We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Minoa Palace Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Sunset Suites(Platanias)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mary(Platanias)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Erato(Platanias)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,220)
Filter reviews
1,220 results
Traveller rating
843
289
59
20
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
843
289
59
20
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsimperial winghalf boardprivate poololder partbeach sidethomson repa mountain view roompiano barnew wingmain buildinghead cheftwo weeksguest relationsbusy roadbreakfast and dinneran excellent hotela la carte restaurant
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
407 - 412 of 1,220 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We have just returned from a 10 day stay at the Minoa, we had a beach side room with a private pool, the room and pool were excellent, very high standard, so long as you remember this is a Greek 5 Star hotel, the room service and maid service again was excellent and we took breakfast every day overlooking the Sea at the beach restaurant, the breakfast buffet was again excellent, fresh, plentiful and high quality.

The real plus point of this hotel was it never felt crowded, you did not have to reserve a sun-bed, you could move between pools and beach and always get a sun-bed, this is how all hotels could and should be, and made for very relaxing days.

The Hotel is split by the old road, and is still very busy, there is a bridge linking both sides of the hotel with the reception on the opposite side to the beach, the beach side at times felt a little isolated from the main hotel, but for us that was good, we could not here the road noise as well,

The main resort of Platanias is a few minutes walk away and has plentiful bars and restaurants, we did not eat in the hotel as the prices were much higher than some very high quality restaurants in the resort.

My one criticism of the hotel was that they did not provide a lifeguard on the beach, we noticed that many of the other hotels and apartments did, and given that the Minoa is a quality 5 star hotel, they really should do.

The private beach is very nice, backed by a grass area, it is sandy but became very pebbly at the sea's edge and then drops away very quickly.

One last point, the staff were very friendly, helpful and professional, the hotel is spotless and kept very well.

We hope to return soon

Room Tip: The beach side room are very quite, so long as you request a pool or sea view
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank DMD4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed here for 14 days in June 2014. We had ocean view room in the new part of the hotel. We can recommend this hotel for everyone that appreciate good food, good service and modern facilities. The location on the beach is also a plus. The location is in one end of Platanias which made it be nice and quiet. The only negative experiance we had were the wine and dine evening where the food was a great dissapointment. This is a hotel we would happily use again.

Room Tip: Book room in the new section on the beach. Do not use money on the room with private swimming pool.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

There is really no fault about this holiday. We went to Crete end of June, the hotel was full, but we never felt it was overcrowded, there are so many places to go for a swim or for food, that it is just difficult to believe it's all booked. The service is excellent, people are so friendly and helpful you have to be really picky to find any faults. We saw the Chef of the kitchens on several occasions. He was very approachable and genuinly interested if we liked the food and meals available at the different restaurants and bars. The variety was incredible, but for what concerns me, I could just eat every meal greek salad, cretan cheese and avocados with a big plate of Cretan cherries and watermelon for dessert! The cocktails are also great! If you love ouzo you have to try the Dr Cherry and ask for a spoon to eat these lovely cherries falling at the bottom of the glass :-)
The rooms were very well set, clean and good size. The only difficulty was the small place in the wardrobe, but this might be related to the number of clothes I like to take when I go on holiday..
We had a room with mountain view and it was absolutely gorgeous. The access to the beach and the beach pool and restaurnts passes over the road thru a bridge, really smart solution! I felt real attention to detail and safety, I could let my child go almost everwhere without any fear.
The wireless connection is absolutely everywhere and good quality! You can spotify even on the beach :-)
The gym is a bit of a disappointment, overcrowded in the afternoon and too few machines, just need to plan different timing.
We made one excursion to Chania and one to Elafonissi, this was really worth it, google the pictures and you'll know why..
Really great! I want to go again! Very soon! :-)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Djasta_Prasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

When we checked in we were given a free upgrade to a sea view room with its own private pool. The room was new with everything you would expect from a top hotel. The bathroom was also new with good finishes and product.

Breakfast was served in a restaurant looking over the sea and was a good spread with a lot on offer. Service was very good. We did not eat any other meals at the hotel.

We had a wonderful stay and would highly recommend the hotel which is much more upmarket than the area around it

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ManFromLondon186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I chose this hotel through a travel agency brochure, and I looked at his site, and I'm not mistaken. I thought I was mistaken as taking half, usually I'm used bed and breakfast, but it was a real hit. The food was so good and varied that would be a shame to go somewhere else for dinner. Every day was a food journey through the whole world. The beach is clean, plenty of sun loungers and parasols. Pool neat, large and clean. Cafe restaurant by the beach, fast service, completely tailored for everyone. Restaurant across the coffee bar is excellent. It is possible to substitute dinner for lunch, which is another great option. Hotel reception, super fast and quality service, and plenty of space around the reception for guests.
The only objection is that the new part of the hotel, close to the beach is a little noisier because of the cars that pass between and there is no one from the staff in this part of the hotel so it feels a little insecure.

Room Tip: The best rooms are in the new part of the hotel which overlooks the beach
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vlahovicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews