We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Simple...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belvedere Santorini
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Firostefani
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stayed here in August 2013. Firstly, finding the hotel was not easy. I would suggest arranging transport from the airport/ port to the hotel; there are no signs and you actually have to get down from your car walk into Firastefani to find it. The pool is very nice with wonderful wonderful views. But the pool service is terrible; the famous sentence they say to everyone "It will take time". There is one person taking order, making drinks, making the food and cleaning up; so it's no wonder that it takes time. The room's are clean and the decoration is exquisite; however, this is where they take simple to another level: No bath robes, no slippers, only one soap (which they don't replace even after it becomes pretty small). In the reception they don't have: an adapter, they don't have toothpaste, they don't have scissors, they don't have tissue paper. So my suggestion is come prepared if you stay here. Make sure you have everything you need, and all you want is a nice, relaxing stay with amazing views. Definitely don't stay in the Budget Rooms, the windows overlook the hallway and its pretty depressing. The staff (although understaffed) are great though - Nikos was a great help with restaurant suggestions and must-do activities.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the budget rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dana_176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 522 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

Good hotel, quite simple as is standard in Santorini, but with one of the better pool areas (The grace is one of the few that I would say is better than Belvedere). Personally I prefer imerovigli to thira because it's calmer and the smell of the horses taking up cruise ship tourists is pretty pungent everywhere in thira. Belvedere is conveniently located between the two, 10 minutes to Thira, 15/20 minutes to some of the hotels/restaurants in Imerovigli. There seem to be some bad reviews here on service but I don't agree.... the staff were great with us. Overall I think this is definitely one of the best hotels in town...only downside is breakfast... which REALLY needs some work! But it's a minor point... go to cafe galini next door for a crepe and iced coffee, much better!

Room Tip: Go for the rooms with a view... more expensive but definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MChalmers_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

After a week on a 60 foot sailing yacht, we were ready to enjoy the space and the wonderful views on display here. Our room was situated under the magnificent pool, and was a two story room with the bed upstairs. The bathroom was very clean; modern with a beautiful rustic stone sink. Nice balcony, moderately private. The lobby outside of our room was a bit musty, as many areas on Santorini are, being built into the rock cliffs (and remember, ours was under the pool). But our room itself had no odor. Because we were the youngest of the couples we were traveling with, we were given this room which was 100 steps down from the check-in desk. Thank goodness for the helpful porters! We later saw that it was an upgrade over the closer rooms; knowing this made the steps easier to climb. We were only one staircase from the pool, where breakfast is also served, so that wound up being convenient. The clerk was right about recommending that we stay there for the sunsets. I'm sure they are spectacular at Oia, but the difference could not be that great; not worth the trip there with its crowds of over 10,000 other people. One unexpected highlight for us was the other friendly guests we met at breakfast and in the pool. Folks from Canada, Australia, Switzerland, and New Zealand helped make our stay even nicer. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rlkochel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Very good service , excelent location and view to the caldera. Could improve breakfast .employees gave a lot of support and good tips for visiting. Located close to restaurants and had pick up service to the port.

Room Tip: Room close to the reception had a great view and was easy to go out and in ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alessandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We had booked a room at nearby Homeric Poems. Unfortunately, when we arrived, it turned out that the hotel was overbooked and we were transferred to the Belvedere Hotel.

We had paid over 300 euros for the night and the room was absolutely not worth it. Pictures speak for themselves. The bathroom had not been properly cleaned, electricity was unfinished. It was absolutely substandard. The kind of room one would get in a greek guest house, that normally charges 50 or 60 euros a night in high season.

From my experience, Santorini is a big tourist trap where travelers are just considered as walking wallets.
The best is actually to see it from the sea and stay on another island. Nearby Folegandros and Anafi are wonderful in every respect.

And if you don't keep away from Santorini, keep away from The Belvedere !

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Katergo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belvederesantorini, Manager at Belvedere Santorini, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear Sir
We are sorry for your bad experience in Santorini,
But i would like to clarify a couple of things.
-You did not stayed at Belvedere Suites.
You and your boyfriend arrive at midnight and you stayed in an individual studio about 50 meters away from Belvedere which belongs to the owner of the hotel, but is not Belvedere Suites.
-You haven't pay us any money
So let me summarize
You didn't stayed at Belvedere Suites, and you didn't pay us any money. As a conclusion i believe that your review about our hotel is unfair.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for three nights and four days. We enjoyed the room we got which had a beautiful oceanview. The front desk attendent during the day rotated between this older gentleman and a younger women, while the same man worked nights. They were all excellent giving us perfect suggestions, directions, and just hospitality in general. They were even able to direct us to a local hair salon, so my boyfriend could buzz his head! The service at breakfast was another story. They would hide in the kitchen which was located right next tothe buffet. If I needed anything I would have to knock and there would be sounds of mad rush/panic and then the door would open. Standing there would be this women with what seemed like a face that said "what do you want?!" The food at the continental breakfast wasn't horrible but it wasn't amazing. They always had the same things, so if you weren't able to try something the previous day you still had an opportunity. I think next time I would opt to rent a place out and just cook or eat out, because we met a couple who did that and they saved a lot of money. My boyfriend and I only slept and ate breakfast there, we never used the pool, and hardly ever sat out on our balcony. The couple were also staying right down the road from us, with the same view we had as well. The location is great, just a 10-15 minute walk to the town and even shorter walk to the public bus terminal. There's not much wrong with this place, I just would prefer to rent a place next time.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scot K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This hotel has a nice location and amazing views, but we found that for the money, the hotel was not worth it. We paid over 400 euro for a room with a sea view in mid-July. I realize most hotels in Santorini with great views are expensive at this time, but we had just come from the Myconian Ambassador in Mykonos (where we paid 300 euro a night for a room with a view and exceptional ammenities) and were underwhelmed by the Belvedere.

The service was fine. The receptionist was quite helpful and all of the staff was friendly and willing to help. But the reception area was cluttered and not very nicely decorated (not a great first impression when you're staying at a hotel that is over 400 euro per night), the pool area was small and the wicker furniture somewhat old and a lot of it broken, the towels they give you are old and many of them frayed at the edges. One day they didn't even have enough towels to go around for all the guests. The pool was FRIGID. I mean, it was really really cold. Even the small children staying at the hotel didn't really play in it and most of the guests went in for a quick dip but quickly got out as it was much to cold to be pleasent. There are not many chairs at the pool and they fill up quickly. There are not nearly enough to accommodate even half of the capacity at the hotel (and it was full when we were there).

The breakfast was mediocre. This was the only place in our three week travels in Greece and Turkey where they did not have fresh organge juice at breakfast. I would recommend to the hotel to provide more fresh fruit, a little variety in the baked goods and fresh juices for their guests.

The room was fine, the bed comfortable, but overall it was nothing to write home about. The white leather furniture had some stains and the walls were a bit scuffed in areas. I think this hotel is kind of getting by on the view it provides, but should really think about upgrading some of its other elements if it is going to charge these kinds of prices.

Room Tip: There are inside rooms with no view, so if you want a view make sure you request one or confirm with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Firostefani
0.2 mi away
Ira Hotel & Spa
Ira Hotel & Spa
#6 of 22 in Firostefani
514 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mill Houses Elegant Suites
Mill Houses Elegant Suites
#7 of 22 in Firostefani
820 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
#2 of 22 in Firostefani
867 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lilium Villas
Lilium Villas
#7 of 81 in Fira
788 reviews
0.7 mi away
Astro Palace Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belvedere Santorini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Santorini

Address: 91 Fira Town, Firostefani 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Firostefani
#10 Romantic Hotel in Firostefani
Price Range: £111 - £438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Belvedere Santorini 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belvedere is located in Fira, the beautiful and vibrant capital of Santorini. Suites build with respect to the Aegean architecture including the latest and the finest amenities, promising you to pass the more relaxing and calmness vacations during your visit to the unique one travelers’ destination; Santorini Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Belvedere Santorini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Santorini Hotel Firostefani
Belvedere Santorini Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing