We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad hotel, great island”
Review of Portiani Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Portiani Hotel
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Adamas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The location of this hotel is perfect. Easy to walk in main village or easy to get around to other by atv/car/scooter. The hotel itself is just alright. Cute and great for people looking for something classic like we were. The room is a bit small and the layout of the bathroom is very strange and inconvenient. Difficult to get to the toilet at night without bumping into the shower and sink first. It is the type of room you would expect for a 2 star hotel with few extras. Comfortable and really quite sweet. Our air conditioner didn't work the first night (room was quite hot), but the hotel quickly fixed it in the morning when we asked. We would have slept with the door open, but our room, like many, faced the water which also means it faces a main walking street. There were people out until late playing in the playground across the street. It is quite a loud location and gave us some problems sleeping. We are the type who go to bed early (10), so it is fine for people who do stay out a little later.
My biggest issue was the breakfast. There are many comments and the hotel even discusses it as a big benefit. I found it very lacking. I cannot eat eggs, so there was very little there I could have. No meats, no fresh fruit. There was not even coffee made! One huge positive about it though is they do use local food. There was honeycomb for my yogurt and fresh squeezed orange juice. For some reason, there were plenty of desserts. Chocolate cake for breakfast is every child and vacationing women's dream.

Bed was Nederland more comfortable than most we have found in Greece.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
There are newer reviews for Portiani Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

We were a group of six people travelling together, so the rooms on the top floor with a common terrace was excellent for us. This was our last stop after visiting three more islands and being satisfied with all the hotels in our round. Still this was the very best. We travel out of top season and the internet-offer of 50€ a night in May were extremely good value. The beds were very good, not hard as many Greek beds are, the towels thick and plenty of amendeties. For a change we had a shower cabinet, not only curtains. The wi-fi worked in parts of the room, sometimes in all the room. We slept with open window all night and was not troubled by any noise, but it is May. The breakfast is a mattor of its own. So many Greek delicacies isn't found on many buffets. There were a machine to make your own juice out of fresh oranges, there were more choices of jams, cakes and pies than you can imagine. I simply cant understand those being dis- or even half- satisfied with the breakfast.
The main bus station and the taxi rank is right outside the door. Two ATMs around the corner. Lots of tavernas all around. Five minutes walk to the mining museum (a must). Two minutes walk to the excursion boats.

Room Tip: Room 204 has a large private terrace in addition to the common terrace.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Periscope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Visited Portiani last summer with my wife and loved the extremely friendly helpful personnel.
the hotel is very nice located next to the port overlooking the bay. the rooms were very tidy and clean. They had a rich buffet for breakfast. One important asset of the place was the personnel, always with a smile, willing to help. they even kept breakfast for us on the first day because we had arrived very late the night before.
If you want a nice not pricy hotel in Adamas i would recommend it and would certainly revisit it

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NChatzakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed in at the Portiani Hotel for 3 nights in Aug. The room was nice and clean. We had a small balcony that opened up to the bay view of Milos. Breakfast was served on the first floor daily. The staff was very helpful and friendly during our trip. They heard that we were newlyweds from our travel agent (Sandra from Aegean Thesaurus Travel) and sent us complimentary local desserts and wine (thank you again). They also gave us a ‘wedding’ gift of a decorative dish to remember them and recently have sent us a Christmas card.
As we were in the center of the town, walking to restaurants or other areas was not a problem. While there, we visited numerous museums and beaches. We only wish we had a few more days there so we could have experienced more the island has to offer. We recommend Portiani Hotel to anyone going to Milos.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vangelli9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Portiani is just a few minutes away from the port and everything is nearby.People there will make you feel at home as they are so friendly and kind.The view from the terrasse is very nice.We enjoyed our stay there very much.We highly recommend it

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We were only at the Portiani one night prior to getting a ferry, but very much enjoyed our stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was available prior to the usual check-in time and we even received a gift as we checked out. The breakfast was really good, our room was more than adequate and we liked the large terrace area on the second floor that overlooked the marina. Overall it was great value.

Room Tip: Request level 2 if you can for the large communal terrace that overlooks the marina.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jem_Ads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

My wife told me to be sure to write a review about this hotel and let everyone know that she said" This hotel has the nicest staff of any hotel we have ever stayed in" and we have been to Europe 21 times together. The two ladies at the reception were as gracious and helpful as anyone we have ever done business with. Every time we walked thru the lobby they were always offering us something to eat or drink. The floor we stayed on had a common terrace that was surprisingly nice. I have always liked private balconies, but this was wide and nice as you can see in the picture. If arriving by ferry turn right at end of docks and five minutes you are there, can't miss it. View from balcony is great. Hotel has trouble with wifi in some of the rooms, they have a separate wifi in the lobby that work fine. We had a early flight out, cab to pick us up at 06:30, the two ladies I mentioned earlier in review made a tray of food for us to carry to our room with custard to put in the icebox, made sure we had plenty of coffee and juice. Shops, restaurants, tour agencies, anything you want is just outside your door, including the bus stop. I really did like it here a lot, and my wife loved it. Thanks to the staff, they made me smile

Room Tip: I did like the third floor with common terrace
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IrishDanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adamas
0.5 mi away
Santa Maria Village
Santa Maria Village
#1 of 17 in Adamas
333 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thalassitra Village Hotel
0.3 mi away
Lagada Beach Hotel
Lagada Beach Hotel
#35 of 35 in Milos
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The White Suites
The White Suites
#7 of 17 in Adamas
60 reviews
5.1 mi away
Delmar Apartments & Suites
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rigas
Hotel Rigas
#6 of 17 in Adamas
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portiani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portiani Hotel

Address: Adamas 848 01, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Milos > Adamas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Adamas
Price Range: £38 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Portiani Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Portiani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portiani Hotel Milos, Greece - Adamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing