel to Crete again, I will most definitely stay here. Dream house for a dream vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy and charm of the villa itself.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2013
Lovely ladies, very kind, very clean and very discreet. Our wish to have guests like that has come true with this wonderful family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonW81...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful property”
Reviewed 28 February 2013 for a stay in April 2012

We (a couple) stayed at Villa Melody for a week in April/May last year. The property is set back from the main street behind gates but it is so quiet and peaceful that the proximity is no issue at all. The property is very well maintained (and cleaned daily) and even though it is built in the style of a traditional rustic villa, it is only a few years old so no wear and tear. We were welcomed by Yioula who had left a hamper with homemade and local goodies in our kitchen, very nice indeed. We really enjoyed the garden area. It is extremely well-kept and we spent most days in perfect quiet by the pool enjoying the weather. There is nothing particularly special about the main street outside the gates, but there were some nice restaurants and shops to have a wonder around in the evenings. The beach is also only a ten minute walk away, but in honesty we did not feel the need to venture away from our garden! The owners live next door so they are always on hand if necessary. Definitely a great place to spend a relaxing week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden/pool
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2013
Thank God we have so nice guests staying with us! I recommend any home owner to always welcome such a nice couple to their homes as they are a blessing to all rental owners.They took very good care of our property and it was amazingly clean when they left!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2012 for a stay in July 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Super villa and outside seating area
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
611Karin
Brakel, Belgium
1 review
“A little paradise!”
Reviewed 23 January 2012 for a stay in November 2011

We visited the villa Melody in winter time. The owners are so warm and welcoming and the house itself is very cozy and comfortable with a nice fireplace and lovely decoration so that you forget its wintertime. Everything you need is there, a good coffee machine, all the tools to cook a good meal although there are many nice restaurants in the neighborhood.
If you enter the premises it's like you enter an oasis, quit and serene.
The garden, terrace and swimming pool are well maintenanced.
We also visited the villa in summertime, and the location is perfect! It's quit around the villa, but if you want to taste the Cretan nightlife, you are at walking distance to lots of nice bars, restaurants and shops. Rock House bar is good for an evening of pure ambiance! If you rent a car there are also a lot of nice places to visit on the Island. Something interesting for everybody! We can recomment Villa Melody to everybody and will go back soon!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The luxury, the quit, the warm homely feeling
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Platanias, Greece
Reviewed 21 October 2011 for a stay in June 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about this villa and the village.
Liked least: Not being able to live there for ever.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brisvegas...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cretan Paradise”
Reviewed 10 October 2011 for a stay in September 2011

My partner and I have just spent six wonderful weeks in the Melody Rock House. Booking our holiday was easy and Yioula responded quickly, pleasantly and patiently to all of our enquiries. The two rock houses are truly lovely - even more picturesque than the photos on the web. They are in a private and tranquil garden setting behind the Rock House bar which fronts the main road through Platanias, where restaurants, shops and markets abound. The houses have been designed thoughtfully, are exceptionally well maintained and cleaned, are very well equipped, and have great internet and sound systems.

Yioula and her family made us feel so welcome and generously spent time with us, adding immeasurably to the enjoyment of our stay. We could not recommend Rock Houses more highly and only hope we have the opportunity to spend time with Yioula and Agis some time in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Delightful hosts offering beautiful accommodation.
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Sep 2011
Great people! Great family! Any owner who accommodates them will wish to have them to their rental all the time as I do! Never seen a more clean and respective family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$212
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing