We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Minoa Palace Resort
Ranked #1 of 69 Hotels in Platanias
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing Holiday”
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel, gorgeous rooms and grounds.

Food is buffet style, we stayed on a half board basis and there was something new and delicious to try every meal!

Lovely relaxed bars, yummy cocktails and bar snacks.

Your every need catered for!

Mythos Piano Bar is a must for post or pre dinner drink!

Great location, can stroll into Platanias, or get bus for €1.90 to Chania.

Beach is lovely.

Would love to visit again one day and will definitely be recommending to friends.

Thank you to all the lovely friendly people of Minoa Palace!


Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    735
    264
    50
    17
    8
See reviews for
347
550
20
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

If you want to spend some nice days in the sun on a beach with all amenities nearby, great breakfast, nice room and service Minoa is the place for you.
We've stayed in an oceanview room with a plunge pool - the newer part of the hotel - and were really satisfied with everything. The staff of the hotel were very friendly, attentive and efficient.

Be aware however that Platanias couldn't get more touristy than it is. Nothing nice to write about it really. Restaurants with picture menues in all Nordic languages, shops selling sun screan for €20 etc. Not worth trying to find a nice place to eat here if you've been to "the real Greece". Should I ever go back to Platanias I would just most probably eat my dinner in the hotel or go in to Chania.

There is a very easy bus connection between Platanias and Chania. It takes about 20 mins and costs I gues €1.50. The bus stop is just outside the hotel.

All in all, as said, if you want to have some sun, beach and a nice hotel Minoa is great.

Room Tip: Go for the ocean fron side of the hotel as the other side is more "resorty resort" whith l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank odenisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level 6 Contributor
364 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Bottom line – Nice hotel, good location, friendly staff and would have no problem recommending. More detail follows……..

The Minoa Palace is situated at the edge of Platanias, which is around 12 kilometres West of Chania and is close to shops (including a Lidl supermarket), restaurants and bars. The hotel is in two parts divided by the coast road, the newer building is on the beach side with the original complex set back behind the road – a high level bridge links the two buildings. I stayed in the older side in a Garden View ‘Bungalow’.

The room (and double bed – 4’6”) was smaller than I expected from a hotel of this class, but was spotlessly clean and had all you need for a holiday bath, shower, AC, Safe, Tea / Coffee, Fridge, TV and Wi-Fi. I had e-mailed the hotel two weeks before my arrival in an attempt to get a room meeting my requirements and asking about up-grades – unfortunately they never replied (a lost opportunity on their part as I was willing to pay extra!). To be fair to the hotel they offered to change our room when we raised the matter, but nothing available met our needs, so we stayed in our allocated room. Housekeeping was good but not perfect and a number of small omissions meant we had to raise the issue with reception, things improved immediately and we certainly never ran out of anything again – although we never did get the evening towel replacement, turndown service or chocolates on our pillows, which seems to be reserved for higher category rooms or returning clients (a shame really because, given the rest of the offering is good, it’s often the small things that people remember and might just bring them back as a repeat customer).

The hotel has a spacious feel and despite being full never seemed busy. Tables for breakfast and dinner were easy to come by as were sunbeds and spots in and around the bar of an evening!

The staff at the hotel are all polite, friendly and eager to please. They are all so good it is a little unfair to pick any out, but the restaurant manager Nikolas was great and has a fantastic team working for him. If you visit you must try out both the Kafenion (by the chapel) where Kostas will make you feel like a regular and share the odd glass of Raki and a story with you and the beach-side adult only restaurant overseen by Kyriakos which makes for a very pleasant change, whether eating off the set menu or from the impressive Al a Carte.

The buffet food in the main restaurant is very good and varied enough to suit most diets; themed nights (linked to entertainment) provide focus for your evening – if you chose that approach. In common with most buffets you do get an element of works-canteen feel and it’s difficult to have a leisurely meal, more so as there were lots of young (mostly well behaved) children in the hotel whilst we were there.

Didn't use Spa but looked good and has indoor pool if you need it (outside pools are good but a tad chilly!).

The hotel is well placed to visit Chania (take any bus from the stop just outside hotel main entrance to the main bus terminal in Chania – 2 Euro) which is a must do both for a day and a night visit. If you like eating out try Tamam just back from the harbour side (booking advisable).
Bus apart the hotel is close to the New National Road (Left out of hotel, pass Lidl, over bridge, first Left and the main road can be found at the top of that road) and I would recommend hiring a car as there is much to see along the west coast and in the mountains. Try Budget Hire (just along from the hotel) who offer FDW and goods rates (see Steven – Greek with a South African Accent. When he shows you the picture……..it’s Donnington. You’ll understand if you go!).

So as I said at start the bottom line is – Nice hotel, good location, friendly staff and would have no problem recommending.

Room Tip: Depends what you want. Pool facing / High Floor / New Block - Just specify and they'll try and m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RandRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This was an excellent hotel complex - not the sort of hotel or resort we'd normally choose, but we wanted somewhere to enforce a complete chill out after spending the beginning of the week sightseeing in Chania Town. We stayed in the newer part of the resort nearer the sea (the Imperial Beach Wing). On arrival in the luxurious reception we were greeted with the amazing news that we had been upgraded to a room with a private outdoor pool. The room was faultless - very spacious, tastefully decorated and spotless, with a bathroom with the biggest shower cubicle I've ever seen. The private pool was great - what a luxury, it made the room very atmospheric. There was a bottle of wine and bowl of fruit in the room on arrival which was a nice touch. We steered clear of the hotel buffet restaurant near the reception as it seemed very expensive, but we did eat in the smaller hotel restaurant right by the sea one night - it was surprisingly affordable and they were happy to alter one of the dishes on the menu to accommodate vegetarianism! The buffet breakfast next to the sea was superb, with a huge range of choice and delicious food. The landscaping of the hotel is great - it all looks very sleek and has great lighting to create atmosphere by night. The complex as a whole was relatively quiet when we went in May, perhaps why we got an upgrade? There were a few couples there with very small children when we travelled, I wonder whether the main pools and communal areas would get pretty busy in the high season with more families staying. Overall a peaceful and glamorous stay, pretty good value, and we couldn't recommend it enough. An excellent range of facilities - we barely left the hotel for the two days we were there!

Room Tip: Imperial Beach Wing (the part of the complex by the sea) looked better to us - more sleek and modern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous_citybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Compton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a week at the beginning of October and were blown away by the place. As soon as we arrived into the main reception which was beautifully styled and impeccably clean and tidy, Sophia, from the guest relation team greeted us with a huge smile and friendly-ness which was continued by EVERY member of staff throughout the week. We were given all the information we needed for our stay and were taken to our room. When we walked in, it was clear we were in for a good week! The room was very clean, nicely decorated and huge. We had a lovely bathroom with a powerful shower which was always hot, a lovely balcony overlokking the pool area and gardens and a very comfortable bed. The personal touch of a hand-written welcome card with a bottle of wine, fruits and water was really nice.
We were half board so had breakfast and dinner included. The food was to a very high standard, in terms of quality and variety. At breakfast there was always fruits, cereals, yoghurts and a choice of hot food (bacon, eggs etc). We were always greeted at the door and shown to a table, usually by Nikolas (restaurant manager) and another manager-type man, both are a credit to the hotel! Once seated, the waiter/waitress came and filled up our cups with coffee with a smile and a pleasant good morning. At dinner, the selection and variety was great. Two types of soup every night which weren't repeated while we were there, bread selections, superb fresh salads, local Cretan dishes, more fish than I have seen in one place at the same time, different meat dishes every night and lovley vegetables.
The service by the restaurant staff at Breakfast and Dinner was always exceptional, always helpful and the tables were cleared very quickly. The main bar was extravagant and very comfortable. Manolis and Gogo were two brilliant hosts at the bar, so friendly, hospitable and fun! The hotel is split into two with a footbridge over the road. We didn't go accross much, only to vist the beach a couple of times and see the big pool. The beach was lovely and there was alwyas somebody cleaning glasses, tidying the sunloungers and generally making sure the area was kept nice. Both pools were far too cold for us as there we not heated which we thought was a bit of a shame as we literally couldn't stay in there for more than 10 minutes-the sea however was very warm!!

The temperature of the pool and the cost of some of the drinks (expensive) are the only points we could criticise, but they are minor and definitely do not take away from the sheer brilliance of the hotel!

Overall, we had a superb break there and would definitely reccommend it to everybody looking to take a holiday in Crete. It was my girlfriends first time abroad so we wanted to choose somewhere special and we hit the jackpot here! Everybody was so helpful and nice which makes the difference between a good holiday and a brilliant one.
The location was great, just a short and cheap bus ride to Chania which was so beautiful and also to the west, the beaches of Phalasarna are a must see (white and pink sand and water so clear!)

If you are looking for a 5* hotel in Crete, make sure you take a look at the Minoa Palace before you book anywhere-you will be missing out on a certain gem of the beautiful island!!

We will be looking to go back there as soon as we can.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 410 which had a nice view of the pool and garden area. This was in the 'old...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MattyMcneill_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My wife and i stayed at the minoa palace for two weeks in october.
A clean smartly presented hotel with friendly well organised staff.
We stayed in the main building with an outlook of the mountains which was fine as we where out more than in.
The hotel has a walkway which crosses the main road to an extended part of the hotel to the beach.
The halfboard dinning was more than adequate using the buffet resturant although there are other restuarants within the building with ala carte service.
The pool areas are clean and spacious with plenty of loungers to go round .
My only gripe is the cost of drinks are rather expensive within the hotel so a short walk to the local cafes or bars of which are plentiful and friendly as are all cretens kept the cost down and an occasional drink in the hotel was pleasant enough made more so by the friendly staff especially gogo who was perfect hostess.
To sum up are first visit to crete wonderful island with very friendly locals chania worth a visit would dtay here at the minoa palace again highly recommended clean friendly hotel .

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steven t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed at the Minoa Palace two weeks ago for three nights. We had an excellent room certainly to us 5 star.Large space with welcome bottle of wine, water and fruit and decorated to a high standard. Separate shower and bath also of a high standard.We stayed in the new wing which is across the road from the reception and the original part of the hotel. Large balcony with sea views and a very comfortable bed. Tv could be better.Poolside breakfast bar was excellent and was the best we experienced in Greece. Plenty of space to relax at the beach and no cost for sunbeds.Pool of which there are a few was large and never crowded. Beach swimming was good on days that the wind stayed down but on some days the red flag was up and no swimming was permitted. Beach not suitable for small children as there is a sudden decline and waves are very rough knocking some adults down.We used the hotel for seeing western Crete and it was excellent for this.We had hired a car and travelled to Ballos , Phalasarna and Elafonisi beaches.Some of these trips are not for the faint hearted,narrow mountain roads very little space for passing out but quite magnificent views.The only negative with this hotel is the area as it is a bit honky tonk.However with Chania on the doorstep one can visit the beautiful harbor area and all the sights in a few minutes.We will certainly visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weekender R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platanias
38.0 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.8 mi away
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
85.0 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#3 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
104.2 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
6.7 mi away
Avra Imperial Hotel
Avra Imperial Hotel
#1 of 13 in Kolymbari
1,141 reviews
14.9 mi away
Kiani Beach Resort
Kiani Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Kalami
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minoa Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minoa Palace Resort

Property: Minoa Palace Resort
Address: Platanias, Chania, Platanias, Crete 730 14, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Platanias
#1 Luxury Hotel in Platanias
#1 Spa Hotel in Platanias
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Platanias
#4 Family Hotel in Platanias
#4 Romantic Hotel in Platanias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Minoa Palace Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minoa Palace Resort offers majestic views of its surrounding countryside and the White Mountains. To the north, the hotel enjoys panoramic views of the endless beach of Platanias with the shimmering sapphire blue Aegean beyond. With the extension of the hotel in 2008, guests have immediate access to the beach, over the aerial bridge, connecting the two hotel's sections. The luxury and comfort, combined with the attention to detail and the relaxed atmosphere, provide a holiday to remember for a lifetime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Minoa Palace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minoa Palace Resort And Spa
Minoa Palace Platanias
Minoa Palace Hotel Platanias
Minoa Palace Resort Platanias, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing