We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel and the most friendly staff”
Review of Indigo Mare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Indigo Mare
Ranked #18 of 69 Hotels in Platanias
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best hotel and the most friendly staff”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Very nice hotel , the staff was qualified and friendly , so close to the sea , amazing views , very close to anywhere we want , amazing kretan night. The bartender was the one and only , Thank you for your hospitality .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jhon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANGEO1957, Manager at Indigo Mare, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted with your review and it is a great contribution to try even harder to improve our services.

Thank you once more for staying with us and we hope to welcome you again to Indigo Mare.

Best regards from all of us,

Manolis Georgiou
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    84
    25
    13
    5
See reviews for
88
94
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Nice Apart hotel, friendly staff, nice cocktails (daily happy hour !). Nice place to explore the West side of Crete down to Elafonissos and Chora Sfakion.
One point of criticism: very few power outlets to to charge smart phones/iPads/batteries... Take a power strip in your luggage if applicable for you.

Nevertheless great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANGEO1957, Manager at Indigo Mare, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Dear Guest,

It is a great pleasure and satisfaction to see your review for our hotel- Regarding the power sockets we will work out a solution to improve our services.

Thank you once more for staying with us and we hope to welcome you again in Indigo Mare.

Best regards from all of us

Kindly yours
Manolis Georgiou
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holstebro, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Very nice hotel but an excellent location. The staff was friendly and generalt only a positive experience with the hotel.

A minus of the hotel was their internet. A better coverage throughout the hotel grounds and saw a connection that is date 2013.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrik J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANGEO1957, Manager at Indigo Mare, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to read your review and it is greatly appreciated- we apologise about the internet and we hope that next time you visit us to have a proper connection.

Thank you once more for staying with us

Best regards

Manolis Georgiou
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
216 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

we had a wonderful holiday here! the apartments are in an idyllic position right on the beach and in the best part of the beach Too! the breakfast was very good and the room was everything and more we could have expected, however the stand out feature of this hotel is not just the beautiful grounds that surround the apartment's but the exceptional staff here. Thanks Katia, Maria, George, Marina and Helen in the shop for their friendliness and good humour. Great place!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank munster4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANGEO1957, Manager at Indigo Mare, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Guest,

We are most pleased reading your review and we appeciate all your comments about Indigo Mare - our breakfast and staff.

Thank you once more for ataying with us and we hope to see you again

Best regards from all of us

Manolis Georgiou
Hotel Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ålesund, Norge
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

The best Place to be! Close to Beach, and service at sunbeds! Walking distance to everything in Platania. Everybody that work on this hotell vas smiling and provided good service at all time. If i have to say one thing bad, that must be the musik-volum on tuesday night. Loved the show from local dansers, and the Food was amazing.
If I ever Return to Platania, I will stay here!

Room Tip: Recomand a room With no stairs. Noisy at nigth time..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mumiemamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANGEO1957, Manager at Indigo Mare, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased with your comments and is great encouragement for us to become even better. We have noted your comment about loud music but is part of the evening.

Thank you for choosing Indigo Mare to spend your holidays and we are looking forward to seeing you again.

Warm regards from all of us

Manolis Georgiou

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taarnby, Denmark
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I have been at Indigo Mare millions of times so it seems like, at least since I've been going there every year since 1998 sometimes several times a year. I've been there 2 times with friends else it's always been with family. Never have I really experienced anything bad from there because what they might have sometimes lacked they have made up for in another way. The people that work at the hotel are like family they are the most friendly & loving people I've ever met at a hotel, they get so happy every time they see you again & try to do everything they can to make your stay unforgettable! The food in the restaurant is really good. The rooms & everything else at the hotel are always nice and clean. And well the location is one of the most amazing things of all apart from the staff, right out to the Ocean. It's actually on the beach! So if you want to go somewhere absolutely amazing for your stay in Platanias I will definitely say that Indigo Mare is it! And a small tip if you wanna see something truly beautiful then in the summer months get up at 6am & you'll see the sun go up out next to the island right over the Ocean & there will be nobody on the beach except you so everything is quiet it's like a fairytale. Even though getting up so early while you're on vacation is probably not what you wanna do, I really recommend that you try it one day, because wow & the light makes everything magical! What I wrote here mostly apply's to when I was there 2 years ago. Things have changed quite a bit but most of the things are still true except from what I'll tell you know, it's not so cozy as it used to be they are trying to fancy but it's not really working that well since they aren't really, don't go there expecting amazing things. The people that work there are great definitely, except the manager at the hotel he seems to take on more than he can handle, when we first got there in June this year we didn't have a room at the hotel even though we wrote with him earlier in the year to book a room and we asked if the room was booked and he said yes. The only problem was that apparently wasn't true, we ended up staying at a hotel next door for 2 nights since they simply didn't have room for us, after those 2 nights though we ended up getting one of the best rooms which we were very happy about & as we agreed upon it was okay staying 2 nights in another hotel to get that room. But I have heard around town by people that come every year too that apparently it has happened before. For any new guest I recommend that if you book directly through the hotel print out the mails where it says that you'll have a room and also maybe write a week or two before you go there to check again, because we didn't since we expected everything to be in order, guess we learned from that. Also don't be to surprised if you during your stay might have to get a new room. And well when we were there in the end of June beginning of July they hired a bunch of new waiters on a trial period which really created some chaos since the experienced waiters/ waiter since there was only ever 1 of them working with all the new ones simply couldn't keep track of the 2 or 3 new people that was running around taking orders & what not in the busy lunch time, which is completely understandable since they have to be behind the bar to make drinks too. Also one thing we noticed, we know a lot of the cleaning ladies and they are simply the sweetest! There was a new one in our room since the older one that has been there a long time broke a rib, anyway the old one always wash the floor, we have always got our floors washed like everyday when we have been there bit this time our floor was washed 5 days out of the 21 we were there, the only time it was washed was when one of the old cleaning ladies were there. So our floor wasn't very nice with greasy sun screen stains on the floor. I have to tell the truth and also so when the manager reads this he'll hopefully know what things he should look more into fixing to make our stay better the next time we come, since if we had been new guests we would probably have chosen a different hotel for our next stay. The people that made our stay yet again great was from the bar, Maria, Marina, Dimitris, Kena & Thanasis they are an amazing bunch of waiters always really nice to you, they help make your stay one to remember! And from the reception there is Katia, Maria, Natassia, Eva & the night watch guys very nice people that will do their very best to make sure that you have everything you need to make your holiday great! We did have a very nice time though but there is some things that really should be thought more of than others. :)

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view is definitely what I would recommend! Because you'll have an absolutely amaz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beaniewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANGEO1957, Manager at Indigo Mare, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Nana,

We appreciate your comments and we are gratefull for all the good aspects you describe about Indigo Mare. However for anything fell short to your expectation we apologise and is a promise to correct taht for next time you will be here on holidays

thank you once more

Best regards

Manolis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Sor-Trondelag, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2013

My first but NOT the last trip to Indigo Mare in Platanias, Hellas! I recommend this Hotel to everyone that is planing a trip to Platanias, here you got good food, very nice rooms, beach next to the hotel and the service is just amazing! Last but not least the staff.. Everyone that is working at Indigo Mare, the boss, receptionists, waiters, cleaning ladies, and one person that made my holiday at the hotel just perfect the bartender; Thanasis, are great, lovely and amazing peoples that you got to meet! Reason I got nothing negative to say about this hotel and staff is just so easy like this: it is NOTHING bad to say, because everyone there is so lovely, the rooms are very big and nice looking, close to beach, awezome food and drinks! So this is definitely a hotel worth every money to spend a week or two, you wont regret! Thanks to Indigo Mare!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chriizk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANGEO1957, Manager at Indigo Mare, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to see your comments on Trip Advisor
and we are most grateful to your responce.

We thank you once more for staying with us
and we are looking forward to seeeing you again at Indigo Mare.

Respectfully yours,

Manolis Georgiou
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platanias
0.4 mi away
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Blue Dome Hotel
Blue Dome Hotel
#5 of 69 in Platanias
137 reviews
2.4 mi away
Asterion Hotel Suites and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Menia Beach Hotel
Menia Beach Hotel
#9 of 69 in Platanias
271 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oscar Suites & Village
Oscar Suites & Village
#3 of 31 in Agia Marina
376 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amaryllis
Hotel Amaryllis
#15 of 69 in Platanias
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indigo Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indigo Mare

Property: Indigo Mare
Address: Kykladon | 450 meters from Platanias main square, Platanias, Crete 730 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Platanias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Indigo Mare 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Indigo Mare hotel-apartments complex lies on the most beautiful part of the golden sand of Platanias beach. It offers hospitality, comfort and serenity giving the unique opportunity to relax right next to the sea.Indigo Mare is one of the most famous complexes in Platanias village. It is 15 minutes drive from Chania town. The airport is 30 minutes drive away and the port of Souda in 20 minutes, both through national road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Indigo Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Mare Hotel Platanias
Indigo Mare Platanias, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing