We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Average”
Review of Dos Amigos

Dos Amigos
Ranked #96 of 140 Restaurants in Platanias
Price range: US$9 - US$31
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Dined in Dos Amigos Platanios Chana Crete just the once a very nice place the service was quite quick and staff friendly and efficient. Had the Fajitas they were quite good but on the value for money side of things were not really worth it

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank matthelm97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kostas A, Ιδιοκτήτης at Dos Amigos, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014
Google Translation

Σασ ευχαριστω. Θα χαρω πολυ να σας ξαναδω!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 57 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

Visited this restaurant with my friend and we really enjoyed our meal. We both ordered burritos one minced meat and the other veggie. Each serving had two fat burritos with a side of rice, greens and red beans it was yummy. The service was lovely and the decor of the restaurant was beautiful. Along with a fresh orange juice and a glass of wine our bill was 29 euros thought that was excellent for the amount of food that we had. Would definitely go back again. The restaurant is situated in the main square of platanias and it is not on ground level but on the 1st floor of the building.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kostas A, Ιδιοκτήτης at Dos Amigos, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014
Google Translation

Σας ευχαριστω ελπιζω να σας ξαναδουμε συντομα!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Try the burrito with minced meat!!!! Absolutely excellent!!!!! Ask for margarita frozen!!!! Lemon or strawberry are excellent!!!!!!!!!

1  Thank Manolis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kostas A, Ιδιοκτήτης at Dos Amigos, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

thank you manolis!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We got tired of greek food during our vacation, so Dos amigos is a very great place to get som mexican tex mex. We all had some sort of tacos in both soft tortillas and crispy. Everyone was satisfied with the food quality and the service. To drink we prefered mexican beer,(sol, and corona). The kids also enjoyed their meal and it was a fair price. The service was great and the food came quickly.. easy choice later..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank auper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kostas A, Ιδιοκτήτης at Dos Amigos, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014
Google Translation

Ευχαριστω για το σχολιο σας σας περιμενουμε ξανα στο χωρο μας!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I will begin by saying that Dos Amigos is more of a tex-mex restaurant rather than a real mexican restaurant. Secondly, this is a 3-star restaurant but it gets a fourth star because it managed to provide very good service and decent food at the peak of the tourist season in the midst of a tourist trap, and that is laudable.

Restaurant: The restaurant is in the middle of the tourist-trap square of Platanias, close to Chania. Everything in the area is flashy, illuminated and loud including the local bar-hopping crowds that travel from bar to bar becoming increasingly inebriated. Lucky for you, Dos Amigos is not on ground level but on the first floor of the building which somehow shields much of the noise from below without sacrificing the vibe of the street below, especially if you sit outside. The restaurant is modern in its decoration avoiding Mexican clichés (unless of course you want to take a photo wearing a sobrero in which case you can get one from the entrance). Toilets were spot clean and that is worth mentioning.

Food: The food came in better than average portions, was cooked on the hour (not preheated) and they accommodated all of our special requests. We had many items from the menu and non of them were bad. I cannot claim that the food was the best mexican I had ever eaten (or the best tex-mex or anything of the mexicanesque variety) but it was much better than what you would expect from a Mexican restaurant in a tourist destination at the peak of the tourist season and that was a huge plus. The margaritas were generous, fresh and with a good punch of tequila.

Service: Our waiters were friendly, courteous, spoke greek (this is a big deal if you come from Cyprus where most of the waiters do not speak the native tongue, but don't get me started...) knew the menu by heart and did everything else in their power to accommodate a group of people unfamiliar with mexican cuisine and wanting less spicy food, all the sauces and all dressings on the side.

Overall: If you are with friends then its a good place to go for margaritas It wouldn't be the most romantic place to visit as a couple but it should be on your list if you just want out to go out somewhere casually for a drink or two. Remember, this is a 3-star restaurant that stands its ground in a tourist trap without service or cleanliness and that's worth an extra star for the effort.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank FinickyCypriot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kostas A, Ιδιοκτήτης at Dos Amigos, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014
Google Translation

Σας ευχαριστω για τα καλα σας λογια! σας περιμενουμε ξανα κοντα μας!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dos Amigos also viewed

 
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 
Kolymbari, Platanias
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Dos Amigos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing