We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food, extremely busy.”
Review of Aktaion

Aktaion
Ranked #10 of 23 Restaurants in Firostefani
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Its culinary history has been established and recognised for over 90 years. Three generations of Lefteris Roussos family have all shared the same love and passion for Santorini, its products and its tastes.
Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

Our meals were great, mussels for starter in particular were really tasty.
My overall impression of this restaurant was hectic- staff seemed run off their feet and everywhere at once. It's essential to book here, we did and still had to wait 10 mins to be seated (this was fine).

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Katherine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

387 - 391 of 1,325 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2016

From the outside it is nothing special, ordinary local restaurant but the FOOD IS UNBELIEVABLE!

-Hloro cheese
-Feta cheese
-Musaka
+ MYTHOS beer! God knows that there is nothing better! You will enjoy also the view.

Restaurant works from 13 to 16 p.m. and from 19 to 00 a.m.

P.S. waiter Danny is the best!

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LilRedRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

I first visited Aktaion Restaurant in the summer of 1985. It was one of the few restaurants back in those days and a hotspot just because it was where it was and still is. Located right at the edge of the Caldera at the little square of Firostefani. The location alone makes it worth visiting but the food is divine. Really good Greek food with many dishes we Greeks only get at home from our mothers but seldom in restaurants. It warms your heart. Over the years every time I returned to Santorini, I made sure to come and eat here. I was never disappointed.
We stopped by on our first night this summer again and were lucky to get a table right at the fron row with exclusive views to the sunset. Of course now 30 years after my first visit, it is not one of the few restaurants but surrounded by tens if not hundred of new places. The crowds have grown immensly over the years and what used to be a quiet romantic corner of Santorini's main town Fira is now (in the peak season) a buzzling hotspot for many tourists and yet and this is why I write this review, Aktaion has kept it's charm, friendly hospitality and it's impeccable food. It comes as a surprise, to find such authentic good food and warmhearted service in the middle of all those tourist traps but you do!
Go there for a romantic dinner gazing at the sunset. Make sure to bring a jacket or something warm, because the wind can be strong in the evening hours and your better half (in her light, summer dress) may start complaining a little about the wind ;-)
You wouldn't want to spoil such a perfect dinner, would you?

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank GreekTBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

Very tasty lunch in Firastefani. Easy to get to from both Fira and Imerovigli. Lots of great mezzes (appetizers). Particularly enjoyed the rolled eggplant and the special tzaziki.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank dbach24
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

Nothing special in outward appearance but don't let that fool you. The best food of the vacation! Mousaka to die for, perfect shrimp with spinach and mamas pasta dish. All were terrific. Located on a pedestrian walkway with beautiful sunset views, this place is a gem. In operation for more than 90 years, they know how to cook and serve the perfect meals. A must go to restaurant!

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank CFlo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Aktaion also viewed

Firostefani, Santorini
Firostefani, Santorini
 

Been to Aktaion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.