We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly as described”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Platanias
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Sophia Apartments
Ranked #53 of 68 Hotels in Platanias
Reviewed 11 September 2008

We stayed at the Sofia beach Apartments in August this year. As always we booked late and did not know what to expect. We need not have worried the place was exactly as described. The family are very friendly, the apartments are very clean and well kept.
Liked being on the beach and also having the convenience of the pool, there was plenty happening on the beach - watch out for the donut man, the braiding ladies and the fresh fruit seller. Plenty of eating places on and off the beach. You do not really have to move from the sun loungers someone is always on hand to bring you refreshments.
Was worried that the apartments were near the busy street but they were located far enough away and there was no town noise at all.
Plenty to do for teenagers and smaller children, recommend for families.
Over all an excellent holiday - thank you everyone, and the weather was fantastic.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scaifee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2008

We stayed here for one week this August, me, hubby and two kids (17 and 11). We had a fabulous time. Theo, Sophia, Sophie, Victor and Anna made us very welcome. The apartments were agood size, lovely and clean and the maid came every day apart from Sunday.

The pool was great, not too crowded, but we spent all our time on the beach were there was more shade and Victor waiting on you hand and foot. BIG BOSS !!

Theo's food was excellent, home made and fresh. (We also found a great restaurant on the strip, called The Captains Bar where the food was plentiful, tasty and cheap.)

We would highly recommend this place to anyone, we will certainly return there.

Only downside, 45 euros a week for air con, and 4 euros a day for a sunbed on the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tommos-team
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2008

I have just spent a week at the Sophia Beach Apartments in Platanias in Crete (which simply wasn't enough time....Sophia and her family do a wonderful job keeping this complex alive. The family run complex consists of Dad Theo, and Daughter Sophia. Theo is an outstanding cook and will always compliment his food with fresh local produce. Don't be fooled by the term Poolside Bar...I would recommend that anyone eats in the bar at least once. Sophia is organised and professional whilst running the complex but she also has a very caring and fun loving nature making sure that all her customers are happy.
The apartments are big, spaceous and clean. They are cleaned every day except for Sunday's. The grounds are well maintained and lushious in greenery and flowers. Even the fresh cooking herbs are grown around the pool area. The pool is big and clean. It is a shared pool with the complex next door however there is not enough sunbeds to accommodate both complexes therefore in front on each complex on the beach are sun loungers giving each side adequate comfort. The Sophia Beach bar is manned by a guy called Victor. Victor has worked there for sometime and is a real joker. He will serve in the bar and will also serve you on the beach (providing you are lying on the right beds) He will entertain you with his loveable charater and funny sense of humor as he tries to pick up the English lauguage. The apartments are on the main road of Platanias and all shops, restaurtants, banks, bus stops, train stops are all within easy walking distance. There is plenty to so and see in the area to keep everyone (all ages) occupied. I would return to this accomodation without consideration. I reccomend it to anyone. It was a great holiday and everyone will be truly missed.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nnicoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2007

We have just returned from a fantastic two week holiday at the Sophia Beach Apartments in Platanias! We only booked two weeks before we went and so, naturally, we were a little wary of how they would be. No worries at all. The apartments are large and situated on a lovely, leafy "avenue" leading up to the pool and bar. In the brochure, it states that the pool is shared and we were concerned that it might get overcrowded, but it never did. The beach is literally 20 steps away from the pool - you couldn't ask for anything better. Now the boring stuff is out of the way, let us tell you what (or more to the point, who) really made the holiday. The wonderful Greek family who own and run the aprtments and pool bar, dad Theo, grandma Sohpia and last, but NOT least, daughter Sophia ( she thinks she is Greek but is actually Albanian!!- or so we kept telling her. Right from the minute we arrived, Sophia gave everyone a warm friendly welcome and as she has an excellent command of the english language, we had a very interesting introduction to the area and facilties. Later in the evening, when we went for our evening meal there (don't be fooled by the words "pool/beach bar")we were treated to outstanding cooking, courtesy of Theo, a very modest man who could match any celebrity chef! Every day virtually, we were given "tasters" of traditional Greek food and loved everything - we even had stuffed flowers one night! If you are not the adventurous type when it comes to food, Theo is more than happy to make nuggests and chips, chicken etc. However, I would urge everyone who goes there to give his food a try (Sophia also dabbles in the kitchen and is equally as good)and if you do, you will not only be surprised at the quality but Theo will encourage you to try more as he adores cooking. We, as a family, are not fussy eaters when it comes to things like spices etc, and can honestly say that nothing we were given was too "foreign" and therefore suitable for all. We only ate out twice in the fortnight and didn't enjoy either experience and vowed to eat only at Sophia's as the quality cannot be matched NEITHER can the prices - far cheaper than in the town.

Grandma Sophia is a true lady, although she does not speak English, her warm smile conveyed the message that she was glad to see you - we communicated through hugs and smiles and really took her into our hearts.

On our last night, my husband instigated a water fight between himself, Sophia and two lovely friends we met there, Jean and Cliff. However, in the excitement, Grandma Sophia got drenched - luckily she took it all in good fun and laughed it off - not many 77 year olds would have done though.

The general staff at the apartments are also very polite and welcoming, especially mad Viktor, who REALLY IS Albanian and doesn't speak much English, but is always mad as a hatter and up for a laugh. The cleaners come in every day apart from Sunday and our cleaner Roxanne did an excellent job of cleaning the apartment and always left the towels in a fancy pattern on the beds!

The apartments are literally a 4 minute walk to the main strip where there is an array of tourist souvenir type shops and plenty of restaurants and bars.

A bus trip in Chania (pronounced Hania) is only 1.6 euros and takes 20 minutes approx and there you can get high street fashions, bags, shoes etc. Be warned however, try to go to Chania after 4 in the afternoon as the heat really stifles you around the harbour - where most of the restaurants and bars are - as the white flags on the floor reflect the heat and there is little shade.

We are going back to Sophia Beach Aprtments next year as we couldn't have asked for nicer hosts that Theo, Sophia and Grandma Sophia.

The lady on reception is called Pat and aparently she is a guest that just won't go home!! Bob kept asking everypne who she was, but no one knew!!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank madsmiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2007

me and my partner booked a late deal holiday to sophia studios neather of us have been to crete before and for the price we payed we didnt expect much we were looking for a quiet relaxed holiday thats just wot we got.to our joy it was the best holiday we had and we didnt leave the complex much,the weather was great every day and sophia and her dad made us feel very welcome with her nans home cooking it was a delight we felt very welcome.infact thay became very good friend and are hoping that sophia comes to visit us in england in november.so friendly sophia is very cheeky and speaks the excellent english.the appartment was a fair size basic with a nice balcony with sun in all day long,very clean,cooking facilaties wernt great but didnt bother us as food and drink is avalible in the pool bar,i would suggest you try the nanas meatballs there yum.the only down side that we found was there was not many beds to the pool it was a bit of a fight to the beds with our towels early in morning,but there is a rooth terrance on top of the pool bar if you enquire witch we used very peacefully just us on it and the beach is a stone throw away with allocated beds.the rooms had air conditioning witch we had to pay for worked out bout £30 we didnt realise that till we arrived just so you allocate sum money for that.the rep angie was brilliant to. we will post some potos of the resort when we have our photos developed ass we only arrived home yesterday.have a great time and watch out for the ozo and raki welcum shots when you arrived at the bar very strong 55%.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank huniEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2006

we booked this trip just weeks before we travelled and it was also our first trip to Crete so a little apprehension was apparent. we had an apartment for 2 which was on the 1st floor the room was basic but clean and the furniture in decent condition a small balcony with table and chairs was adequate the bathroom was a little narrow and the shower tended to wet the bathroom floor which was slippy when wet plenty of hot water.
Towels where changed but frequency left a little to be desired (but you get what you paid for) the kitchen would be suitable for basic meals but we never use kitchens just the fridge which also was in good condition and clean.
The staff where marvellous and very friendly and helpful the bar also did meals which where very affordable and tasty, it is also very handy for the centre of Platanias just 2 minutes from the main street but very quiet of an evening so no disturbing noises when trying to sleep we would go back again

Stayed: June 2006
8  Thank scousekeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Helene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Platanias hotels
0 mi away
Seashell Apartments
Seashell Apartments
#2 of 2 in Pirgos Psilonerou
36 reviews
0 mi away
Minoa Palace Resort
Minoa Palace Resort
#1 of 68 in Platanias
1,213 reviews
0 mi away
Avra Imperial Hotel
Avra Imperial Hotel
#1 of 12 in Kolymbari
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Conte Marino Villas
Conte Marino Villas
#1 of 1 in Kontomari
55 reviews
0 mi away
Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa
0 mi away
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sophia Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sophia Apartments

Address: Platanias, Crete 73014, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 68 Hotels in Platanias
Number of rooms: 165
Also Known As:
Villa Sophia Apartments Hotel Platanias
Hotel Sophia Apartments
Villa Sophia Apartments Platanias, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing