We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Erato
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mary(Platanias)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sunset Suites(Platanias)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Lambrinos Suites(Platanias)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Anna Maria Hotel(Platanias)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
26
34
7
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
34
7
4
2
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Hotel Erato is a cozy family hotel apartments close to the beach and all amenities in Platanias. We arrived late on a Friday / early Saturday (night) where we were shown our apartment in a quick and efficient manner. The hotel consists of small glimpses into 2 floors with views of both the beach / baseng and back gardens. The hotel is in a quiet and peaceful street with no through traffic. Car parking for our rental car was easy to get placed. This is a hotel that can be recommended, as there is good service and pleasant staff. We would not hesitate to go back to Erato, although they had a strange system with air conditioning in the rooms where we had to pay extra for the last day. This was something iritasjon but broke, do not for that reason. The rooms were simple and pleasant colors. Families with children can relax in front of the pool for both children and adults. Happy hollidays!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Gwaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We checked trip advisor reviews on the hotel only after having booked and paid our holiday package. I was quite scared due to the negative reviews and made sure I kept my expectations and my husband's to their lowest...

We got to Chania Airport, took a taxi (recommended) and got to Hotel Erato before midday. The entrance of the hotel is really nice, and the first impression was that the premises were carefully looked after. The lady at the reception, (should have asked for her name) was super nice, efficient and fast. She accommodated us in the best room she could find among the available ones, even though we had not reserved a room with sea view because all were taken at the time. So, there you go, first great surprise. Service was not good, but great.

We went up to our room, to find a beautiful, clean, large two bedroom apartment with simple decoration and full of light. The bed was AMAZING. It is quite hard at the beginning but then you sleep like an angel. The kitchen had all you could possibly need. And the management, sent us a bottle of wine and a bouquet of fresh Cretan flowers as a complimentary gift for it was our honeymoon. So, thumbs up for cleanliness, accommodation and facilities.

The pool is super clean, the pool area is nice and tidy, the beach is beautiful and the location of the hotel could not be better. You can literally sleep hearing the sea waves and are within short walking distance of all restaurants and supermarkets. There is even a Lidl very close by!

We, and all the people staying with us had a wonderful time. And If all the reviews I read before are true, then the hotel has made an enormous effort to listen to customers' complaints and improve. I am very happy to have chosen Erato Hotel and felt it deserved some justice. So here is my review. I've attached some pics for you to see what I saw.

The only warnings to future guests are:
- the beach is a bit tricky for small children. The sea gets quite deep after only a few metres and when windy, waves are quite strong.
- buy an inflatable bed or ring, it is worth it
- tourists are rude, and continue to leave their towels on unoccupied sunbeds. Get up early to book yours, or just go to the public beach metres away.
- rent a car and go to Elafonisi (at least ) there is so much more to see than the commercial road outside the hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank danita09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

An old hotel, but premises are recently renovated and are keeps a good standard with nice and mordern furniture and even a good bed. The kitchenette is well equipped with toaster, juicemaker , coffe-machine and micro - but a cuttingboard is missing. Missing is also a drying-rack on the balcony for drying towels. Their front garden is well maintained, this is not the garden on the in- and backside. Be aware of extra costs: Rental of safetybox is 20 Euro/week , aircon is 10 euro/DAY and you even have to pay for baby cot (was it 18 euro??). These prices are double of hotels in same area and standard . Their restaurant costs points. When the meat is oversalted we are afraid that it is not fresh. It is not accepted that when you pay the bill you have to ask for the change - it was bruoght to us without any excuse. Upon checkin, they could not first find our reservation. Afrer manually search in piles of paper we were given our room, this was chenged after further search in the papers. We afforded aircon the few last days and paid for this in advance. When checkin out, the receptionist could not find that this was prepaid (again manually search in other papers) and asked for my receipt. The problem was solved. This hotel is in a group called "SMILE-Hotels" - Management, tell your staff what this word means in English and there also are computersystems available that will make the receptionservice easyier for both your receptionist and your customer

Room Tip: Ask for rooms to the front side
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kjelliStavanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I didn't have many expectations after the bad reviews here at Tripadvisor. The hotel was booked by a family member and I had to say in this, but must say it turned out to be a very good choice indeed.

The rooms were very spacious with a great kichenette that had everything you need for light cooking. I have never seen such a well equipped kichenette before on a hotel.

The beds seemed hard but must say I have never slept this good before and all of my fellow travellers agreed to that. It was very quiet at night!

The negative thing about the room, which can easily be fixed by the hotel, are the noise from the chairs in both the rooms and on the balconies. The chairs are very heavy in the rooms and when people pull them in and out the noise is absolutely terrible. Same goes for the balconies, where they make a bad noise as well. This can easily be fixed by putting felt on the legs of the chairs.

The cleaning staff was nice and always with a big smile and the rooms clean and kept nicely.

The pool was somewhat cold but always clean. It was probably due to the fact that they change the water in the pool constantly.

The pool bar and restaurant up by the reception was run by a couple and here we got the best service of all. Food was great and always served with a smile and very good manners from the staff and the owners. Can't say anything negative about them - they are five star!

All I could have hoped for was a smile from the lady or guy sitting in the reception. I always said hello, but they never greeted me back which I found a bit strange. They were helpful when talking to them, but would be nice with a hello or a smile when passing them.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Maikench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2009

Our first impression of the hotel was not good at all.
The room we got was not properly cleaned , there were personal belonings from earlier guests in the bathroom and the fridge and the room was full of mosquitos.
The childrens' extra beds had blood stains, as did the double bed.
The walls had stains on them, and one big, dead wasp stayed on the wall (- for 14 days actually, as if he was a part of the interior).

Kitchen fasilities were not too clean eighter, but ok.
The balcony was very small. We could just about sit all four of us down, but it felt very claustrophobic. There was no room to dry clothes there and the floor was always wet due to the damp from the air conditon.
And, as one of the other reviewers wrote, the air condition was only in the bedroom. So not too much privacy for grown ups who travel with children.

During our stay we learned that the cleaning didn't improve at all (- no matter how much tip we left for the staff..) We also found it quite annoying that we could hear the guests in other rooms and in the hall way due to paper thin walls. One night the family who run the hotel had a social gathering in the reseption (which was next to our room), beeing soo loud they actually woke the children up.

The best thing about Hotel Erato is the location - having the pool area and the beach right next to each other was excellent! The couple in charge of the pool/beach area and the restaurant did a great job. They were friendly and made us feel welcome. In the restaurant both food and prices were good.

We have been to Creete on holiday 6 times all together.
Hotel Erato is the first hotel we have been to that we will not recommend to others.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Eirstrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews