We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such good value”
Review of Vallas Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vallas Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Such good value”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We had booked a sunset view apartment but got upgraded to Rock House, just down some steps near Mama Thira restaurant. Our upgrade came because the Vallas had overbooked on our first night and we had to spend that in the Moonlight apartments below Fira. As well as our upgrade we got free transport wherever we needed to go on our first night, a bottle of wine and fruit basket. Once we saw Rock House, we forgot one evening's inconvenience!

The location of the Vallas properties is fantastic, especially for the price. Uninterrupted sunset views, 10 minute walk down into Fira, rooftop plunge pool with plenty of seating and sun loungers (often we were the only ones up there during the second week of June), and the hardworking staff, Markos, Constantinis, and Maria keep the whole place immaculate. Breakfast is simple, toast, eggs, yoghurt and honey, but very good quality. For a snack in their cafe, try santorini tomato balls...delicious!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clairepat63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    51
    12
    10
    5
See reviews for
26
72
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We stayed in the Vista Suite with Caldera view for 6 nights. It is on the second floor with its very own private stairways up. The front door and the balcony faces part of the caldera. You can see Thirassia all the way to Oia. The view of Nea Kameni (Volcano Island) is partially blocked the roof terrace. Nevertheless, from the balcony, you can have a direct view of the sunset. We spent 5 evenings sitting there to watch the sun set with our own drinks, snacks and ice cream. These can be easily bought from a very well-stocked mini market just 100-200m on the right of Vallas (towards Imerovigli). It has everything, from drinks, canned food, bacon and ham, instant noodles, dish washing liquid, etc and even English novels. Note that you can also buy the drinks and ice cream from Vallas cafe if you aren't too keen on walking.

You can also enjoy the entire caldera view and sunset from the roof terrace. The jaccuzi, sun beds and umbrella are all at the roof terrace.

The room itself is very simple yet cozy. It has a functional kitchette where you can cooked some food (like the noodles, eggs, and bacon bought from the mini market). It has a double bed plus a sofa which can be quickly converted into a single bed. It is air-conditioned as well, which is a relief during hot days. The tv is a small 14 inch old crt type on top of the wardrobe. But who cares about the tv when one can just sit on the balcony and enjoy the marvelous view and simply enjoy life.

The bathroom is small though. When taking a shower, it is hard not to wet the bathroom floor, even with the shower curtains.

From Vallas, it is about 20 minutes walk to Fira, mostly downhill. On the other hand, returning to Vallas from Fira will be more exhausting. It's the other way round if you want to go to Imerovigli, uphill to Imerovigli takes about 25 minutes. From there, you can hike all the way to Oia. but we did not try this as my kid may not be able to do it. So we just walk to where Skaros rock is and return.

Overall, Vallas Apartments is really a good choice for the price we paid. I believe it will be difficult to find another accommodation that offers similar views and kitchette for 3 persons at that price. If I ever visit Santorini again, I will not mind staying at Vallas apartments again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cwcyenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

Sunset Apartments lived up to their name with stunning views over the caldera as the sun went down. There is a case for saying they could do with modernisation but if you know and love Greece, you realise that they form part of an overall package that is quaint, traditional and welcoming.

Breakfast is served in the cafe just a stone's throw away...fruit juice, eggs freshly prepared any way you want them, yoghourt & honey, toast, tea or coffee and all taken in front of that breathtaking view that seems so brilliantly clear and pristine in the early morning. There is also a lovely roof garden for further relaxation, with a plunge-pool to cool you down.

The apartments are exceptionally well placed; with only a ten minute walk into Firostefani where you can get buses/ taxis to beaches,museums restaurants etc..or if you're very fit and really energetic, wear some sensible shoes, carry bottles of water and take a magical walk along the coast towards Oeia. For ordinary mortals get the bus there and back from the stop by the nearby church. If you time it right you can sometimes get a spectacular sunset at Oeia but in my opinion not much better than the one you get just by sitting on your own apartment balcony.

Santorini is incredibly beautiful and interesting and the Vallas Appartments are a great place from which to experience it all.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed for 1 week at the Vallas Apartments and took one of the Sunset view rooms. The location as other people say is fantastic with amazing views of the Calderra. Our room was comfortable and the balcony view was great. I would only say they need to update some the kitchen utensils and cutlery a bit supplied in the kitchenette. However, Markus the manager organised some extra mugs for us when we requested some more. Markus is really friendly and made us feel welcome. The apartments are located in Firostefani which is just outside the busy town centre. Its only a 10 min walk in to town but there are ample restaurants nearby so you dont even need to.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Stayed in Aug 2010.
Great little hotel, but could do with some more modern furniture.
But i guess its all about the view. Get a room overlooking the Caldera! WOWWEEEEE BEAUTIFUL!
I would def stay here again or maybe choose another place over looking the caldera.
Bring your walking shoes as its quite pebbly around the areas.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the Caldera
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barnseee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kungalv, Sweden
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Perfect location, quiet area, still close to Thira, walking distance. Bus stop nearby, to go to Oia for example. (Is also a nice path to go there, only about 9 km). Spacious room, amazing view. A large roof terrace, nice to sit and have a glass of wine and watch a beautiful sunset. Very good breakfast, very nice staff. Very nice tavern in the next house, Mama Thira, very good food. Can recommend Vallas to anyone who visits Santorini and do not want to live in noisy Thira. Will definitely book there again next time in Santorini.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zedrai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chania Town, Greece
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

The hotel is situated in the most beautiful location of Santorini. It is amazing to take breakfast there! The rooms are clean but they need to be renovated. The staff is nice and helpful. The other hotels near there are very expensive, so this hotel is a good choice if you want to have Kaldera view.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Firostefani
0.2 mi away
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
#2 of 21 in Firostefani
802 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
0.5 mi away
Villa Renos
Villa Renos
#4 of 79 in Fira
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Agnadema Apartments
Agnadema Apartments
#13 of 21 in Firostefani
199 reviews
0.0 mi away
Belvedere Santorini
Belvedere Santorini
#9 of 21 in Firostefani
460 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
#3 of 21 in Firostefani
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vallas Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vallas Apartments

Property: Vallas Apartments
Address: Firostefani, Santorini, Firostefani 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Firostefani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Vallas Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Vallas Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vallas Apartments Santorini/Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing