We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just what we wanted”
other travellers have booked this property
view from the terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
view from the terrace
Pool view bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
18 reviews
view from the terrace
Pool view
bedroom
terrace with living room
kitchen
our welcome 'bascet'
livingroom
terrace
bedroom
bedroom
bathroom
bathroom
garden
pool
night
Pelagos
Welcome to Pelagos !
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Platanias, Chania Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
ThurstWil...
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just what we wanted”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We're a couple in our early twenties who were looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday. We spent 9 nights at Pelagos and found just that.

Positives:

- Apartments are clean, modern, well maintained and fit for purpose.
- Marianne was very accommodating and helpful. She also booked our transfers to and from the airport.
- Great balcony views.
- Free WiFi.
- A great selection of nearby restaurants and things to do.

Negatives:

- As non-smokers, we were a bit annoyed that smoke from adjacent balconies found it's way into our room quite easily if our balcony doors were open.
- Although located close to the town, the walk back after dark was unlit. Although it didn't cause us any issues, some people may feel uncomfortable on their own.

Overall, the negatives are quite small and we'd still rate our experience at a 5* one.

Thank you!

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The modern, clean apartments
Liked least: Although located close to the town, the walk back after dark was unlit and may make some people feel uncomfortable on their own
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tj12345_1...
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here one week in May and had an excellent time.
Our apartment was great: clean, spacious, well equipment and with a sea view terace and balcony it had everything you needed. Marianne was a great host giving nice ideas for day trips. We really recommend this place for families and couples who travel individually and are looking for a quite, value for money place in the Chania area.

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Paare
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poppytrip...
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012 for a stay in August 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We spent two weeks at the Pelagos Apartments last August. We chose it on the strength of the great reviews. This place is just amazing. We have never stayed anywhere so clean or well kept. Marianne and Manolis take huge pride in these apartments, without ever seeming precious about them. They are really lovely, kind, friendly people, who do everything they possibly can to ensure your stay is perfect. Each apartment has its own terrace and 1st floor balcony. They are huge inside and very well equipped. We stayed with our two children in a 1 bed apartment (there is a lovely comfortable sofa bed which we just left out because the room was so big) We had plenty of room, and was the nicest apartment we have ever rented. The views are spectacular, the best in Platanias, and you are a nice distance from the main tourist area. The loudest thing we could hear were the crickets.

There are an abundance of fantastic restaurants within a 5-10 min walk, and was cheap to eat out (£35-40for a family of 4 with wine/beer)

The apartments have a lovely shared pool, but we had it to ourselves most of the time. We had no noise whatsoever from other guests, and we really felt like we were 'away from it all'

I can't rave about Pelagos enough, i challenge you to find anywhere cleaner! and we hope to return next summer. Thank you Marianne & Manolis :)

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BogeyKent
Kent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I have just returned from Crete staying at Pelagos Holiday apartments in Platanias. What a wonderful time we had. Crete is a beautiful island with so much to see and do. The apartments are clean and spacious with a fantastic view of the bay from bedroom and lounge rooms. Marianne and Manolis are an amazing couple. Nothing is too much trouble. Marianne is always around with a smile and a cheerful word. We can't wait to go back.

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nanct123
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We had a wonderful stay...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Our family enjoyed Pelagos Holiday Apartments very much. They were very clean, modern and spacious. We also felt like the kitchen was well equipped, with modern appliances, bed was comfortable and satellite tv suffice. On top of this, the owners were very kind and helpful. We would defiantly stay there again.

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pemma79
Bucks
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We want to go back now!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I spent 2 weeks here with our 3 young children. I had already read really good reviews on the internet. Marianne and Manolis are really wonderful people. The apartments were spotless and it really felt like being at home. The kids loved staying there and loved spending time in the swimming pool which most of the times was empty. I cannot find any faults at all with Pelagos and we will definitely go back as soon as we can. Crete is a marvellous island with so many places to see. The people are friendly and welcoming. In the 2 weeks we spent there we forgot about looking at the time and really enjoyed ourselves.

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
31Philo
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Pelagos is a true hidden gem. My partner and I just came back home after spending a whole month there and we absolutely loved it! We are definitely going back.

First the basics. The apartments are really well designed with a modern touch. Even though our apartment was only 50 square meters, we never felt constrained even though we spent quite a bit of time in the apartment (we are both academics and we were both working on our writing during our month in Crete). The duplex design really provides two distinct spaces and the lovely patio in the front truly adds a third, very usable space. The view from the apartments is spectacular. The location of Pelagos could not be better. It’s on the foot of the Platanias hill, which means you have a 180 degree view to the sea, spectacular sunsets included. It is quiet, despite the fact that it is walking distance to both the sea and the busy, touristy center of Platanias. On one night, there was a huge celebration going on in the center because the local soccer team made it to the first division, but we could barely hear anything. We had the second apartment from the reception, which was far away from the pool and we never heard any noise from there either. The only time there was some noise was during the last week when a couple with a very small baby-which cried quite a bit- moved to the first apartment next to us. But even then, when they closed their balcony doors the noise was not that bad.

The apartments are equipped with everything you need. Marianne and Manolis have truly made them extremely functional. And if there is something missing they will do their best to help you get it.

The swimming pool is small but very pleasant. We barely used it though because the beaufitul beach is a leisurely 10 minute walk downhill from Platanias. Suprisingly the way back is not that steep either for the most part. We walked to the beach daily. If you are planning to stay in Platanias for your entire holiday you don’t need a car. Pelagos is walkable to all Platanias, including the upper town with its stunning views, which is reachable from a path up the hill behind Pelagos that leads to the upper town (through one of the restaurants up there-the owners are used to seeing people pass through). Since we were staying longer, we rented a car and explored beaches further afield (do not miss Falassarna and Elafonissi).

Finally, Marianne and Manolis are truly exceptional people and make the place distinctive with their friendliness and hospitality. You will see Marianne zooming through the property from morning to night and Manolis, who works in Chania, is also almost daily there for a chat and tips on where to go and what to see. At every point when we needed something Manolis and Marianne made sure we were satisfied. At some point, the wireless internet was not working fast enough for our needs (as I said we spent a month of work/play). Manolis ended up moving the apartments’ router to our balcony so that we could get faster reception! Finally, Marianne and her assistant keep the apartments very clean. They clean the apartment twice a week and when I mean clean I don’t mean hotel-style clean, I mean my Greek mother’s clean…

It was an absolute pleasure to stay in Pelagos! We are definitely going back.

Places we liked in Platanias:
For a quick salad and a moussaka or boureki after swimming try Carpe Diem directly on the beach.
Really nice Greek food also at Avrofilito, the old Greek kafeneion of the town turned taverna (you can still see that the old people of the town prefer the place, they sit in the front to take the crowd views)
In the upper town, we really enjoyed the Sunset taverna. It had good food and was unpretentious (try the kleftiko, it’s great!).
For a nice dinner on the beach, Kyano was our choice. Very good food and excellent quiet, relaxing ambience.

In Chania, we loved Antigoni for fish (it’s the very last tavern in the old port). For a tavern in the narrow streets we really loved the Chani. They had really amazing live rebetiko music too.

When we were there the sea was almost like a swimming pool for most of the days we were there. Some days there is a north wind which makes the sea turbulent. On those days, take the bus and go to Agioi Apostoloi, in front of the Grecotel hotel. It's a small bay covered from the north and you can safely swim there.

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$73
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing