We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful !!”
Review of Hotel Varouxakis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Varouxakis
Ranked #40 of 68 Hotels in Platanias
Reviewed 2 April 2013

I have been to this hotel Many Many years and i love it! The best hotel ever!! I love the rooms, the pool, the service, the food, the drinks and ofcourse the people that works there!:)
It's so fantastic to be there :)

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sommartess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2013

This Hotel is very nice,and if you want something speciell you will stay at Hotel Varouxakis=)The room is good,and the wiew from poolside is amazing!! If you want to go to the beach is it a walk about 10 min.We have been here many times and this place is the best ever!! The owner Sylvia and Georgio is wonderful people...you will never forget them,,i promise!! and they are taking care of you=) its always good service and its nice and clean!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HeleneMalmros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I stayed a week in this hotel and for the price, it can't be beat. The hotel is a 8 min walk to the beach, far enough away to be peaceful and quiet but surrounded by great restaurants. The pool, bar, lounge area is very relaxing. Pool was clean and perfect. The rooms are very basic and greek... a small kitchenette, fridge, 2 beds (very firm which I like, not for all though), bathroom is basic with shower that is exposed to the rest of the bathroom. You pay extra for air conditioning which is like all hotels in Crete but it is not needed most of the time. Rooms have a lock box but seeing as how the owner is always around, I felt safe knowing no one who was not a guest would be walking around. The room was very clean and the maid did a great job cleaning daily with fresh linen. The owners are amazing and are always there to help and guide you. Was great sitting around talking to them. I saw that most people in the hotel were guests that have been coming for many years so that must say something for it. I plan to stay here again when I come back!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mrodey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed in hotel Varouxakis and were absolutely satisfied with the location of the hotel (wonderful view to the village and the sea, close to the center of the village but yet isolated from the fuss). Although its an old property, the recently renovated pool area is amazing! The hotel is generaly in good condition and very clean. The most important of all is that George and Sylvia who run the hotel, made us feel at home!!!

By the way, the property in that photo is not hotel Varouxakis!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anonymous K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We wisited Varouxakis hotel august, have two bedrooms and livingroom apartment.
This hotel is near everything, the beach and old village and Platanias centrum.
But we were dissappointed many ways the hotel. Beds are terrible to sleep, madrasses are dirty and wornout. Pillows were dirty with blots of something we don´`t want to know. No blankets, only sheets.
Toilet ring was broken and shower has no curtain, so floor was wet all the time.
Swimming pool looks dirty, water was not clear. We prefer sea, but have dreamed to spend some time in the pool.
Some animal is shouting below our bedroom every night, even earblugs didn`t stop terrible shout to get true.
There is beatiful scenery to the sea.
Hotel has tree stars, but we dont know from what. Hotel is full with swedish and finnish turist, they are in grouptrip.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sipuli_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maj-Britt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Platanias hotels
2.9 mi away
Seashell Apartments
Seashell Apartments
#2 of 2 in Pirgos Psilonerou
36 reviews
0.7 mi away
Minoa Palace Resort
Minoa Palace Resort
#1 of 68 in Platanias
1,214 reviews
7.4 mi away
Avra Imperial Hotel
Avra Imperial Hotel
#1 of 12 in Kolymbari
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Conte Marino Villas
Conte Marino Villas
#1 of 1 in Kontomari
55 reviews
6.2 mi away
Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Varouxakis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Varouxakis

Address: Platanias, Crete 730 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Platanias
Price Range: £39 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Varouxakis 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Varouxakis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Varouxakis Platanias, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing