We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Minoa Palace Resort
Ranked #1 of 69 Hotels in Platanias
Certificate of Excellence
shropshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fab holiday”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Just returned from our fifth time at Mino. Once again excellent service throughout the whole day-nothing is too much trouble. Food is always excellent with a huge variety of world cuisine both at breakfast and dinner. We were half-board and didn't need lunch, but if we needed to eat at lunch then the waiters by the pool will bring you anything or you can eat in the small restaurant by the pool. Our room was pleasant, well furnished, smart bathroom with plenty of accessories and a well stocked bar. Can't wait to go again next year.

Room Tip: Rooms in the old part are quieter than the new part. New part is on the beach front, old part has m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    706
    257
    49
    16
    8
See reviews for
329
536
20
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My wife, 2 daughters (20 and 16) and I stayed recently at the Minoa Palace for a week in early August. Excellent service, the room was nice and right across from the fantastic pool, great breakfast (fresh orange juice, Cretan breakfast, and the more usual hotel buffet - all very good), perfect location to walk to the bustling main street of Platanas and of course to go the beach (very nice beachfront). We opted out of the all inclusive package so that we could discover the region - great starting point to visit Hania (a must, although very crowded in August), Elafonissi (the most beautiful beach we've ever seen, a little over an hour away), and various monasteries. If you want to rent a car, shop around - quotes for 11 days went from Euro 380 - 700 for pretty much the same car!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Indicanswissfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

At this moment, we're enjoying our last afternoon by the pool, after a great week at Minoa Palace. It was our second stay, we came here July 2013 for the first time.

Travelling with 4 adults we got two spacious and nice rooms with a door in between, which was very nice. Good beds, choice of pillows, well stocked minibar (refilled daily), bathroom with even two showers (walk in shower and bathtub shower) and lots of amenities (bath and shower gel, shampoo, conditioner, shoe polish, toothbrush and toothpaste, shaving kit, shower cap, soap, body lotion, sewing kit, nail kit,....).

Food is great in this hotel! Chef Yiannis (very gentle guy) and his team do a great effort to offer high quality buffets, it never gets boring. Cooking class with Yiannis and Vasilis was also an interesting experience to get to know Cretan cuisine.

We stayed at the Imperial Wing, which had a quiet (most of the time, depending on the kids who were around...) pool with sea view : great to relax! Loungers are a bit hard when you're using them for a whole afternoon. Staff really tries to avoid that guests are keeping the loungers occupied by putting towels, but only in the morning. In the afternoon guests are keeping loungers taken and don't show up for a whole afternoon...

You get your drinks (and sometimes watermelon) served by the pool and at the beach. Cocktails are freshly made and of good quality, you get real Coca Cola, Sprite,...

As a returning guest, you get a gift bag in your room on your last night : nice gesture! Every night, there's a turndown service : chocolates on the pillow and new towels.

We loved our second stay and I hope to get back here next year!

Some small points which can even improve the experience :
- we arrived by 00:30 at the hotel and you have to order (and pay) room service to get something to eat (we were in all inclusive). It would be nice if there would be a small salad, sandwich,... in the room.
- WiFi was sometimes really good, sometimes really slow (or even not working).
- the hotel says it offers "ultra all inclusive" : then there shouldn't be so many drinks/cocktails/ice creams that aren't inclusive. Ultra all inclusive means 24/24 food and drinks available. BUT it was definitely a good quality all inclusive!

A special thank you to the very sweet and friendly girl at the reception desk, who got my mom (who's recovering from serieus illness) a room to stay in till we left at 6:45 pm.
And last but not least, a special thank you to Vasilis (maître d'hôtel) who always did great effort to get my mom a nice table in the shade, and with a great sense of humour!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jasmine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We have just returned from a 10 day stay at the Minoa, we had a beach side room with a private pool, the room and pool were excellent, very high standard, so long as you remember this is a Greek 5 Star hotel, the room service and maid service again was excellent and we took breakfast every day overlooking the Sea at the beach restaurant, the breakfast buffet was again excellent, fresh, plentiful and high quality.

The real plus point of this hotel was it never felt crowded, you did not have to reserve a sun-bed, you could move between pools and beach and always get a sun-bed, this is how all hotels could and should be, and made for very relaxing days.

The Hotel is split by the old road, and is still very busy, there is a bridge linking both sides of the hotel with the reception on the opposite side to the beach, the beach side at times felt a little isolated from the main hotel, but for us that was good, we could not here the road noise as well,

The main resort of Platanias is a few minutes walk away and has plentiful bars and restaurants, we did not eat in the hotel as the prices were much higher than some very high quality restaurants in the resort.

My one criticism of the hotel was that they did not provide a lifeguard on the beach, we noticed that many of the other hotels and apartments did, and given that the Minoa is a quality 5 star hotel, they really should do.

The private beach is very nice, backed by a grass area, it is sandy but became very pebbly at the sea's edge and then drops away very quickly.

One last point, the staff were very friendly, helpful and professional, the hotel is spotless and kept very well.

We hope to return soon

Room Tip: The beach side room are very quite, so long as you request a pool or sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DMD4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
136 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed here for 14 days in June 2014. We had ocean view room in the new part of the hotel. We can recommend this hotel for everyone that appreciate good food, good service and modern facilities. The location on the beach is also a plus. The location is in one end of Platanias which made it be nice and quiet. The only negative experiance we had were the wine and dine evening where the food was a great dissapointment. This is a hotel we would happily use again.

Room Tip: Book room in the new section on the beach. Do not use money on the room with private swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

There is really no fault about this holiday. We went to Crete end of June, the hotel was full, but we never felt it was overcrowded, there are so many places to go for a swim or for food, that it is just difficult to believe it's all booked. The service is excellent, people are so friendly and helpful you have to be really picky to find any faults. We saw the Chef of the kitchens on several occasions. He was very approachable and genuinly interested if we liked the food and meals available at the different restaurants and bars. The variety was incredible, but for what concerns me, I could just eat every meal greek salad, cretan cheese and avocados with a big plate of Cretan cherries and watermelon for dessert! The cocktails are also great! If you love ouzo you have to try the Dr Cherry and ask for a spoon to eat these lovely cherries falling at the bottom of the glass :-)
The rooms were very well set, clean and good size. The only difficulty was the small place in the wardrobe, but this might be related to the number of clothes I like to take when I go on holiday..
We had a room with mountain view and it was absolutely gorgeous. The access to the beach and the beach pool and restaurnts passes over the road thru a bridge, really smart solution! I felt real attention to detail and safety, I could let my child go almost everwhere without any fear.
The wireless connection is absolutely everywhere and good quality! You can spotify even on the beach :-)
The gym is a bit of a disappointment, overcrowded in the afternoon and too few machines, just need to plan different timing.
We made one excursion to Chania and one to Elafonissi, this was really worth it, google the pictures and you'll know why..
Really great! I want to go again! Very soon! :-)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Djasta_Prasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

When we checked in we were given a free upgrade to a sea view room with its own private pool. The room was new with everything you would expect from a top hotel. The bathroom was also new with good finishes and product.

Breakfast was served in a restaurant looking over the sea and was a good spread with a lot on offer. Service was very good. We did not eat any other meals at the hotel.

We had a wonderful stay and would highly recommend the hotel which is much more upmarket than the area around it

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ManFromLondon186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platanias
38.0 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.8 mi away
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
104.4 mi away
Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
104.2 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
6.7 mi away
Avra Imperial Hotel
Avra Imperial Hotel
#1 of 13 in Kolymbari
1,105 reviews
14.9 mi away
Kiani Beach Resort
Kiani Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Kalami
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minoa Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minoa Palace Resort

Property: Minoa Palace Resort
Address: Platanias, Chania, Platanias, Crete 730 14, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Platanias
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Platanias
#1 Spa Hotel in Platanias
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Platanias
#4 Romantic Hotel in Platanias
#4 Family Hotel in Platanias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Minoa Palace Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minoa Palace Resort offers majestic views of its surrounding countryside and the White Mountains. To the north, the hotel enjoys panoramic views of the endless beach of Platanias with the shimmering sapphire blue Aegean beyond. With the extension of the hotel in 2008, guests have immediate access to the beach, over the aerial bridge, connecting the two hotel's sections. The luxury and comfort, combined with the attention to detail and the relaxed atmosphere, provide a holiday to remember for a lifetime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Minoa Palace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minoa Palace Resort And Spa
Minoa Palace Platanias
Minoa Palace Hotel Platanias
Minoa Palace Resort Platanias, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing