We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic hotel”
Review of Hotel Evropi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Evropi
Ranked #37 of 69 Hotels in Platanias
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good basic hotel”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed one week in Platanias with a family + grandparents (4 adults, 2 small kids).

The hotel has very central location, yet it is in a quiet neighbourhood. It takes only 2 min to reach the main shopping street and a supermarket is just 20 meters away from hotel main entrance.

We had 60 sqm, 2-story apartment, "maisonette". The apartment was clean and it was the farthest away from reception. It was a quiet spot, with own balcony and small area in front of the door. No passing through visitors.

Apartment had two washrooms with showers and bedding for six people.

Good things about the hotel were location and the fact that rooms were very clean. Price was also affordable (we had a package trip). We also got all of our group in the same accommodation, so that was nice.

Things that I did not like in the hotel
- small kitchenette did not have sufficient equipment (i.e. no microwave oven, stove was slow)
- almost non-existent storage for luggage
- no doors anywhere inside the maisonette. This means every sound inside was heard around the apartment. Talking downstairs meant that upstairs no-one could sleep
- no carpets or any "soft" material to absorb noise
- pool was filled with cold water. The pool was almost 3 meters (9") deep, so the huge amount did not warm up even during hot days
- no microwave oven anywhere in the hotel -> we could not heat baby food properly

I recommend this hotel for budget travellers. While this is recommended for families, there were almost nothing for kids (OK, a rusty swing outside and a small area in the ice-cold pool).

Room Tip: If you want to have the apartment for your group (4-6 people), you need to know each others very wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sami L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    15
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I took last minute trip to Crete, and was surprised how good hotel Evropi was what comes to the price. Beautiful and quite new hotel with large rooms with lots of equipment. I also appreciated the large balcony from where you could gaze sunsets drinking a couple of Mythos beer ordered from bar (cheap prices!) directly to room or obtained from the supermarket just 10m from Evropi.

Nice atmosphere overall, staff was nice and had good sense of humor. It's up to you if it's a good thing but the hotel is mainly for Finnish travel agency customers. All menus, caution signs, information etc. was given in Finnish. As a Finn, it was weird but funny to talk to people for example at the pool in your mother tongue. Great and sunny pool, you did not need to walk to the beach which was about 500m far from Evropi.

All in all, almost perfect hotel, a bit too basic to my mind but I really did not need anything more. I warmly suggest this hotel to anyone who gets a good deal.

Room Tip: The best room is the one above reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pqi_royal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We were one week in this hotel late in June and enjoyed every bit of it. The room (single room) was spacious and cleaned daily. Kitchen equipment was enough for us to create some breakfast and maybe even lunch. We were a bit suspicious about not having airconditioning in the hotel but now I must say ceiling fan was more than enough and for example at nighttime we did not use it at all or only on low-position. Our room was on the 1st floor so don't know if it's hotter upstairs. Don't expect great views from the balcony as the hotel is in "countryside".

Pool area is quite small but very clean and has sun all day long. Pool bar was great with decent prices and tasty food. In short we can recommend this to anyone who likes a little clean hotel with very nice staff and not too far from the beach and restaurats / shops (few min walk).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hypof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We had a quick start holiday, actually we did not have time to search any information about this hotel. But everything about this place was only positive surprise!! Room was very nice and clean, which I appreciate very much. And because of that, I think, there was no bugs or cockroach or any other small disgusting things!! Only small minus, there was no air conditioning, but that was ok, there was a fan in the sealing. Usually we do not eat at hotel, but this time we did! Hotel staff, cook themselves sooooo good food, that we just enjoyed it by the pool few times! And how friendly and fun people they were! This place I can honestly recommend people who needs to have a peaceful and nice holiday! One more thing: the oldest, owner of this place, Mr. Vasilis Katsoulis, was looking just like daddy from movie called "My big fat greek wedding"!!! I was totally crush on him!!! :D Also the pool area, even it is small, but is is very nice and clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Santsu74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Platanias hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mariliana
Hotel Mariliana
#41 of 69 in Platanias
22 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amaryllis
Hotel Amaryllis
#17 of 69 in Platanias
62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anna Maria Hotel
Anna Maria Hotel
#50 of 69 in Platanias
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blue Dome Hotel
Blue Dome Hotel
#6 of 69 in Platanias
137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lola
Hotel Lola
#44 of 69 in Platanias
79 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lambrinos Suites
Lambrinos Suites
#36 of 69 in Platanias
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Evropi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Evropi

Property: Hotel Evropi
Address: Hotel Evropi , Ethnikis Antistaseos | Platanias Chania Crete Greece, Platanias, Crete 730 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 69 Hotels in Platanias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotele Evropi is located near the centre of Platanias , 200 m away from the sea .Our apartments are very spaciou equipped with ceiling fan , A/C , WIFI , fidge and small kitchenette. We have studios , separate bedroom apartments . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Evropi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Evropi Platanias, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing