We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good facilities, but not 5 stars.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 69 Hotels in Platanias
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good facilities, but not 5 stars.”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We like the hotel and the facilities in general. We booked a familyroom with balcony. We only used the balcony to dry our towels due to its placement. The bathroom had moisture damage and room unfinished repaint/maintenance. I would say 3-4 stars on room would be fair, and hotel 4-5. Good breakfast but very expencive dinner buffet, I would never recommend all inclusive. Try all the good resturants in Platanias for half the price.

The pool was ok, but few sunbeds, which always was reserved by people that got up early an left the towels there to reserve it. Sometimes staff removed them, because it was "illegal", but that was rare, we noticed that happened once in a week.

The room was way to expencive for the standard. I could go to Porto Platanias again, but I would have required a much better room if I was to pay the same. We prefere a room were we can relax and enjoy beeing on vacation, this room wasnt it.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank JLarsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    284
    155
    53
    21
See reviews for
304
336
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We spent the second week of our family holiday here (our first week was in Rethymon). First impressions were very good, helpful reception staff, plenty of parking. I had arranged for a bottle of champagne and a cake for our room as it was our wedding anniversary, this was done, with a heart balloon, a lovely message from the management and a free entrance to the spa with 20% discount on treatments.
The rooms were fine, not as luxurious as the other 5 star hotel we had just been in. There was no tea and coffee. the balcony was large.
There were 5 pools, one was adults only, one had music playing, one we did not find until our penultimate day and one more smaller one. Unfortunately, even though there was that many pools, there was never enough sunbeds. there are notices around everywhere saying d not save your sunbed. One day the bell boy came and removed all the towels saving beds, it was great, it only happened the once though.
very disappointing that this 5* hotel charged €8 for a set of sunbeds with umbrella's. Saying that, we went down one day as there wasn't any beds around the pools and there were no beds on the beach either.
I was surprised at how much the spa was, I had read that there was a charge when i booked the hotel, however it was €15 for 3 hours, the treatment prices were about normal. I did not want to pay that charge so did not use the spa. i did get a massage from a woman on the Platanias road, she was very good, it as €45 for a hour.
I love Platanias, we stayed at the Minoa Palace last year but we could not afford it for the four of us. Platanias has lots of bars and resturants, all really friendly. Our boys are 21 & 18, they went out almost every night after we had had dinner, they got home at 6am most mornings as some of the bars party party, it is really safe though, they are not nightclubs, people do not get ludicrously drunk, there are very few British there, most people are Scandanavian.
At the hotel there was a great barman, Paniyotis - he was really friendly, made us some fab cocktails and was really interesting to talk to.
We had a car so went off to different places, we went to Falassanara beach, Bali Beach, Souda Bay, the war cemetry. We also took the bus into Chania, it is €1.90 one way per person. The harbor is like Rethymon, there are lots of lovely bars and resturants, lots of shops. the town is lovely to walk round. It is very close to the bus station and really worth a visit or two.
All in all a really good trip to Crete was had by all of us.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milliecope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The hotel is very good in Greece but not 5 star hotel "in the western world". Rooms and pools are good, the breakfast is good, but the staff has 90% a little bit too "proud" attitude to the customers. There are 5 nice pools and one of them for adults only. Unfortunately all the customers can not read in English or they just don't care about this and the staff says nothing to them even though there are enough other pool areas for the noisy kids. Anyway a very good choice in Platanias.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeskuT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Our apartment was lovely and spacious and very clean - The hotel was massive with lots of pools so never crowded and we LOVED the adult pool. Sometimes people reserved the sunbeds with towels despite the signs everywhere however we just moved them if that was the case! The room had little natural light but after a few days we were glad of this as it was a lovely retreat from the blazing hot sun. Air con was great. Food amazing and staff attentive and helpful. Especially Katriana one of the main greeters in the restaurant...We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Our apartment was to the left of the hotel past the bar and was really big with a seperate dining ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marnie2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I have to agree with most of the reviews overall this is a good resort but definitely not 5 star. Pros: beautiful lobby, breakfast included, numerous pools, in the middle of everything so you can walk to tons of restaurants, shops and bars. Cons: twin beds pushed together, odd shower, room was not very modern or clean, tried to attend yoga but no one could tell me were it was the entire week we were there, the beach is small and over crowded. What made the trip for us was hanging out at the lobby bar with Panos who is the friendliest and nicest bar tender. He made the best drinks and you have to try his fresh piña coladas! There is a market right next door were I was able to get gluten free bread and water which we were able to keep in our fridge in our room.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Room and especially the bathroom were very small. No toiletries provided and was even hard to get extra soap. Housekeeping was very basic. Expected more ground space. There were many swimming pools but beds round it were very close together and area becamed quite congested. Beds booked very early in morning. We thought it was dreadful to have to pay for beach beds. Staff were not always friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 93Evie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We spent a week at this hotel at the end of June and we were very disappointed.
Firstly after a two hour delay we arrived at the hotel around midnight, we were checked in and led to our room with no information about the hotel, facilities, where to go for breakfast etc.
We had booked a sea/ garden view room and were told it was just look which we ended up with but guranteed they all had lovely views. What we were actually given was an underground room, with no view of the sea or garden but looking out on to the main road next door to a very busy bar which played mucis until 5 am in the morning. The view from our windows was the hotel walk way which was perfect level for everybody walking by to strare straight in to our rooms, which meant we spent any time in the room with all the curtains shut and no day light..
We reported the error to the hotel who were very unhelpful and just kept telling us this was the room we had booked and they couldn't move us as they were full. This was not the room we had booked and we had the paperwork to prove it but still we were not moved to the room we had booked.
On top of this there is one restaurant for you to eat if you are all inclusive, which is a buffet restaurant for all three meals. The food was poor, limited choice and was always luke warm never hot and none of the food was covered which meant flys were free to land on the food.
Also for all inclusive there is one bar in the whole hotel where you can get your drinks from, but if you want water there is an additional charge of 1euro 20..
We ate outside of the hotel 4 out of our 6 nights we were there, which completely defeats the object of all inclusive but was the best option..
The pools were nice, and we managed to get sunbeds even later on in the morning around the adults only pool. But the adults only pool wasn't adults only and children were free to use it when they wanted.
The rooms were cleaned daily and clean towels were available eveyday.
The beach was nice, if you stick to the left hand side imediately in front of the hotel then the sea is lovely, but the further you head down the beach its very rocky and difficult to get in to the water as the rocks are so slippy..

Overall we were very disappointed with our holiday from the start. We chose this hotel as it was 5* but I would rate this as a 3* at the most.
Poor food, unhelpful staff, limited bars and places to eat ( if you choose all inclusive), and over priced for the actual standard you find.. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSH567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platanias
2.3 mi away
Cretan Dream Royal
Cretan Dream Royal
#2 of 22 in Stalos
462 reviews
81.3 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Blue Dome Hotel
Blue Dome Hotel
#8 of 69 in Platanias
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Panorama Hotel - Chania
0.3 mi away
Sunrise Village Hotel
Sunrise Village Hotel
#3 of 69 in Platanias
313 reviews
0.8 mi away
Minoa Palace Resort & Spa
Minoa Palace Resort & Spa
#1 of 69 in Platanias
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
Address: The Beach Front, Platanias, Crete 730 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Platanias
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Platanias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 322
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Platanias Beach Hotel Platanias
Porto Beach
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing