We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location, right on the beach, nice grounds”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Indigo Mare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Indigo Mare
Ranked #16 of 69 Hotels in Platanias
Certificate of Excellence
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Perfect location, right on the beach, nice grounds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Indigo Mare is a nice hotel/apartments - no doubt about that. We had a balcony with a view of the water, the apartment was huge, the resort is beach side, it has a nice pool, room came with a mini-fridge (part of why we booked), mini kitchen, items to cook light in the room, daily cleaning service, the grounds are very well take care of and location's proximity to town is perfect!

A few things they could do better:

- THEY NEED TO INVEST IN INTERNET! It is free at the hotel which is nice but seriously horrible internet. This is the 21st century and access to internet is a must. We've gotten better connections in 3rd world countries. You can catch fairly well it in the lobby and at the beach, however not in your rooms. My husband and I have the luxury of working remotely so this was a big deal. It became pretty funny to see people walking around holding up phones trying to connect. If internet isn't a big deal to you when you travel - this shouldn't impact your decision.
- The rooms were a little dated and bare. Hard to believe how beuaitufl the grounds were and the rooms were a little lackluster. No picutes on the walls, wood was fading, nothing really matched or cohesive. I also would have rearranged all the furnature to take advantage of the views. The sofa was facing a bare wall, where if they moved it to the other side, you'd have a wonderful view of the ocean. Same for the bedroom. But to be fair, the price is good (for us) and the place was clean so who really cares.
- Beach chair rentals: They need to seriously just add the cost to the cost of the room. It is fairly annoying to pay an additional 6 euro per day for a beach chair and umbrella - at the beach. Over the course of a couple of days - it adds up. The poor girl who collects the money every day must tell everyone a million times, "Yes, even if you are a guest of the hotel you have to pay." Include it in the room fees so your customers feel like they are getting a deal - not shelling out money. I overheard the receptionist explaining to guest the hotel rents that space from the city so that is why the charge but for a better customer service experience - worth finding another way gain that revenue back.

All in all, it was a pleasant stay, we would stay there again but they could do a few minor things to make the customer experience a little more enjoyable.

I should mention, hotel staff was beyond friendly.

Room Tip: We had room 116 - it was a large apartment, nice large balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoGlobalTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigo m, Διευθυντής at Indigo Mare, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,

my name is Aris Vlachantonis, I am the Manager of Indigo Mare.

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful feedback on Tripadvisor, from which we are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and especially mention the food quality and the friendliness of the staff.

It is our greatest satisfaction when our clientele departs from our hotel with the best impressions and memories and even recommend it to others !

Once again I would like to thank you and do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future. In this case please do not hesitate to contact me in advance , in order to assist you with anything you may wish.

With best regards

Aris Vlachantonis
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    83
    24
    13
    5
See reviews for
88
91
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Well, by over all this place is a nice spot to have a great family time, really well maintain, great employee and delicious food. But like everywhere there's few things that didn't fit exactly the same compare with online information: WI-FI is not working if you're inside your room, you need to go to reception area, for AC you need to pay extra 7E/day, SPA not available ( open only after June first).
Like I said, I'll recommend this place for everyone, I wish to be closer to our home in USA.
For the manager: Aris keep up with the good work and thank you for all the service, hope to see you next year.

Room Tip: make sure you call before booking, apts have stairs to go to the bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATLUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigomanager2014, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Indigo Mare, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to submit a review on our hotel. Our goal is always to provide each guest with a memorable experience during their stay, and we are very happy to learn you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almenar, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

we have been at indigo in may with our friends.i want to say it is a nice place where you can spend good time .we also had some problems with the girls from the receptions,i think they have to be more proffessionall , i say these things maybe will improve some things. when we booked we expect to have sattelite in our room but we had old small tv.the room it was old design but very clean.we had a lot of times dinner in restaurant and there they made the difference because the food and service (giorgos,tonia,marina)was excellent.also we spoke many times with the manager(mr Aris)he was very kind and friendly.despite the problems we have spent nice holidays.

Room Tip: nice and clean hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liliana m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigomanager2014, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Indigo Mare, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review and for sharing your experiences at Indigo Mare.We would like to apologise for anything fell short to your expectations and is a promise to correct that for next time you will visit us. We would really appreciate though, if you could be more specific regarding the " problem" and the way that the receptionists handled it. We value our guest's opinion and any suggestions and comments are always welcome in order to improve our standards and services. Thank you once more for staying with us and look forward to seeing you again at Indigo Mare.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

lovely place ,lovely people,we spend very good time to this hotel.we wish will come back.i recommend to everybody.next time we will take a longer holiday because it was not enough. very clean and the food was excellent .hello for the the manager and all staff

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maricica n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigomanager2014, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Indigo Mare, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to see your comments on Trip Advisor and we are most grateful to your responce. We would like to thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again at Indigo Mare.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poiana Brasov, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We spend very good time at indigo.We strongly recommend to everybody.We had few problems but in the end everything turned out well because o the manager.Thank you all staff and especially the manager (Mr Aris)he was available anytime and he did everything possible for us to feel great.Also we thanks Giorgos and Tonia from restaurant.They are very professional .And Eva from reception.We see you maybe next year.

Room Tip: You have to try it!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabriel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigomanager2014, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Indigo Mare, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to see your comments on Trip Advisor
and we are most grateful to your responce.
We thank you once more for staying with us
and we are looking forward to seeeing you again at Indigo Mare.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

nice employee but the only reason that I didnt enjoy the most this place is bc wifi is not working in the rooms, you need to pay extra for the AC ( 7€ / day) , you need to be careful when you rent a car.....etc
ill go back anytime there bc I allredy know the drill and I can manage the " situations"
ARIS is the manager there, really nice guy and respectful and he would do everything on his power to help the quests.
Really nice place to be and to spend a great time with family or friends.

Room Tip: Before you make the reservation is better to call and ask all the question you would have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mixaela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigomanager2014, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at Indigo Mare, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to see your comments on Trip Advisor and we are most grateful to your response.
We value our guest's comments dearly, especially when they pertain to our customer service which our staff aims at maintaining to top levels.
Thank you once more for staying with us and look forward to seeing you again at Indigo Mare.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We had booked at a other hotel close to Chania but due to overbooking we came to the " Indigo Mare". O what a nice surprises the best place in year for us , on the beach , good food , nice people , good and clean room. Even with a bit of sea view . Still close to Chania for shopping and site seeing . A lot of Scandinavians, first time for me.Nice and friendly people , not like some other European country´s .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Walrus05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANGEO1957, Manager at Indigo Mare, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We are most pleased to receive your review and we are happy to hear that our hotel was a pleasant surprise and you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you again in the future for an enjoyable holiday.

Thank you once more for staying with us,

Best regards,

Manolis Georgiou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platanias
0.4 mi away
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Blue Dome Hotel
Blue Dome Hotel
#6 of 69 in Platanias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.6 mi away
Menia Beach Hotel
Menia Beach Hotel
#10 of 69 in Platanias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Esthisis Suites
Esthisis Suites
#7 of 69 in Platanias
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oscar Suites & Village
Oscar Suites & Village
#3 of 31 in Agia Marina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
2.4 mi away
Asterion Hotel Suites and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indigo Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indigo Mare

Property: Indigo Mare
Address: Kykladon | 450 meters from Platanias main square, Platanias, Crete 730 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Platanias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Indigo Mare 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Indigo Mare hotel-apartments complex lies on the most beautiful part of the golden sand of Platanias beach. It offers hospitality, comfort and serenity giving the unique opportunity to relax right next to the sea.Indigo Mare is one of the most famous complexes in Platanias village. It is 15 minutes drive from Chania town. The airport is 30 minutes drive away and the port of Souda in 20 minutes, both through national road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Indigo Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indigo Mare Hotel Platanias
Indigo Mare Platanias, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing