We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wish you were here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Geraniotis Beach Hotel
Ranked #24 of 69 Hotels in Platanias
Zabrze
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“wish you were here”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Pro:
1. Food: excellent, every day something else, tasty local meals
2. The hotel is especially good for children: large playground, mini disco, aqua aerobic, animations
3. Kind and helpful staff, friendly, informal atmosphere
4. Location: You can reach Chania by local bus, possible half - day car tours to beautiful, wild locations of the Western Crete
Cons:
Don't choice this hotel if you consider essential formally suited door keeper :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank klaudia_jadwiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    62
    32
    10
    1
See reviews for
75
53
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Drammen, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Location is pretty good. The entire town/ area is built for tourists. Hotel would be great for older couples or families with small children. For younger couples such as us, i would recommend anything else. The rooms were very disappointing. We were shown to our first room and asked right away for a for an upgrade. (the room smelt like mold and had a very cold patio-stone floor. The room we got next was a little better. It had a decent bed but not much else. Poor noise insulation, 12" TV. The bathroom was disgusting, The "shower" was a little corner with a hand-held sprayer. Toilet was very very old and leaked. Satisfactory cleaning but a very deceptive front desk staff who gave poor recommendations.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swarzedz, Poland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

I have choosen this hotel becouse of location. I liked visited west part of Creta and this place is ideal, moreover is close to airport in Chania. Hotel is a little bit on the subarbia of Platanias in quiet neighbourhood. Another advantage is location of bus stop wich is only 100m from hotel. That what I liked very much was great green area and about 100m length access to the beach. This caused that always you can find place little bit priavte. The beach is sandy. In hotel There are 2 swimming poolS and swimming pool for children. Attantion! if you like train snoorking is idel for you becouse one of the pool has 2,9m depth.The service is very friendly and helpfull general atmosphere in hotel is very relaxed. Breakfast dinners and suppers are very tasty and diversifided. Always you can get typical continental dishes and typical cretan food. rooms are tidy an clear regulary. GOOD HOTEL!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agtom8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Råde
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

The hotel sits right next to the beach and just 10-15 minutes walking from the town center. Nice, clean rooms, all close to pools and the beach. The staff is nice and helpful and the food is generally good. We had the all inclusive program and feared we'd be eating the same for every meal, but that was not the case. The kitchen offered a nice variation both for lunch and dinner. Some of it was not quite as warm as you'd wish, but there's always something else. And with the town center and all of its restaurants so close, it's no big deal to find other places to eat, for a change. One drawback to mention, at least for the rooms in the main building, is that the doors are really thin and don't really block any sound from the corridors. As the corridors are all stone, you really hear anything going on... If your neighbor gets up early, you probably do as well.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building have non existing sound insulation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BGrim47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Gorica, Slovenia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Good location, just 15 minutes from the town center.Excellent food, friendly staff, clean rooms.Highly The weather was great, the sea warm (25 ° C). We were from 15 - 29 September.
Recommend this hotel,especially for older couples and couples with children.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank boris-tanja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hokksund, Norway
Level Contributor
164 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Geraniotis Beach Hotel is situated at the western outskirts of Platanias, not far from the Gerani village. It is a 10 to 15 minutes walk from Platanias main square. It consist of several 2 storey buildings. All are close to the pool areas.

We were friendly received by the reception ladies. We were given a room in the reception building. We were not fully satisfied with the bathroom and asked if we could change. We got a new room with a showercabinet the next day.

The hotel rooms are all approximateley the same size, but some has a bath tub and some have a shower cabinet. The bed had a mattress slightly too hard for our liking. There is a build-in fridge in the room. The fridge got colder if you kept the outside shelt-door open to get rid of the heat from the fridge. Some rooms have a deposit box. We got the key from the reception free of charge.

There are also 2 room appartments in the hotel. These are bigger and nice for families with kids.

There are two pool areas. Both have a children pool. There is a 3 meter sunbed-free tiled area around both pools. The sunbeds are placed under palmblade umbrellas on the large greenarea. This was a very good solution. You did not have to go around sunbeds to reach the pool and despite some rough playing in the pool you were not unintendedly wet. However, during out 2 week stay, we never say anyone wash the tiled areas. The poolds were vacuum cleaned occasionly, but then during busy using times. There are room for some improvements here. The hotel do not have suntowels, so bring your own.

The becah is only 50 meters from the pool area. The beach is sandy except for a 2 - 3 meter pebble area just before and after you reach the water. During the afternoon the sand gets very hot, so maybe it will be wise to bring some bathing shoes.

The greenarea also contains a playground and a football pitch.

We were in the hotel with an all inclusive package. You get breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets. The food is average. They do occasionly arrange a Ctetan evening. These evenings are better than normal with BBQ dishes. From 10 am to midnight you get free drinks from the pool bar, where Andrea takes good care of everybody during daytime. During daytime you can also get iceream, toast / snacks and cakes if you have bought the all inclusive package.

There is also a small supermarket in the hotel.

The hotel has free Wi-Fi covering all inside and outside areas. It was very unstable the first week of our stay. We did not have any coverage at all in the room the first week-end. After some complaints they immidiately upgraded the network and it worked perferctly - until the last day - when it again failed. I hope thay have fixed the problem permanently by now.

Check out the internet page http://www.geraniotisbeach.com

Room Tip: The rooms in the reception building seem to be a bit older than the surrounding buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eskog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmö
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We have been to Crete a few times before, but this was the first time with our 10 month-old daughter. When we booked our trip (charter), we researched the hotels available and decided that Geraniotis had the best options for us. I will not discuss the charter-trip bit here as this is something for another day. I will focus on what the Hotel had to offer us and our little one. We had one of the apartments (one bedroom) with a large bathroom and an adequate kitchen. Some nights we went out for dinner and some we stayed in and cooked. Both worked just fine, although I wish the kitchen had more working space. There is a TV in the room, but it is nothing to brag about. However, we never felt the need to watch TV anyway. The hotel offers all-inclusive, half-pension or breakfast only and we decided to have breakfast only included. Nice breakfast buffet, although not as many fruits as we thought there would be. Maybe later in the season there might be more options. Nevertheless, we had plenty to choose from. The staff was very nice and friendly and attentive. And I mean, not only the breakfast staff, but everyone that we met. The hotel has a nice green lawn all the way to the beach, with swimming pools and enough sunbeds. The option to stay on the beach or on the green lawn (grass) and take the short walk to the beach/sea is yours. There is a supermarket (Lidl) just on the other side of the street and even a small groceries store within the hotel with enough products and good prices. The attending lady is very friendly and speaks good English. Our daughter was well received anywhere in the Hotel and the staff seemed to honestly care about kids and make the effort to play with them. We truly appreciated that. The walk into Platanias is fine and takes no more than 10/15mins. Just remember, it is an all-inclusive Hotel and serves a big charter company. You will meet all kinds of people in such place. There are plenty of other hotels in the area to choose from and certainly better ones. For our holiday, this one was perfect and very easy going. And that is exactly what we wanted. Would easily return to Geraniotis beach Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ripwave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platanias
0.6 mi away
Blue Dome Hotel
Blue Dome Hotel
#8 of 69 in Platanias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.5 mi away
Indigo Mare
Indigo Mare
#16 of 69 in Platanias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
1.1 mi away
Silver Beach Hotel
Silver Beach Hotel
#3 of 11 in Gerani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Lambrinos Suites
Lambrinos Suites
#37 of 69 in Platanias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
2.4 mi away
Santa Marina Beach Hotel
Santa Marina Beach Hotel
#6 of 31 in Agia Marina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geraniotis Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geraniotis Beach Hotel

Property: Geraniotis Beach Hotel
Address: Platanias, Crete 73014, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Platanias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Geraniotis Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Geraniotis Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geraniotis Beach Hotel Platanias, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing