We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunprime Platanias Beach
Ranked #10 of 69 Hotels in Platanias
Certificate of Excellence
Denmark
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Just returning after a wonderful week at Sunprime Platanias. It is a great hotel if you want to relax and enjoy with your partner or family. This is not a hotel for families with children as there is a 16 years age limit. This also means that it is very quiet and also at the outskirts of Platanias. 15 minutes walk into center with plent of good restaurants.
Breakfast is very good with plenty of choices. Food otherwise is also good, but we ate mainly in the center of Platanias. Hotel s very spacious and has a good pool area. Beach is rocky so bathing shoes is a must here. Staff is great and very friendly. Cleaning is excellent and this goes for the whole resort. In my opinion this is almost a 5 star hotel and has my best recommodation.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank TBR70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    70
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
29
100
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Good bungalows, friendly staff, excellent meals, cosy place. And it was so nice to walk in the village by evening. But direct entry to the sea was bad, unfortunately. It was a hard problem for the children.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank karajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Very good hotel, value for money, real 4* hotel, food is appropriate for the hotel category, good position, correct sandy beach, good pools, garden, free parking etc.
The problem was with the waves, almost 2m high, cuase 7 out of 10 days red flag and forbidden swimming, life guard was on duty all day. With the car you can reach many excellent beaches where there were no waves(Marathi, Louthraki, Stavros, Matala), unavoidable Elafinissi, Falissarna etc.
Chania is 12km distante from Platanias where the hotel is situated, cute city with nice old town and harbour, live streets, tavernas, cafes, all with style and taste.
Defenately Crete island you must see at least twice in order to discover all hidden beauties.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank miki095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We had very relaxing and wonderful two weeks with my wife here at Apladas Beach. Couple fairly minor issues didnt spoil the overall experience and we can warmly recommend this hotel to couples and also to families with children.

To my eyes the main thing is that the hotel, the facility itself and staff at the hotel are second to none. Garden and grass is well kept - you can see that the gardener is real pro. Similarly pool area was always clean and sun beds were in good shape.

Our room was at the ground level close to the pool and as upper level rooms do have balcony, we enjoyed the terrace - im sure both are nice, and probably at upper level rooms you may even have a view to the sea..but never mind, we didnt spend that much time in hotel room and Im sure its not a big deal for majority of the travellers either.

Building (corridors, reception area, lobby, terrace bar etc) is clean and in good condition (especially compared to many other hotels in the area - ofcourse not 100% trustworthy analysis, didnt obviously check all the hotels in the area, but what I personally saw couple of them only Minoa Palace can beat this).

Room was quite large and air conditioning worked really well, also housekeepers did wonderful job throughout our stay. TV is small and old, but again didnt come to watch telly so it didnt really bother us. Bathroom was very ok. What I loved the most was our ground level rooms terrace at the evenings. Perhaps good to mention one minor issue was that the noise (very common problem pretty much every hotel in Greece, the building technicue just isnt the best in this) comes through from the corridor and upper floors. Especially east european kids cant behave and they yell and scream all night, all day.. but I got used to it, but having said that I can undersand it may bother some people a lot. I also hate bad behaving kids, especially when their parents dont have any sense how to keep them in order or worse dont even care - ok, i better not go into this.. hotel cant do much about it.

Huge thanks and respect for the staff in the reception and in the restaurants. Also hotel managers are top notch - both seem to work long days and are always available if needed. These all people at Apladas Beach Hotel really do amazing job and hotel has succeeded in getting really good people working there. We had this all-inclusive package (as I guess pretty much 90% of the guests there) and I have to say it worked really well - pool bar offered a variety of soft drinks and other drinks (and at afternoon icecream and coffee and some sweet bread etc.) while at the pool or at the hotels beach area, as well as at the evening the terrace bar similarly. Good service, good attitude!

All in all very nice experience and if we would travel again to Crete this would definately be our choice.

Highlights in good and bad:

+ facilities are clean and in good shape, fantastic lobby and nice restaurant and amazingly comfortable pool bar
++ staff second to none, really special thanks to them!
+++ pool area and beach area is fantastic

- they mention they have fitness room..dont think you can train there at all, extremely poor equipment and they shouldnt mention this in any marketing material. Not a big deal, but again I think its good to mention if someone chooses this hotel in idea of training there at the mornings or so on, this isnt the place and it dissapoints a big time then - forget it.
- - WiFi is slow and unreliable, doesnt reach very far..to use it you basically have to sit at the lobby and yes it costs also some euros, which isnt a big deal at all, but the functionality and the price = these days you could expect better. Good thing is that you pretty much tend to forget your computer and during vacation its healthy not to use internet.
- - - Level of food at the restaurant was nowhere close to the level of the hotel and its staff. I think its actually ridiculous they offer so crap cuisine, feels like the kitchen has totally lost their motivation. Ok, close to the hotel you can find fantastic restaurants like Stavlos, but many of you may get a bit dissapointed especially if you calculate you would eat almost every time in hotel restaurant. Its far from traditional well made Greek cuisine IMHO. We many times just had the lunch and went out for the dinner.

+++++ Sun,beach and pools and just simply perfect sea.. thats something which nothing can beat, its really worth it.

- - - - - Platanias itself is quite boring, dont expect too much.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank George081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Hotel is all in one. It fits in Cretan beauty, elegant.. silent..unintrusive..and impressive..great service, location, and staff..few meters to the beach..walking distance from Platanias..and close to most beautiful beaches in Crete. Hope one day to return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Light2901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We lived on the first floor with garden view and robbed at night during sleep. However as several other rooms on the same floor.

The administration doesn't made any excuses. The owner even doesn't came out to talk to.
The hotel doesn't have nor security nor even fence.

Very noisy air conditioner. Rocky beach.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Marino_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

This hotel is very good one. I stayed there in June for 7 days. The weather was simply amazing. Not too hot, but you can swim.
The rooms are clean and nice. The food is very tasty and they cook different dishes every day, a lot of fruits, juice.
The location is very good, Platanias is a small tourist city, but if you will take a bus (very comfortable, a stop near the hotel, you pay only for the distance you travel) you can go to any city. For example: a bus to the Hania costs under 1 Euro. Pay attention that blue bus-is an intercity bus, but a green one is "inside city" bus, meaning local. Both are very good with air condition.
Also on the photos it`s not very green, but it was a long time ago. Now the palm trees are big and there are a lot of them.
Nice beach, own one with nobody around, no noise, very picturesque.
We lived in ground floor and it was nice. It was a terrace, if I can say so, and there a table and chairs, so we could enjoy tea "in the garden". It was our own terrace (like a balcony but on the ground).
Crete is a very beautiful island, one of the most interesting among Greek islands. And Apladas beach is a very-very good hotel.
Oh, besides, it has a lovely owner. And people who work there are very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nataliafromkiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platanias
1.0 mi away
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Blue Dome Hotel
Blue Dome Hotel
#8 of 69 in Platanias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.6 mi away
Indigo Mare
Indigo Mare
#17 of 69 in Platanias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Silver Beach Hotel
Silver Beach Hotel
#3 of 11 in Gerani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sunrise Village Hotel
Sunrise Village Hotel
#4 of 69 in Platanias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
3.0 mi away
Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunprime Platanias Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunprime Platanias Beach

Property: Sunprime Platanias Beach
Address: Platanias, Crete 73014, Greece (Formerly Apladas Beach Hotel)
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Platanias
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Platanias
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunprime Platanias Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunprime Platanias Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apladas Beach Chania
Sunprime Platanias Beach Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing