We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view!”
Review of Vallas Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vallas Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed in the Honeymoon Villa, a part of the Villas Apartments and the view was absolutely AMAZING! Villa is very spacious but the interior is a bit dated. Who cares about the interior anyway when you have a terrace with a jacuzzi over looking the caldera!

Room Tip: Stay on the honeymoon villa. It has more privacy and the view is AMAZING!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YvesStGullbekk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

If you can afford it, and you are travelling with between 4-5 people in our group, do not book anywhere else.

The Dream Villa is part of Vallas apartments but is located right next door. It is a separate villa with its own large terrace with spectacular views of the Caldera and it has its only large private pool.

I had no idea when I was making the booking what I was in for. Having never been to Santorini, I had no idea if the villa was well located, and whether it would be worth the price. But I was not disappointed in any respect.

First, by Santorini standards, it is very large. It has two large luxurious king size beds, one located downstairs, the other in an upstairs mezzanine. We were travelling with our three teenage sons, and our eldest (15 years) was easily accommodated on a sofa converted into bed in the lounge area. Sometimes this causes cramping, but in this spacious villa, this was not an issue.

Second, the villa faces directly toward the Caldera with arguably the best views in the area. We would regularly see people stop in front of or near the villa to take photos of the spectacular Aegean immediately in front of the villa. Indeed, often they would turn around and take a photo of the villa (which is very traditional and Cycladic in appearance) and of its pool.

And the pool. What a beauty. It wasn't heated (which could be an issue in colder months) but it was sufficiently large, crystal clear and private. The photos on the website showed it as being in shade but both the pool and the terrace were in full sun by around 11am, which was perfect. Santorini has some beautiful pools with infinity edges etc, but very few of them are private. This one is - no seal colony, no topless lovelies, just you and your family. Truly perfect.

What next - the location!!! Again, I had no idea where Firastefani was with respect to Fira and other villages. It was great to be in a villa that was on the main pedestrian walk and only 5 minutes short walk into Fira where all the tourist shops, donkey rides, etc were. Great restaurants (we loved Pirouni) are within 5 minutes walk either way. We had lunch and dinner out every day over the week and never felt we lacked variety or had to walk too far. This villa is perfectly located - close enough to touristy areas and far away enough to enjoy some peace.

The service was absolutely top notch. Effie and Alex our hosts were extremely attentive. We were served breakfast daily in the villa and Alex went out of his way to find croissants for our boys. He fetched us lattes upon request (no charge) and Effie popped through every day asking if we needed anything. Having the ability to walk around to the reception of the Vallas Apartments was also beneficial, and we were allowed to use the spa on the roofdeck of the apartments if we wante to (although there was no need to given the pool).

The villa was cleaned daily. The linen was beautiful. The towels were replaced daily, as werer the gowns and slippers. Indeed, the villa is fabulously furbished. It is stylish, new, clean, comfortable and has little touches of luxury. The Apple Mac and work desk was a hit with our boys, as was the huge indoor spa (they ran back and forth between the pool and the indoor hot tub). Two bathrooms made our stay that much more enjoyable.

What else can I say? I had no idea what I was booking and i was a little nervous given the price we were paying (compared to other accomodation I looked at when booking) but I have absolutely no regrets and am so glad I did not go for a cheaper option. I looked at the other places I had considered booking while we were there and I was so glad I had avoided those mistakes - "private terraces" tend to be little patios partioned from your neighbours with walls only a foot high. And watch out for pools - so many were smaller (dipping pools) in reality than what the pictures indicated.

Any downsides? None. Above and set back from the Dream Villa is the Honeymoon villa which was empty during our stay. There is a staircase down the side of the Dream Villa and I was not sure if this allows access to the Honeymoon Villa, which might cramp your style a little bit in terms of your private terrace and pool, but I do know the pool is only for use by the Dream Villa as the Honeymoon Villa has its own outdoor tub.

The only real downside is if this has already been booked for your dates. If I come back to Firafestani (and I plan to), I will book well in advance to ensure we go nowhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Just home from a restful week in these typical greek apts. Clean towels EVERY day even though we didn't use all of them. Staff, especially Effy who acted was waitress at breakfast and receptionist during the day, more than helpful. She couldn't do enough for you even though she was run off her feet some days. View from our sunset apt exactly as described and expected. Brilliant position - only 10mins stroll downhill to Fira where the shops and bars are. Also buses to allover the island. Several good eateries in Firostafani if you don't fancy the walk along the caldera rim. You have to try, at least once, a rooftop bar in Fira with views directly down into the caldera - very worth the extra euros just for the view. Would not hesitate to recommend to anyone. No frills, good old fashioned Greece is alive in Vallas Apts. *******

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lassetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

One of our best experiences ever. The junior rock house was everything we thought it would be. However the staff including Effy made it even more memorable. Antonio shared his Santrini with us and we had one of the may memorable meals ever. Great views, great people, great place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryandRoger4017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

We absolutely loved our stay at vallas! Amazing value and incredible location! 180 views from the roof terrace and there was never more than a couple of other people up there. Great hot tub!
The staff are all great and extremely helpful. The rooms are very spacious and bed is comfy.
Breakfast can be served to your room which was a great way to start the day overlooking the caldera! A truly beautiful spot!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emily w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Great location, stunning views, great value for money. Friendly staff, personal approach, explanation of the map and possible itineraries, places of interest were provided on the spot, right when we arrived and checked in. Konstantine is the Assistant manager there, very capable and helpful in everything we asked for/ about ! Great cute cosy apartments, We look very forward to coming back to stay there again ! Thx, Kosta !

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed there for 4 nights in Aug, unfortunately the lights went out for the island on the day we landed, so light or water- no fault of hotel. Hotel though did nothing to help i.e. for 3days of no water 2 bottles of were provided. Apartment was okay but bathroom over flowed which flooded the room and ruined anything that was on floor, water even went to other rooms too.No apology was given. But what a location - perfect for stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ghaff22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Firostefani
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
0.2 mi away
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
#1 of 21 in Firostefani
851 reviews
0.0 mi away
Belvedere Santorini
Belvedere Santorini
#9 of 21 in Firostefani
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anteliz Suites Santorini
0.2 mi away
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
#6 of 21 in Firostefani
1,033 reviews
0.1 mi away
Agnadema Apartments
Agnadema Apartments
#15 of 21 in Firostefani
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vallas Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vallas Apartments

Address: Firostefani, Santorini, Firostefani 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Firostefani
Price Range: £77 - £464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vallas Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Vallas Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vallas Apartments Santorini/Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing