We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice family hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 68 Hotels in Platanias
Porto, Porto, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very nice family hotel”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Excelent staff. Excelent food with wide variety of choice always freshly made.
Guest relations are excelent and with a very good knowledge of what to do and to accomodate all our requests.
The facilities are new and there is great care with the building. Very quiet hotel and the management has the care to dime some lights after dinner to allow a more resting/calm environment.
Location just in front of the beach with excelent access although sunbeds are too close to each other. Swimming pools are great and the hotel has a specific swiming pool just for adults.
The Spa has exclent conditions with fantastic therapists. Very relaxing.
The rooms could have bigger bathrooms. The TV should have more english speaking channels.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Afonso D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    326
    182
    58
    25
See reviews for
341
382
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Having just returned from a 10 night stay at the Porto Platanias Hotel, I cannot find any words other than praise for the hotel and the staff.

Hotel is spotless, excellently located, staff are friendly, wide choice of food in buffet restaurants and Panayiotis the barman is a star - Thanks for the Mojitos and Melon Mojitos !

If your going to Chania, stay at the Porto Palazzo - cant say more than that

Room Tip: I stayed in room 315 - good sized room and 30 x12 balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Next to the beach, friendly to families with young children! Clean, cozy only a few minutes from the center of platanias. We were all day on the beach and children had a wonderful time. We had Lunch and dinner in reasonable prices and very good food quite close to the hotel, Carpe Diem restaurant. It's on the beach with excellent service.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We like the hotel and the facilities in general. We booked a familyroom with balcony. We only used the balcony to dry our towels due to its placement. The bathroom had moisture damage and room unfinished repaint/maintenance. I would say 3-4 stars on room would be fair, and hotel 4-5. Good breakfast but very expencive dinner buffet, I would never recommend all inclusive. Try all the good resturants in Platanias for half the price.

The pool was ok, but few sunbeds, which always was reserved by people that got up early an left the towels there to reserve it. Sometimes staff removed them, because it was "illegal", but that was rare, we noticed that happened once in a week.

The room was way to expencive for the standard. I could go to Porto Platanias again, but I would have required a much better room if I was to pay the same. We prefere a room were we can relax and enjoy beeing on vacation, this room wasnt it.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank JLarsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We spent the second week of our family holiday here (our first week was in Rethymon). First impressions were very good, helpful reception staff, plenty of parking. I had arranged for a bottle of champagne and a cake for our room as it was our wedding anniversary, this was done, with a heart balloon, a lovely message from the management and a free entrance to the spa with 20% discount on treatments.
The rooms were fine, not as luxurious as the other 5 star hotel we had just been in. There was no tea and coffee. the balcony was large.
There were 5 pools, one was adults only, one had music playing, one we did not find until our penultimate day and one more smaller one. Unfortunately, even though there was that many pools, there was never enough sunbeds. there are notices around everywhere saying d not save your sunbed. One day the bell boy came and removed all the towels saving beds, it was great, it only happened the once though.
very disappointing that this 5* hotel charged €8 for a set of sunbeds with umbrella's. Saying that, we went down one day as there wasn't any beds around the pools and there were no beds on the beach either.
I was surprised at how much the spa was, I had read that there was a charge when i booked the hotel, however it was €15 for 3 hours, the treatment prices were about normal. I did not want to pay that charge so did not use the spa. i did get a massage from a woman on the Platanias road, she was very good, it as €45 for a hour.
I love Platanias, we stayed at the Minoa Palace last year but we could not afford it for the four of us. Platanias has lots of bars and resturants, all really friendly. Our boys are 21 & 18, they went out almost every night after we had had dinner, they got home at 6am most mornings as some of the bars party party, it is really safe though, they are not nightclubs, people do not get ludicrously drunk, there are very few British there, most people are Scandanavian.
At the hotel there was a great barman, Paniyotis - he was really friendly, made us some fab cocktails and was really interesting to talk to.
We had a car so went off to different places, we went to Falassanara beach, Bali Beach, Souda Bay, the war cemetry. We also took the bus into Chania, it is €1.90 one way per person. The harbor is like Rethymon, there are lots of lovely bars and resturants, lots of shops. the town is lovely to walk round. It is very close to the bus station and really worth a visit or two.
All in all a really good trip to Crete was had by all of us.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milliecope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The hotel is very good in Greece but not 5 star hotel "in the western world". Rooms and pools are good, the breakfast is good, but the staff has 90% a little bit too "proud" attitude to the customers. There are 5 nice pools and one of them for adults only. Unfortunately all the customers can not read in English or they just don't care about this and the staff says nothing to them even though there are enough other pool areas for the noisy kids. Anyway a very good choice in Platanias.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeskuT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Our apartment was lovely and spacious and very clean - The hotel was massive with lots of pools so never crowded and we LOVED the adult pool. Sometimes people reserved the sunbeds with towels despite the signs everywhere however we just moved them if that was the case! The room had little natural light but after a few days we were glad of this as it was a lovely retreat from the blazing hot sun. Air con was great. Food amazing and staff attentive and helpful. Especially Katriana one of the main greeters in the restaurant...We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Our apartment was to the left of the hotel past the bar and was really big with a seperate dining ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marnie2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platanias
1.6 mi away
CHC Galini Sea View
CHC Galini Sea View
#5 of 31 in Agia Marina
803 reviews
2.9 mi away
Asterion Hotel Suites and Spa
0.3 mi away
Blue Dome Hotel
Blue Dome Hotel
#7 of 68 in Platanias
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
84.2 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#6 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,979 reviews
0.4 mi away
Indigo Mare
Indigo Mare
#18 of 68 in Platanias
230 reviews
0.8 mi away
Minoa Palace Resort
Minoa Palace Resort
#1 of 68 in Platanias
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
Address: The Beach Front, Platanias, Crete 730 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Platanias
#6 Luxury Hotel in Platanias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 322
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Platanias Beach Hotel Platanias
Porto Beach
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing