We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worthy visit”
Review of Barbas Thomas

Barbas Thomas
Ranked #5 of 136 Restaurants in Platanias
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean, Pizza
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worthy visit”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

After reading the other reviews my partner and I tried this place looking for good Greek food at a reasonable price. We were not disappointed. The crazy salad and Greek meal for two along with a bottle of the house red was a fantastic meal. This was matched equally with friendly service and a great atmosphere.

Helpful?
1 Thank ben t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    66
    24
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Habo
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food in the middle of Platanias”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Their cooked lamb was really something to recommend. Greek salad and moussaka too. Service was excellent!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank L0Ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great restaurant!!!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Don't get fooled by the sign outside the restaurant - this place is quality all through! We have enjoyed traditional greek food as well as pizza and hamburgers there, and the food has always been so incredibly well cooked. The service is outstanding too. I can't think of a better place to recommend. The place is almost worth the trip to Crete by itself....

Helpful?
1 Thank Fredrik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kouvola, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Service is great! You feel welcomed every time. Pizzas are the best I have ever tasted! If you haven't tasted lamb, I recommend lamb chops of Barbas Thomas.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Katri134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Food & Service”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Went for lunch at Barbas Thomas @ reading reviews here , was well worth searching out, a small very friendly family run taverna .It gave off a really good feeling from the moment you walked in .just sited above the main road in Platanias up a few steps .The Pizza was fantastic will certainly visit again next year .
The whole menu looked great & the staff & facilities were very good .

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1089collector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barbas Thomas also viewed

Platanias, Chania Prefecture
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Barbas Thomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing