We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean hotel. Ok food, very large area for children”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Geraniotis Beach Hotel
Ranked #23 of 68 Hotels in Platanias
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Pros:
Good location, laidback, very nice view, lots of activities for kids, nice pool and bar, has everything closeby. Nice rooms if you get the best ones.

Cons:
A bit slow service, rubbish Wifi, little variety in breakfast.

Stayed 1 week, and was satisfied overall. It's located at the end of the Platanias main area, in a quiet green lung. But still near the restaurants an nifty shops in the main street, no walking distance really.

We where fortunate to choose a couple of rooms on the east side, which where considerably more welcoming than the first room they showed us in the main building. Balcony with partial seaview, and nice bathroom with a tub. Room was clean enough, and aircondition fast and reliable. The Wifi was rubbish and was working maybe 30% of the time.

We only had breakfast at the hotel, which was ok. Not the best variety, but nothing shabby. The restaurant area is very nice though.

The staff was polite and welcoming, but I was a bit disappointed over their lack of professionality at one point. I delivered some clothes for their washing service, and they not only managed to deliver the clothes 1 day overdue, but there where also some t-shirts missing. Got it all back in the end, but I was expecting better service than that.

I think this hotel is suitable for all, but since there's a big playground area between the hotel and the beach, it's perfect for families with small children. Was myself happy to find a gym with some dumbbells and other fitness gear on the left wing. The pool area and bar is very nice and laidback. The beach is also very close (maybe 50 m from the pool area). Not perfect sandy, but bathing shoes aren't really necessary,

Room Tip: Better rooms on the east side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kickflip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 26 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

It may not be fancy, but we found this to be a good hotel in a quiet location. Might seem like you're out in the sticks, but I rather enjoyed it. And it's not all that far from the airport :D We enjoyed our stay, and would easily recommend this to others.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank j_pensionner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Pro:
1. Food: excellent, every day something else, tasty local meals
2. The hotel is especially good for children: large playground, mini disco, aqua aerobic, animations
3. Kind and helpful staff, friendly, informal atmosphere
4. Location: You can reach Chania by local bus, possible half - day car tours to beautiful, wild locations of the Western Crete
Cons:
Don't choice this hotel if you consider essential formally suited door keeper :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank klaudia_jadwiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Location is pretty good. The entire town/ area is built for tourists. Hotel would be great for older couples or families with small children. For younger couples such as us, i would recommend anything else. The rooms were very disappointing. We were shown to our first room and asked right away for a for an upgrade. (the room smelt like mold and had a very cold patio-stone floor. The room we got next was a little better. It had a decent bed but not much else. Poor noise insulation, 12" TV. The bathroom was disgusting, The "shower" was a little corner with a hand-held sprayer. Toilet was very very old and leaked. Satisfactory cleaning but a very deceptive front desk staff who gave poor recommendations.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

I have choosen this hotel becouse of location. I liked visited west part of Creta and this place is ideal, moreover is close to airport in Chania. Hotel is a little bit on the subarbia of Platanias in quiet neighbourhood. Another advantage is location of bus stop wich is only 100m from hotel. That what I liked very much was great green area and about 100m length access to the beach. This caused that always you can find place little bit priavte. The beach is sandy. In hotel There are 2 swimming poolS and swimming pool for children. Attantion! if you like train snoorking is idel for you becouse one of the pool has 2,9m depth.The service is very friendly and helpfull general atmosphere in hotel is very relaxed. Breakfast dinners and suppers are very tasty and diversifided. Always you can get typical continental dishes and typical cretan food. rooms are tidy an clear regulary. GOOD HOTEL!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agtom8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

The hotel sits right next to the beach and just 10-15 minutes walking from the town center. Nice, clean rooms, all close to pools and the beach. The staff is nice and helpful and the food is generally good. We had the all inclusive program and feared we'd be eating the same for every meal, but that was not the case. The kitchen offered a nice variation both for lunch and dinner. Some of it was not quite as warm as you'd wish, but there's always something else. And with the town center and all of its restaurants so close, it's no big deal to find other places to eat, for a change. One drawback to mention, at least for the rooms in the main building, is that the doors are really thin and don't really block any sound from the corridors. As the corridors are all stone, you really hear anything going on... If your neighbor gets up early, you probably do as well.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building have non existing sound insulation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BGrim47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Good location, just 15 minutes from the town center.Excellent food, friendly staff, clean rooms.Highly The weather was great, the sea warm (25 ° C). We were from 15 - 29 September.
Recommend this hotel,especially for older couples and couples with children.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank boris-tanja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platanias
0.5 mi away
Indigo Mare
Indigo Mare
#21 of 68 in Platanias
246 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Dome Hotel
Blue Dome Hotel
#4 of 68 in Platanias
181 reviews
1.0 mi away
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Silver Beach Hotel
Silver Beach Hotel
#4 of 11 in Gerani
173 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lito Beach
Lito Beach
#22 of 68 in Platanias
108 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Blue Sea Apartments
Hotel Blue Sea Apartments
#20 of 68 in Platanias
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geraniotis Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geraniotis Beach Hotel

Address: Platanias, Crete 73014, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Platanias
Price Range: £82 - £552 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Geraniotis Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Geraniotis Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geraniotis Beach Hotel Platanias, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing