We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunrise Village Hotel
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Platanias
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We arrived at around 10pm and although dinner had ended, the staff went out of their way to make us some food as we were so hungry - this was just the start of the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff at Sunrise Village. Every member of staff that we met made an effort to talk to you and say 'hello' (especially Dan at the pool bar) and really are an asset to the hotel. The rooms were spacious enough for a couple and were cleaned to really high standards. The food and drink was fantastic - there was something different to try at every meal and was continually fresh (again, the whole dining area was cleaned to a great standard). Even fussy eaters could not complain as there was always popular favourites in the kids corner. Definitely exceeds the 3 star rating it has and we would definitely return. Thanks for a fantastic holiday!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrise Village H, General Manager at Sunrise Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

First of all, we would like to thank you for your nice words!
Our main concern is to make all our guests satisfied and have a wonderful time in our island!
So every day, we try our best in order to achieve this goal!
It would be really nice to have you here in our hotel again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 359 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013

We have been visiting the sandy beaches of Agia Marina and Platanias many times. This hotel was definitely beyond our expectations. We were really impressed about almost everything from the calm location, spectacular sea view, spacious apartment, cleaning, food, pool area, animation team activities and good value for money. The best of all was the friendly and helpful staff. They were all fantastic!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrise Village H, General Manager at Sunrise Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

We are really glad you had such a great time on your holidays here in our hotel! It is our high priority our guests to be happy, satisfied and enjoy their stay! We are trying hard in order to do our best and it is very important to us to get so wonderful reviews! We would love to meet you in the future!
Until we meet again, thank you one more time and have a lovely rest of the summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Very good 3 stars hotel. Good management, very friendly staff, and we felt a very relaxed atmosphere which made us feel good. Also they don't use the common bracelets (which are quit unconfortable) for all inclusive guests but instead they try to know their guest better and to be very familiar with them, which makes you feel really good. Excellent quality-price. Very clean. quiet during the night. Very good food, tasty and creamy, but not to much fish or sea food. The beach is beautiful and 5-7 minutes walk distance, but in the water were large rocks which we didn't liked, so we traveled by car just 3-5 minutes away to a golden beach very beautiful. I kindly recommend the hotel and I surely will choose again this place. It definitely worth the price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CRISGHISE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrise Village H, General Manager at Sunrise Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

It is really nice of you to write such a wonderful review!
We are so happy you had a great time here in our hotel, it is important for us to know you have good memories from your vacations!
We hope to see you soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I booked this trip as a present for my Husband's birthday and was very pleasantly surprised at the standards and quality of the hotel for three stars. We were very grateful for air conditioning which was included and the free Wi-Fi. If you love Greek food this is definitely the place for you. Several different traditional dishes every day including my favourite moussaka. Enjoyed the Cretean night especially the dancing and got introduced to some new cocktails by Dana.
We would recommend this hotel as one of the best in Platanias.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrise Village H, General Manager at Sunrise Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

We would like to thank you for the nice words you write for our hotel.
The hole idea of our buffet is to be as traditional as possible with a lot of greek specialities.

We will be really happy to see you again!!

Best wishes to you and your family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Very charming small hotel. The children said it was two stars missing over the hotel name, and I could not more than agree. The perfect hotel if you want a more personal experiance than the none personal you get in a bigger establishment. The staff were very nice, friendly and serviceminded.
The cleaning of the rooms was of much higher standard than what we have experianced before in Greece. A special thank you to the cleaning lady who made small decorations on the beds every day. The perfect little hotel if you and your family really want a relaxing vacation so that you can feel refreshed when you go home again.

Room Tip: 2 floor room is better if you are a family with smaller children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrise Village H, General Manager at Sunrise Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

We would like to thank you for your review!
Every day we are trying to be better in order to fulfill your expectations!
Also we will pass your nice words to the cleaning personnel..

We will be very happy to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We vas there for 8 days. Ther was a nice look to the see,
and the hotel building vas nice and not too big
Very nice rooms in 2 floors, with a very good cleaning.
A very delicius food both morning, lunch and dinner,
and not too long to the shops and the beach

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Finn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrise Village H, General Manager at Sunrise Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

We would like to thank you for your review!
Every day we are trying to be better in order to fulfill your expectations!


We will be very happy to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Very good hotel, should be 4* definitely. Hotel close to shops, restaurants, and the beach.
Our room was maisonette over 2 floors, side sea view, 2 bathrooms and even there was kitchenette. Very polite and friendly staff, especially Vaida, girl from Lithuania, another girl from Romania, and a lady who was during our dinner. They made our holidays cosier, with feeling that you are home. The food was delicious and fresh, and there was plenty of it.
Wi-fi is good quality, works everywhere in the hotel.
Most of the guests were Danish,
High quality for low price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spyglyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platanias
0.1 mi away
Oscar Suites & Village
Oscar Suites & Village
#2 of 31 in Agia Marina
436 reviews
0.3 mi away
Esthisis Suites
Esthisis Suites
#8 of 68 in Platanias
147 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Dome Hotel
Blue Dome Hotel
#4 of 68 in Platanias
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
15.2 mi away
Kalyves Beach Hotel
Kalyves Beach Hotel
#2 of 6 in Kalyves
692 reviews
79.9 mi away
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
#5 of 36 in Kato Gouves
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Village Hotel

Address: Platanias, Crete 73014, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Platanias
Price Range: £76 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Village Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunrise Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Village Hotel Platanias, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing