We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only way to see Milos properly”

Currumbin, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“The only way to see Milos properly”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

What a day. Well worth the very cheap price for this trip. Started at 9.00am and finished at 7.00pm. For a whole day trip you couldnt beat 30 euros per person anywhere in the world. Because Milos is such a geological wonderland, the only real way to see it properly is by a round the island boat trip, and Captain Yiangos is a very professional operator.We swam through caves and through blue crystal clear water. There were snorkles and goggles free of charge on the boat. What more can you want... do yourself a favour and take the trip, you'll thoroughly enjoy the day.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Prue Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    6
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“A surprising delight”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Our hosts, who have a home on Milos, recommended this trip. We were skeptical -- we were only on Milos for 2 days and 3 nights, so to spend an entire day on a cruise around the island? And it isn't even that big an island!

But we had a great time. We stopped at three beautiful sites for swimming -- the star was Kleftiko with its long sea caves/tunnels to explore and which is only accessible by boat. But also a beach by a (closed) sulfur mine and at Firopotamos. Each was unique and the swimming was wonderful. A nice lunch stop on Kimolos Island. We were scheduled to return by ~ 6 but it was after 7 when we pulled into the dock -- perhaps too many avid swimmers at each stop.

But be careful to check the weather forecast. We had planned on going on our second day on Milos, but the forecast was for relatively strong winds, so we went our first day. Even on this "calmer" day there was a relatively short stretch of rough water -- and several seasick passengers. Bring your Dramamine, just in case. But the large majority of the trip was quite calm. We noted that the trip on the following day (which was quite windy) was cancelled.

Kleftiko is an absolute must when visiting Milos, so your choice is a dedicated cruise that goes there-and-back or this around-the-island tour. We would strongly recommend the latter.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan01234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
“A fun filled day on this boat trip........Something for everyone!”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Our visit to Milos (stayed at Hotel Eleni, which was fabulous) was for 4 nites,and we wanted to go on a boat trip the first available day..........However, the next 2 days were windy so that left us only one chance.......And, finally, on the last available day, the wind died down and it was all aboard........There were only 11 passengers on board (3 Canadians, 2 Americans, ,2 Australians, 2 Germans, and 2 French) , so a real mix! We left promptly at 9am, cost was 30 Euros per person and there is a canteen to buy stuff on board.......Had an awesome day sailing around the entire island.....Other swim stops were offered but 7 people swam at Kleftiko in the caves, and 4 chose to swim at Firepotamos..........We had a 2 hour lunch stop on the lovely island of Kimolos where we all dined beachside........ It was a very relaxing day and the time flew by and before we knew it, it was 6:30pm and we were back in Adamas port again............One of the highlights of our Greek vacation........

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank dogsrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“FUN DAY ON 'CAPTAIN YIANGOS'”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Although reluctant at first to go on a whole day boat trip around an island- due to past bad experience- we decided to have another go around MILOS island.
'CAPTAIN YIANGOS' had been referred to us by friends, so we chose the specific trip and did not regret in one bit!
Captain Stavros Mathioudakis was super. He kept his promise and took us to all the places planned. He gave us a guided tour through the entire trip. We dived at 4 different magical spots e.g. KLEFTIKO, where one can only reach by boat.
The day was full of wonderful pictures we will always keep, quite relaxed. We also met some people on the boat and had a great time. We whole-heartedly recommend it.
Other boats take you only to certain beaches, provide a meal, but are far too expensive.
With 'C. Y.' you get to see the whole island, which is a unique experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank KALLIOPI10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Captain Yiangos Trip also viewed

 

Been to Captain Yiangos Trip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing