We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful place.”
other travellers have booked this property
view from the terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
view from the terrace
Pool view bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
view from the terrace
Pool view
bedroom
terrace with living room
kitchen
our welcome 'bascet'
livingroom
terrace
bedroom
bedroom
bathroom
bathroom
garden
pool
night
Pelagos
Welcome to Pelagos !
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Platanias, Chania Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
BogeyKent
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful place.”
Reviewed 10 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I have just returned from Crete staying at Pelagos Holiday apartments in Platanias. What a wonderful time we had. Crete is a beautiful island with so much to see and do. The apartments are clean and spacious with a fantastic view of the bay from bedroom and lounge rooms. Marianne and Manolis are an amazing couple. Nothing is too much trouble. Marianne is always around with a smile and a cheerful word. We can't wait to go back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nanct123
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We had a wonderful stay...”
Reviewed 18 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Our family enjoyed Pelagos Holiday Apartments very much. They were very clean, modern and spacious. We also felt like the kitchen was well equipped, with modern appliances, bed was comfortable and satellite tv suffice. On top of this, the owners were very kind and helpful. We would defiantly stay there again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pemma79
Bucks
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We want to go back now!”
Reviewed 10 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I spent 2 weeks here with our 3 young children. I had already read really good reviews on the internet. Marianne and Manolis are really wonderful people. The apartments were spotless and it really felt like being at home. The kids loved staying there and loved spending time in the swimming pool which most of the times was empty. I cannot find any faults at all with Pelagos and we will definitely go back as soon as we can. Crete is a marvellous island with so many places to see. The people are friendly and welcoming. In the 2 weeks we spent there we forgot about looking at the time and really enjoyed ourselves.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
31Philo
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 7 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Pelagos is a true hidden gem. My partner and I just came back home after spending a whole month there and we absolutely loved it! We are definitely going back.

First the basics. The apartments are really well designed with a modern touch. Even though our apartment was only 50 square meters, we never felt constrained even though we spent quite a bit of time in the apartment (we are both academics and we were both working on our writing during our month in Crete). The duplex design really provides two distinct spaces and the lovely patio in the front truly adds a third, very usable space. The view from the apartments is spectacular. The location of Pelagos could not be better. It’s on the foot of the Platanias hill, which means you have a 180 degree view to the sea, spectacular sunsets included. It is quiet, despite the fact that it is walking distance to both the sea and the busy, touristy center of Platanias. On one night, there was a huge celebration going on in the center because the local soccer team made it to the first division, but we could barely hear anything. We had the second apartment from the reception, which was far away from the pool and we never heard any noise from there either. The only time there was some noise was during the last week when a couple with a very small baby-which cried quite a bit- moved to the first apartment next to us. But even then, when they closed their balcony doors the noise was not that bad.

The apartments are equipped with everything you need. Marianne and Manolis have truly made them extremely functional. And if there is something missing they will do their best to help you get it.

The swimming pool is small but very pleasant. We barely used it though because the beaufitul beach is a leisurely 10 minute walk downhill from Platanias. Suprisingly the way back is not that steep either for the most part. We walked to the beach daily. If you are planning to stay in Platanias for your entire holiday you don’t need a car. Pelagos is walkable to all Platanias, including the upper town with its stunning views, which is reachable from a path up the hill behind Pelagos that leads to the upper town (through one of the restaurants up there-the owners are used to seeing people pass through). Since we were staying longer, we rented a car and explored beaches further afield (do not miss Falassarna and Elafonissi).

Finally, Marianne and Manolis are truly exceptional people and make the place distinctive with their friendliness and hospitality. You will see Marianne zooming through the property from morning to night and Manolis, who works in Chania, is also almost daily there for a chat and tips on where to go and what to see. At every point when we needed something Manolis and Marianne made sure we were satisfied. At some point, the wireless internet was not working fast enough for our needs (as I said we spent a month of work/play). Manolis ended up moving the apartments’ router to our balcony so that we could get faster reception! Finally, Marianne and her assistant keep the apartments very clean. They clean the apartment twice a week and when I mean clean I don’t mean hotel-style clean, I mean my Greek mother’s clean…

It was an absolute pleasure to stay in Pelagos! We are definitely going back.

Places we liked in Platanias:
For a quick salad and a moussaka or boureki after swimming try Carpe Diem directly on the beach.
Really nice Greek food also at Avrofilito, the old Greek kafeneion of the town turned taverna (you can still see that the old people of the town prefer the place, they sit in the front to take the crowd views)
In the upper town, we really enjoyed the Sunset taverna. It had good food and was unpretentious (try the kleftiko, it’s great!).
For a nice dinner on the beach, Kyano was our choice. Very good food and excellent quiet, relaxing ambience.

In Chania, we loved Antigoni for fish (it’s the very last tavern in the old port). For a tavern in the narrow streets we really loved the Chani. They had really amazing live rebetiko music too.

When we were there the sea was almost like a swimming pool for most of the days we were there. Some days there is a north wind which makes the sea turbulent. On those days, take the bus and go to Agioi Apostoloi, in front of the Grecotel hotel. It's a small bay covered from the north and you can safely swim there.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vu1cano
Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013 for a stay in September 2013
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Семья
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lene K
Holstebro, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
Google Translation

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Par
Your age range 50-64
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos G
Parma, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
Google Translation
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: In famiglia
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$88
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing