We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,371)
Filter reviews
1,371 results
Traveller rating
950
318
71
21
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
950
318
71
21
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews imperial wing half board older part private pool piano bar beach side thomson rep mountain view new wing main building guest relations two weeks busy road breakfast and dinner beach restaurant plenty of sunbeds an excellent hotel
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 1,371 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2018

Our family of five stayed in Minoa Palace for one week from 14 to 21 June. Our kids are 11 years, 9 years and 11 months old. We all had a lovely holiday! The location of the hotel is perfect right next to the shops and restaurants of Platanias but still in a peaceful and quiet environment.

We had two rooms with a sea view in the Imperial Beach Wing. The rooms were spacious, spotlessly clean and modern and had a good size balcony with two chairs and a small table. For our needs the rooms had a bit too little storage space for clothes but I guess this is not an issue for the majority. With three kids we had a huge amount of clothes and other stuff. A shelf in the bathroom would be very handy. Otherwise the bathroom leaves no room for improvement, it was just perfect with a separate bath and shower and plenty of space. There was no issue of having water flooding over the floors when you take a shower. The view from the room and the balcony to the sea and the pool was breathtakingly beautiful!

We were staying on half board basis and had breakfast and dinner at the hotel every day. The breakfast was the best start for a day you could ask for. The quality of food was excellent, service very friendly and the view to the sea amazing. We also had a couple of lunches at the beach bar and they were very good. The dinner quality was a bit more varying. We are big friends of Greek food and loved the Cretan and Greek evening menus. The barbecue and Asian evening were also very good but a couple of other evenings pretty average. For me, every evening could be a Cretan or Greek theme evening. Service at the dinner was friendly and there was enough space for everyone whether you wanted to sit indoors or outdoors. Our bigger kids loved the dinner buffet and found plenty to eat every evening. For the baby we brought food from Finland but she also loved eating the lovely fresh fruits and berries from the breakfast and evening buffets. A couple of evenings we went to the beach bar to have drinks after dinner. The prices were pretty high but the drinks very good so it was worth the money for us.

The pools were just lovely and there were enough sunbeds for everyone no matter what time you went to the pool. It was great not having to stress about reserving sunbeds early in the morning and almost everyone complied with the no reservation policy at least in the Imperial side. The hotel has done excellent work on this one and I hope that they will continue to do so.

At first when arriving at the hotel we were a bit concerned whether our bigger kids would like it there as there were no activities targeted at them. There was a kids club but the activities were clearly targeted at a bit smaller kids. However, our daughter and son were happy with swimming and going to the beach and assured us that they did not need any kids club or other activities. The only thing they missed was a games room. We found one next to the WC facilities in the older part of the hotel. It seemed very dated and the location was unpleasant. I am sure the hotel could find a better space for a nicer games room.

Some people have written that they felt that children are not welcome at this hotel. We do not share their view although we did notice a couple of people maybe not being so happy by the presence of children. However, we thought that it was their problem as they could have booked an adults only hotel. There are plenty of those on Crete. Our job is to ensure our kids behave well and do not unnecessarily disturb others but kids are still kids and they do make some noise at times. The hotel staff and the vast majority of guests were very kind and friendly to our kids and we had really nice talks with people from the UK, Germany, the Netherlands, Belgium etc.

All in all we had a lovely stay and warmly recommend this hotel to everyone. We are already considering going back next year with the extended family.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TuijaX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018

1st and foremost the hotel and facilities are great. It is spotlessly clean and the room was great. We stayed in room 613 and it was very comfy. We traveled as a family of 3 with a small 1yr old infant.

The buildings and pool area are 5* but what I feel lets this place down is its not 5* food.

Its very limited in choice. I have been to other 5* hotels that have live cooking stations for fresh Fish & Meat each night.. these didn't have either. BBQ night was so disappointing. I was hoping for a steak & fresh fish etc but it was just Burgers, chicken kebabs etc. Food was a disappointment big style.

In the week we were there we didn't get 1 hot meal. everything was luke warm and meat was mainly Veal & Rabbit, with a bit of pork here & there.

There is no entertainment on in the evening and they do not cater for children at all food wise or an evening. This changed after complaining and our daughter had some mashed potato made.

Yes they have a child's pool and a small kids club manned by Valentina who was excellent in the dealings we had with her.

The pools are well maintained and were nice and refreshing when having a dip.

The majority of guests were adult couples and are mainly from Scandinavian countries.

We felt as though we were looked down on for daring to bring a child to the hotel more so at meal times. They also strictly enforce the dress code. No Shorts on an evening, even if its boiling out. Some of the staff we dealt with were great and like we say. The hotel is stunning. But the smaller things let this hotel down.

Would we return. No!! - If we wanted adults only we'd book an adults only hotel... if your reading this and thinking you want adults only.... book an adults only hotel.

The whole resort & hotel is geared towards the Scandinavians who in the main are really rude compared to the British & i'll go as far to say... The Germans.

Room Tip: Block 6 is in a good location away from noise
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cousey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minoa_Palace_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Minoa Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Dear Cousey,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.
Provided that we have already taken into consideration your partner’s review, while you were still hosted in our premises, we are glad to have the chance to reply once again.

We do appreciate your positive feedback regarding the Hotel’s staff, facilities, cleanliness and your general impression of our Resort.
However, we are sorry to learn from the candid review that we did not meet your standards. During your stay with your family, we did every possible effort to meet your expectations and to resolve your concerns that came up during your stay regarding your child’s food.

Although the issue you encountered was resolved successfully during your stay in the most effective way, by letting you to choose and customise the daily meal for your child, surprisingly we are sorry to learn that you are not satisfied by the buffet options. It is indeed rare to receive negative comments in regards to the variety of the buffet at the ‘’Elia’’ Restaurant, as it is characterized as excellent by our guests.

Finally, we would be delighted to be given the opportunity to welcome you back at Minoa Palace Resort, so that you can experience the holiday standards we are truly aiming to offer to our guests.

Katia Dramitinou
Guest Relations Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

The food was great quality and with lots of varieties day-by-day. It was surprising how they could find out totally various dishes day after day.
The conference rooms are big, spacey, and well cooled. Wifi was strong.
Though 3G and LTE was unavailable on my phone. Like we were so deep in the cellar. Interesting.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
2  Thank Géza S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

We stayed here for 4 nights in June 2018, reception were very nice and the service from the rest of the hotel was very good too. Rooms were very spacious with 2 showers (no waiting time required when getting ready) and the bed was very comfortable.

The hotel is split between two properties, with one side having just a pool and the other containing a pool and the beach. We stayed on the beach side.

Breakfast was a buffet and featured your usual international selection, along with Greek fare and an omelette station which was spot on everyday.

The beach is nice but be prepared for a pebbled beach, which is quite common in Europe, there is a convenience store next door where you can load up on water, snacks and shoes you can swim in and walk over the pebbles.

The main street is about a 5 minute walk down the road, with a big assortment of restaurants, clothes/shoe shops and souvenir stores.

The one thing I would say if I had to is that at least in the summer months, they should keep the pool open until 9, or at least when the sun goes down, as 7pm in summer is too early.

Overall, I would return to this place, as everything was great for us and really made us have an enjoyable time in Crete.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the beach side, if you want the beach
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

Very beautiful hotel with very kind and lovely people. Good service and large rooms with nice balcony. Location is perfect and close to beach. Conference rooms and receptions were good. Will surely come back here!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
3  Thank NicolaM4263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews