We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greek hospitality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Platanias
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Santa Helena Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2013

The Santa Helena was a perfect venue for a holiday with grandchildren who love swimming. The pool and the sea are practically next to each other (only 50 meters or so)! The restaurant is next to the beach and we were quite satisfied with our breakfasts there. We dined there every evening, but a couple of times we did have dinner there - and that was ok as well. The grounds were lovely and wellkept. On the downside was the fact that our rooms were on the 3rd floor and we did not have a lift; usually we wouldn't have minded that, but I had recently had a pelvic fracture and indeed had to be wheeled to the breakfast restaurant every morning. However, we enjoyed ourselves, all four of us!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CygnusBergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 27 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed here August 2011. Very familyfriendly, good location next to the beach, very nice for small kids with swimmingpool and play area. Very clean and nice apartments. Excellent service, very helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Offseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

This hotel is located just on the beach, it has nice clean rooms and friendly staff, we stayed there for one week in June.
Good breakfast with all the normal stuff. Try a drink at the beach/pool bar.
I would recommend this hotell to families and couples.

Room Tip: We chose a room that was in the shade in the morning/day very nice in a hot day to be able to sit on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We were the first guests of the season and got a lovely warm welcome from the reception staff! In fact all the staff at the Santa Helena were extremely helpful during our stay - they are a real asset to the hotel. Our room was clean and comfortable - and well maintained by the cleaners each day. Despite booking a self catering stay, we decided to eat breakfast at the hotel as it was good value and served in a lovely setting overlooking the beach and sea (and Thodorou Island). The pool and grounds of Santa Helena are very inviting (e.g. the hedging is the 'Daphne' shrub which gives off a lovely scent in the evenings), and the hotel itself is well situated to the west of Platanias which is a low-key resort near Chania. I'd definately recommend the hotel and would happily stay again.

Room Tip: The accomodation on the left hand side of the hotel (as you look towards the sea) get the most sunli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Nice hotel for people who travel with children.
Peaceful, quiet atmosphere, though the hotel wasn't full yet.
Great pool, practically on the beach. Playground for kids.
The hotel personnel is helpful and kind (at least in the spring time).

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MythosZorbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 1966Elisabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Lene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platanias
0.7 mi away
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Blue Dome Hotel
Blue Dome Hotel
#4 of 68 in Platanias
181 reviews
0.3 mi away
Indigo Mare
Indigo Mare
#20 of 68 in Platanias
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#14 of 111 in Chania Town
549 reviews
2.2 mi away
Santa Marina Beach Hotel
Santa Marina Beach Hotel
#9 of 31 in Agia Marina
564 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Blue Sea Apartments
Hotel Blue Sea Apartments
#21 of 68 in Platanias
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Helena Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Helena Village

Address: Platanias, Crete 73100, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 60 Speciality Lodging in Platanias
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Helena Village 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Also Known As:
Santa Helena Village Platanias, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing