We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bland food, great view”
Review of Vigli Restaurant

Vigli Restaurant
Ranked #25 of 131 Restaurants in Platanias
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, View, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bland food, great view”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I wouldn't come her for the food again, but I'd come anytime for the sunset view: spectacular.
The food seemed adapted to the Scandinavian palate, so it was bland and boring: the worst fries in Platanias and that is saying something as fries is served everywhere with everything.

The staff were friendly.

Come here for drinks: go elsewhere for food: I recommend Roka Taverna in Agias Marina.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wildgarlickydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    71
    28
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Massive disappointment”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Food was average and over priced. Bill was illegible and made no sense and the staff were grumpy when I challenged it. Yes the view is spectacular but go elsewhere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gromit66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great view”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Food was very good, service perfect and amazing views! It was worth the effort walking up the hill. Their kleftiko was very tasty,but could be warmer.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tromsø
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place in oø”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Nice place up in old town with good food and lovley people :-) Tray their moussaka or chicken souvlaki .

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 858RuthM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taarnby, Denmark
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful view!”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Vigli is definitely worth a visit if not for the food then definitely to see the beautiful view there is from up there, it's the best in Platanias! It might be a hard walk to the top but the view is definitely worth it! Absolutely astonishing especially if you go around twilight the light everything then gets is incredible and when it's then all dark you can see all the lights light up out in the distance, everyone should definitely see that if you go to Platanias! Okay, enough about the amazing view. The food there is pretty good, I have had some I wasn't so crazy about but that was just my taste there was nothing wrong with it definitely not! I just wasn't a fan, but I have had a lot that was really good actually, and well then they have a really nice looking dessert menu! ;) The people working there are really nice! It's definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beaniewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vigli Restaurant also viewed

Platanias, Chania Prefecture
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Vigli Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing