We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Τι απόλαυση!”
Review of Simos Taverna

Simos Taverna
Ranked #9 of 19 Restaurants in Firostefani
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Τι απόλαυση!”
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

Very friendly and nice staff.
Delicious and fresh food, well cooked.
Very traditional ambience, with beautiful roof garden.

Helpful?
Thank Bruno F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    429
    236
    76
    29
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

While this taverna did not have the best food we had in Santorini (although it was still very good), it was by far the best in terms of customer service. Our waiter was outstanding and had a great sense of humour. We ordered pastitsio, an interesting salad with parmesan, raisins, lettuce, and sundried tomatoes (at the waiter's recommendation), and a fish dish (I can't recall the name). It was all very tasty. We also had halva for dessert, which is made with semolina. We had never had it before but it was delicious.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“local cuisine at its best”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

totally recommend this restaurant for outstanding service & yummy local Greek cuisine. fresh fish,fava,tomato balls, calamari, & Greek salad excellent choices. very well priced & delish.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“average for the fantastic but better than most”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

While this place seems touristy and the car noise on the main floor is irritating. Uptairs has a nice atmposphere. The food is average to good but it is a good place for a group. Grilled food is the best items on the menu

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“See all The Greek Appetizers”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The best thing about this little Taverna is that the waiter brings over a giant platter with all their appetizers laid out and gives you a brief explanation of them- this would be especially helpful if you were not fluent in Greek or greek small plates. I think it is a nice gesture. My husband and I would have been smart to head all his suggestions instead of just one. He said the grilled mushrooms were great, and he was right; they were fantastic. We also had Briam (a stew made out of roasted vegtables) and tomato balls, which are actually little friters. The briam was OK, and the tomato balls tasted like they had been made and then refried. We had been eating a lot of meat on our trip, so opted for vegetables on this meal, so to be fair- I would ask the waiter what was good and go from there. Our waiter was great and the service was perfect.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank artmomrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Simos Taverna also viewed

Firostefani, Santorini
Firostefani, Santorini
 
Firostefani, Santorini
 

Been to Simos Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing