We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remote location, pebbly beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Asterion Hotel Suites and Spa
Ranked #36 of 68 Hotels in Platanias
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We spent two weeks in Asterion. We had a great holiday. But this was mostly thanks that we rent a car and were able to travel around and see different places at Crete or even to move few kilometers from the hotel and spend day on a nice sandy beach. But we would stay in a different hotel next time. The location is very remote, in fact in the middle of nowhere. They claim it's in Platanias which is very pleasant sea side town, full of tavernas, bars, shops etc. But the develolpment of Platanias has stopped circa three kilometers from Asterion, so without a car it's very difficult to leave the hotel as it is located in between of fields, 500 m from the main road leading to Platanias.

So we normally took a car and move to another beach or went for lunch or dinner to Platanias, Chania or neighbouring villages.

The beach is pebbly and not very nice, not convenient for small kids as after two meters is becomes quite deep. In fact there are many nicer beaches at Crete. Also Platanias has much better sandy beach.
Hotel is very clean and rooms are large. But rooms get very hot as only one card is provided (so AC switches off when you leave the room) and AC itself is not very effective. They also charge for many things we would expect to be included - sun beds on a hotel beach which is in fact used only by hotel guests as it is so remote, safe, fresh squeezed juice during breakfast, in-room coffee maker, water during breakfast... Also as they have in fact a monopoly in the location thus prices (drinks, food, minishop) are higher than in restaurants, bars and shops in Platanias.
Pool is nice, we were happy that there were no animation activities at all and no loud music.
Breakfast was fine, but with afwul coffee and juices.
Staff is very friendly and helpful.
As our summary, we can't complain about the hotel itself but we didn't like too much its location. In case you want to spend very peaceful holiday on one place, then the hotel is perfect. But if you would like to feel bit livelier holiday atmosphere, enjoy more the beach (especially if you have kids) and not the pool only, eat in different restaurants then try something else in Platanias. Platanias is very nice place with really summer holiday atmosphere and Chania is just great.

Room Tip: any room oriented to east, ideally top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarka_Liska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2013

I have just rerturned from a fortnights holiday at the Asterion Hotel; It was so good. The hotel is lovely, the food is good and the staff are outstanding. They never stop working are are very friendly. The service bus is easily accessible to travel to other resorts. Can't wait to save up and go back again. From 1st June, 2013 2 sun beds and 1 parasol are six Euros as the governmment have imposed a tax. Book now and go, you'll love it!

Angela

Room Tip: We had an economy suite which was perfectly lovely with a good size balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Located into a strategic area closed to Chania and that allows to reach easily Balos Lagoon, Elafonissi and Falassarna beach, this hotel is really fantastic.
The staff is kind and they want to make your holiday confortable and special.
It is not into a crowded area beacuse it 5 minutes from all the hotels located in the Platanias area (suburbs of Chania, marine area).
We choose a room with private Jacuzzi to fully benefit our stay here and to relax and this accomodation surely worth the money you pay for!
In front of the hotel there is the sea; you can have bath of sun beacuse of beach facilities (sunbeds, umbrella).
About the meals, the breakfast is well-provided of different kind of foods (greek yogurt, croissants, feta, jam, and so on). The dinner was at buffet and well-provided too with a big choice of foods you can choose among.
Definitely we hope to be back in this hotel closed to Paradise!!!

Room Tip: Room with private Jacuzzi is really romantic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fragolajump81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Having stayed at the asterion hotel for a week half board, i have a few comments. I would like to thank the chef for the amazing food and for being always so pleasant. The girl in the pool bar was also lovely and very professional.

Pros:
Amazing food;
Quiet area;
Mostly friendly staff;
Clean;
They supply beach towels, bedroom slippers;
Each room has its own varanda;
Wi fi signal is strong

Cons:
Drinks are too expensive;
Beach is pebbled ( not hotel's fault);
Parasols are charged at €6 per day;
Location - this hotel is 4km from Platanias and theres nothing in the area;
Beds are uncomfortable;
If you want a lunch snack you have to go to the a la carte restaurant, which is quite pricey;
No tv in the bedroom;
No standard ice creams.

I have been to Greece before and altough i understand the hotel ethos is quite formal, i missed the Greek feel, this hotel could be anywhere and you wouldn't be able to recognise any Greek traits, which to me is a shame.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SBM12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We want to thank everyone at the Asterion hotel for the wonderful stay we had. We just came back from Crete and we highly reccomend this place. We were the first guests in the season, and they treat us like family, we really felt home and were so sad to leave. Everyone was so kind and helpful, always available at any time of the day and night!
The place is just beautiful, very well kept, so much care for details. The garden was wonderful, lots of beautiful roses. The room was very large and clean, the breakfast was variuos but there were not many guests yet so not a big selection. We had dinner almost everynight, because of our small baby there was not a big selection but the food was always fresh and that was most important.
The position of the hotel is perfect if you want o explore this side of Crete. The National road is 2 minutes from the hotel, in only 1hour can reach the most interesting locations and wonderful beaches, should not miss Marathi in the Suoda bay, beautiful.
Platanias is only few minutes drive and is a lovely town to eat out, take a walk or lay on the beautiful beach. We will not forget this special place and we hope to be back soon.
The place is beautiful but what make it special are the people.
Thanks again to all the staff at the Asterion hotel; Bianca, Johanna, Vagheris, Fannis, Stella, the breakfast lady, the cleanig ladies and everyone else we don't remember names (or just spelled wrong)
A special thank to the owner (cannot remember her name) a very special woman who treat everyone like a Mom. She has a special thought for everyone, she is kind and works very hard to make this hotel perfect in every deapartment.
Ciao!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Bianca&Enzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Asterion Hotel during our honeymoon trip to Greece in July, 2012. The hotel itself is beautifully designed and decorated, so close to the beach that the outdoor dining area and pool blend easily into the beach beyond. This hotel is family owned and operated, and the service was top notch throughout our stay. We had an absolutely delicious buffet for breakfast and dinner each day while sitting outdoors at the cafe-style tables. The sandy beach was not at all crowded. Since the ocean floor at that point is pebbly, I wore swim shoes in the water. A quaint, lamppost-lined promenade links the hotel to the villages on either side. We walked into the village - about a 10 minute stroll with bamboo on one side and the ocean on the other - and bought some snacks, wine, and gifts at one of the small grocery stores. All in all, a wonderfully relaxing and romantic spot! Of all the places we stayed in Greece, this is the one we will return to.

Room Tip: Rooms on one side have porches with a view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Not 5* not even 4*.
Very poor breakfast and bad dinner, low quality and variety, so don´t choose half board.
Good service, instalations and clean. Very big room (superior room).
All in all hotel is fine but far from being 5* hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mujerjoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platanias
2.9 mi away
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
2.6 mi away
Blue Dome Hotel
Blue Dome Hotel
#4 of 68 in Platanias
182 reviews
2.4 mi away
Indigo Mare
Indigo Mare
#19 of 68 in Platanias
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Cretan Dream Royal
Cretan Dream Royal
#2 of 22 in Stalos
542 reviews
4.2 mi away
Chryssana Beach Hotel
Chryssana Beach Hotel
#7 of 12 in Kolymbari
300 reviews
3 mi away
Golden Rose
Golden Rose
#4 of 12 in Kolymbari
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asterion Hotel Suites and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asterion Hotel Suites and Spa

Address: Old National Road Kissamou, Platanias, Crete 730 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Platanias
#11 Luxury Hotel in Platanias
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Platanias
Price Range: £67 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Asterion Hotel Suites and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asterion Luxury Beach Hotel & Suites is a five-star Hotel, in perfect harmony with the Cretan environment, located directly on the beach front, offers in total 67 luxury rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Asterion Hotel Suites and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asterion Hotel Platanias
Asterion Hotel Suites And Spa Platanias, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing