We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel on Wonderful Island”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Adamas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Santa Maria Luxury Suites & Spa
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Adamas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We just returned from 4 nights in the Rhodolite Suite at Santa Maria and couldn't have been more pleased.

The facilities are wonderful: beautiful suite with a comfortable bed, amazing deck overlooking water and the port of Adamas, and a great pool area with lounge chairs, umbrellas and a pool bar. Every morning until 10:30AM they serve a good, and varied, breakfast that includes coffee, tea, juice, different breads, yogurt, cereal, eggs, cheese, meats and fruit.

The service at Santa Maria was top notch and they were always willing to lend a hand with directions and restaurant recommendations. They had us met at the ferry by their van and they even reserved our rental car for us and had it delivered to our hotel. (We rented from EuroCar and it couldn't have been easier.)

The hotel is located in Adamas, the main port city in Milos. We found it to be centrally located with easy access to the many beaches of mills and the other towns. There is a foot path that leads from the hotel to the main street in Adamas. The walk from the hotel to town was 10 minutes and a nice thing to do on your way to dinner along the water. After visiting the other towns on Milos - Pollonia, Plaka, Tripiti - I was glad we chose Adamas as our home base since it is so centrally located and makes it easy to get on a boat tour leaving form the port.

Highly recommend a visit to Milos with a stay at Santa Maria Luxury Suites.

Room Tip: The Rhodolite Suite is amazing. Good-sized room with queen bed, desk, mini fridge, nice bathroom and...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
There are newer reviews for Santa Maria Luxury Suites & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

My sister stayed in the Obsidian suite and were astonished at the attention to detail, the comfort and the cleanliness of this resort. It is one of the nicest places I have ever stayed. We felt truly first class. The grounds are lovely with fabulous gardens and potted plantings. The pool is lovely and the view back towards Adamas was very nice. The gentle background of goats bleating was terrific!

The staff was very warm and friendly, the continental breakfast was fresh and delightful. The wi-fi was the fastest we experienced in all of Greece.

As my sister and I like our cocktails, we were excited that the property had a pool bar, but it was never open. We were there so early in the season, so we understand why it made no sense to open it, but it was our only disappointment in an otherwise perfect visit. Thank you, Santa Maria, you spoiled us completely!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ember05401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Santa Maria Luxury Suites is a part of Santa Maria Hotel and uses the same pool and facilities. The new luxury rooms are very spacious with wonderful design. A separate pool for these rooms would have been great. Maybe something for the future because they do have enough space in front of the new buildings. Breakfast is really nice with a wide choice. The center of Adamas is just a 10 minutes walk away.
We believed this hotel misses some character but we visited it after our stay at the magnificent island Kimolos.

Room Tip: Every luxury suite looks over the natural port of Adamas.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HansVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

we stayed for two nights in topaz suite. the room was perfect, with all comforts, air condictioning,
music, great gulf view, and huge kit for bath (shampoo, shower gel...).
we want to remark the kindness of the staff.
the only thing not good for us is that in pool was too much confusion, with children noising, playing ball, and no control by manager.....luxury holidays village or luxury suites??!! it need to decide.
the staff suggestions for the dinner were perfect.

Room Tip: the topaz is the quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matteo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We have stayed at Santa Maria Luxury Suites from August 8th to August 24th 2013. It was not our first time in Milos. We knew the island and we knew other luxury hotels but we have decided to stay in Santa Maria Suites. We have booked this hotel Our stay was perfect. The position is perfect, the room was perfect, everything was perfect. Sophia and Illias were always available to help us and make suggestions
Santa Maria Luxury suites is the perfect place to relax. The view is amazing.
The small bar by the pool is perfect when you come back from the beach to have a drink and relax before dinner.
Wifi was working perfect and Breaksfast was very good.
I will definitively recomend this place to stay to any friend going to Milos.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valeria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

The thing when you call yourself “Luxury Suites” is that people expect a certain amount of… well, luxury, and even though this place is, generally speaking, quite nice, it is not what could genuinely be called “luxurious”, and that for several reasons. First, the “Suites” part, which appears to be the most recently built, shares facilities (pool, lobby, breakfast area) with older, lower-grade parts of the whole “Santa Maria Village” complex, and their family-oriented clientèle. Second, one’s “normally luxurious” expectations in terms of, say, sea view, are somewhat dashed by the fact that such view (from the nicely-proportioned terrace of our room) is cluttered by adjacent buildings and power lines cutting right across the landscape and spoiling quite a bit of its natural charm, as the Milos bay is indeed quite nice to behold. Third, the inside implementation of the suite concept is definitely lacking: where a suite is a two- (or more) room combination of bedroom and sitting room, here we only have the bedroom, plus a wide passageway to the bathroom, occupied on one side by a minimal kitchenette (two big plates, two small plates, two cups, two glasses and some silverware, not one pot or frying pan in sight to use on the two-slot hot plate), and on the other side by a sofa “à la Greek island” which could conceivably be used as a single bed but could definitely not be used to entertain guests (as one would in a “luxury suite”) as it faces the kitchenette countertop…

Additionally, the place is clean, but don’t be too picky about it or you might be unpleasantly surprised: see attached photo showing hinge of French door leading out to the terrace. As I am on the subject, I will also specify that the (very nice) cleaning lady who comes very morning does not always do a very thorough job.

Finally, the overall landscaping has a big margin for improvement. There are patches of well-watered grass here and there, but even bigger patches of parched soil in which some shrubs have recently been planted. Note that water is not a problem on Milos where there is a large desalination plant producing 3,000 cubic meters of water per day. To the back of the complex, some green screening could also be planted to hide the parched fields and derelict wooden plank goat sheds.

Walking down to the village of Adamas means a sloped, dusty and irregular footpath, unlit at night on a significant portion (better bring a flashlight). They say the walk down to the village is 5-10 minutes and it’s true, but that walk will only take you to the easternmost tip of the village, not to the “downtown” area: another good 10 minutes will be needed to get there. The upside is that the place is quiet at night, away from the main road.

So, as long as you’re not expecting genuine “luxury” (nor a genuine “suite”), you will enjoy the facilities at Santa Maria. The pool is a good size (although it tends to fill up quickly some days with the families from the “non-suite” portion of the hotel) and there are enough loungers around it. The small bar has the usual drinks and can whip up a Greek salad or a basic toasted sandwich at very reasonable prices, and the reception staff is helpful and knowledgeable. They can arrange car rentals and explain where the interesting things are to be found on the island. The bed is good, although a bit narrow (definitely not the claimed “queen size”) with quality linens and the bathroom is fine, although a bit small, but with a nice big walk-in shower and fluffy towels that don’t have “the hotel smell”. The toilet flushing mechanism did have a problem but nothing major. Breakfast is basic, no freshly squeezed orange juice, some eggs (more omelet-like than truly scrambled) with recipes varying from one day to the next, cocktail sausages, processed cheese, fresh fruit, Greek yogurt, etc. Nothing fancy but adequate. There is no restaurant in the hotel.

There is an apparently sophisticated wifi installation with a number of different networks but the fact is you are often hard put to get an actual connection to the internet. Sometime it’s the hotel’s fault (no wifi link), sometimes it’s the ISP’s (you have a connection to the wifi router but not to the internet), but the bottom line is, the whole thing is unreliable and very, very slow. Don’t count on it to do any serious business at any time of day or night, especially with a tablet or a smart phone.

One final note to deplore the fact that, for the hotel’s Greek management, business is business in the strictest sense, as you will see: because of a mix-up in hotel reservations, we arrived one day late at the Santa Maria (for a week-and-a-half stay). We explained and apologized, but hey charged full price anyway for the no-show night… OK, it was our fault, no issue there, but we would have appreciated a gesture, for example a discount on that night… but well, that was that. Then, at the end of our stay, I told Reception that we wanted to keep one of the nice bathrobes, and asked the price to be added to the bill. As I was preparing to leave a hefty sum to the Santa Maria, I expected a gesture on their part (“Please, Sir, take it free as a token of our Greek hospitality”, or some such), but there was none: I had to pay the 25 (or was it 35?) euros for the robe. This is the kind of gesture (or lack thereof, rather) that makes a customer leave with a sour aftertaste and makes one hesitate to truly recommend the place. I think for our next Greek island vacation, we will go somewhere else, the Santa Maria Suites is decidedly a bit overpriced for what you actually get when you stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Blue_439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed for four nights at the Santa Maria in one of the suites. The room was huge with a great view and right next to the pool. The free breakfast every morning was delicious and generous. The staff are very friendly and helpful. A quick walk to Adamas will get you great tavernas and bakeries!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MeganRAnnapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adamas
0.0 mi away
Santa Maria Village
Santa Maria Village
#1 of 17 in Adamas
333 reviews
4.7 mi away
Artemis Deluxe Rooms
Artemis Deluxe Rooms
#1 of 1 in Paleochori
181 reviews
1.3 mi away
Miland Suites
Miland Suites
#3 of 17 in Adamas
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Delmar Apartments & Suites
0.7 mi away
Lagada Beach Hotel
Lagada Beach Hotel
#35 of 35 in Milos
298 reviews
0.5 mi away
Thalassitra Village Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Luxury Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Luxury Suites & Spa

Address: 1 km From Adamas Port, Adamas 848 01, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Milos > Adamas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Adamas
Price Range: £80 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Maria Luxury Suites is an exquisite holiday destination on the island of Milos. Family-owned and operated, we are renowned for our warm and friendly service and excellent location. Located on a hill overlooking the port of Adamas, a short walk to the nearest beach and less than a kilometer from the convenience of the island's most central town, Santa Maria Luxury Suites is a top choice for any visitor's stay on the island of Milos. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Cyclades
Santa Maria Luxury Suites & Spa Milos, Greece - Adamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing