We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Cliff House with Fabulous View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lithies Traditional Homes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Lithies is by far one of the more spectacular places I have stayed. It is made very special by Maria, the wonderful, wonderful woman who takes care of everything at Lithies, from the bottle of wine on arrival, breakfast every morning (you pick from a list of items), to cruise ship niceties like little chocolates on the bed and towels folded into fun shapes. She keeps it spotless, and all the homes are lovely.
We stayed in the smallest house; Eros (there are 5 houses). It had a marble bathroom, bedroom, sitting room and small kitchen with a washing machine. Lines to dry clothes outside. Some of the homes have dryers. The other homes are much larger and looked wonderful, but Eros was perfect for my husband and me. Maria makes you feel like royalty.
Lithies is located in Firostafani, which is the best place to stay on the island. A little quieter than Firo, and Oia, but still plenty of good restaurants and shops within close walking distance without having to fight with too many tourists. The place includes transfers from boat or plane, and someone to meet you at the top of the steps to carry your bags down (82 steps) or back up when you leave. Lithies is located on a steep cliff with spectacular views. The sunset views from here are exceptional. There is a small pool, and two common areas to lounge and take in the sun, or watch the sunset.
Did I mention Maria? She is the life of this place. You will fall in love with her and Lithies your first hour.

Room Tip: There are 5 homes here, from 1-3 bedrooms and 1-3 baths. Eros is the smallest, but it is the prettie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank artmomrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

If your are looking to visit Santorini and are confused by the vast variety of choice look no further. From the minute we arrived Maria and her daughters made us feel at home. All the apartments are spotlessly clean and beautifully furnished. Never have we stayed in a place where the bed linen and towels were changed so frequently yet unobtrusively. Maria is a mine of information and helped us out with many queries. The highlight of her generosity was the beautiful birthday cake I was presented,complete with candle and a rendition of Happy Birthday.
The location of the apartments is also spectacular. Located in a quite area of Firostefani but within walking distance of all the hustle and bustle of Fira.

We stayed 9 days in total and would definitely recommend car hire. It is the best way to see the island.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Devontravellers_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This has to be the most glorious accommodations I have ever experienced. I am traveling with my brother and sis-in-law so thought this sounded unbelievable and perfect for the 3 of us. We had 2 separate bedrooms each with its own spacious sitting area and bathroom. We also had a spacious & well equipped kitchen with a washing machine. Our private patio overlooking the caldron was breathtaking. Go to their website and see for yourself. Everything that is listed on their website is the truth. Maria was so charming and always made sure we were well taken care of. She worked so hard taking care of us. Loved the sunset wine and snacks as well as the unbelievable breakfast made to our specifications. Thanks to Anna & Tommy too. This was a hard place to leave. We stayed in the Dione house which is beautifully decorated including the pottery and ceramic pieces by Andreas Alefragis. We had the pleasure of meeting him at his studio near by. Ask Maria for directions to his studio.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Our extended family of 12 spent 10 days, occupying all four houses in this beautiful complex of cave houses cut into the side of the Caldera on Santorini. Each of the houses is charming and well-equipped. In Santorini style, they are painted white with blue trim, and have a stunning view of the Caldera and other islands. From our explorations around Santorini it became clear that this was one of the nicest places to stay.

On top of the accommodation and the location, we cannot praise enough the delightful care provided by Maria, her husband and daughter Anna. We strongly endorse the comments of other reviewers. The ambience offered by Lithies, the welcome, and Maria's attention to detail are in a class of its own.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 150Prof39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We arrived yesterday and have 6 more days of nothing but paradise! Maria and her daughters are SO welcoming and when you walk in to your rooms, it's a total "wow" factor. You won't want to leave. Every detail is well thought out, breakfast is served beautifully. Cannot recommend it enough!

Room Tip: No fitness centre but the steps are a good enough workout!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We had a lovely time staying at Lithies, I couldn't get over the view and it was it in quiet area away from all the tourists. The home was stunning and had everything we needed and more. Anita was a fantastic host and made us feel at home straight away! The breakfast was also incredible.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashrhian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed at lithies for a heavenly seven nights. Santorini is a beautiful island and lithies is perfectly positioned. Maria the manageress works so hard keeping the rooms and facilities spotlessly clean and ensuring your every need is met. She welcomed us from the taxi on arrival and hugged us goodbye on our departure we felt we had made a friend and long to return very soon.

Room Tip: All lovely rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geminicat-67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Firostefani hotels
0 mi away
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
#2 of 22 in Firostefani
867 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
0.1 mi away
Manos Small World
Manos Small World
#10 of 22 in Firostefani
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Homeric Poems
Homeric Poems
#4 of 22 in Firostefani
386 reviews
0 mi away
Ira Hotel & Spa
Ira Hotel & Spa
#5 of 22 in Firostefani
514 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belvedere Santorini
Belvedere Santorini
#9 of 22 in Firostefani
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lithies Traditional Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lithies Traditional Homes

Address: Firostefani, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Firostefani
Price Range: £209 - £420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three homes integrating modern Greek culture, ancient myths, and Greek art and history through the ages with first class convenience and amenities to create a memorable experience for our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lithies Traditional Homes Santorini/Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing