We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sun Rocks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sun Rocks Hotel
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Firostefani
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

This review is based on a one week stay at Sunrocks in a Junior Suite in August 2011.

The hotel, and indeed the overall experience of the holiday, was wonderful. This begins upon arrival; guests are greeted by the manger, given a welcome drink and shown to their rooms. The atmosphere is relaxed and welcoming and, of course, the views are amazing.

The rooms are cut into the rock of the caldera lip and, as such, are small but well-equipped and are a cool refuge from the summer sun. Additionally, rooms have their own outside areas and sun-loungers overlooking the caldera, which offer more privacy than the poolside loungers.

The food is excellent, in particular the breakfasts and the special 'Katikides Experience' tasting menu dinner.

The staff deserve a special mention (thank you, Alex). They are friendly, helpful and knowledgable about the island and potential activities, including in particular restaurants and local wine. It is obvious that careful thought has gone into the overall guest experience - one is continually surprised by small but charming touches, such as all the staff remembering the guests' names and a mobile phone being provided on arrival which can be used to contact reception around the clock (to arrange taxis back to the hotel late at night, for instance).

Overall, a hotel which cannot be recommended highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    60
    26
    10
    10
See reviews for
9
275
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

Wow what an amazing experience it was to stay at sunrocks!

The staff were all very friendly and enhanced an already amazing location to a new level of excellence. Lefteris (aka Leftie) and Georgia made us feel welcomed and valued whilst staying at Sunrocks.

Within 10 mins of asking where to go and what to do in Santorini Georgia had arranged dinner reservations and a quad bike for our adventure to Amoudi bay and all of her reccomendations were superb and made our time in Santorini very memorable.

The hotel resort itself is immaculate with stunning views of the caldera and the breakfast is irresistble.

Sunrocks is a must in Santorini and we are already planning the return trip despite the long journey from Melbourne, Australia.

P.S A gymnasium is not available within the resort however the hunderds of steps from your room up to hotel reception will surely keep you fit whilst on holiday! :)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adz_chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

When we were planning our honeymoon, we wanted nothing but the best for our stay in Santorini......and we sure found it!!! All aspects of the hotel were perfect including the room, view, facilities, and location. The most amazing part about our stay without doubt was the service, the staff made you feel like anything was possible and absolutely nothing was an inconvenience. A real special thank you to Lefty (Hotel Manager), he and his staff certainly delivered an experience that we will never forget!! The breakfast was the greatest of all time, so much so that I over ate every morning! Firostefani is the perfect location, central quite with a great selection of restaurants & bars/cafes, and only a 10 minute walk to Fira. Thanks for everything Sun Rocks, simply awesome!! BTW – Make sure you try Ginger Sushi Lounge, only a 2 min walk from the hotel!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jazz_n_hayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

Alekos, Merlin, Michalis, and Leader/Visionary Lefteris (a.k.a. "Lefty") brilliantly operate a truly impressive property with an extraordinary kitchen and eye-poppingly exquisite vista of Santorini's famous caldera and life-altering grapefruit sunsets.

Exceeding the expectations of what I would conclusively deem the best boutique hotel on Santorini, the staff of Sun Rocks fulfilled every wish we could imagine for a perfect honeymoon. 5 Star service with heart-felt family warmth made Sun Rocks difficult to leave.

We loved Sun Rocks.

Enjoy.

Room Tip: Speak to Lefty. Boston sends their love.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonLovesGreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Words can not describe the experience we had from the moment we set foot on the first step of Sun Rocks. Georgie greeted us with a smile, and for 7 nights we were treated like royalty and felt like we were the only couple there. The views are breathtaking, the best sunset we have ever seen. The accommodation is luxurious, it's about the finer details. Lefteris is such an amazing man, his attention to detail and his customer service is what makes this place unforgettable. Nothing was too much to ask, thank you Lefteris. Alex greeted us every morning for breakfast and was attentive to our every need. What a great asset he is to the hotel and the food - just amazing. We miss you guys and can't wait to come back. You must stay here when you are in Santorini! John & Georgie :)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnandGeorgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

This hotel was excellent in all aspects - decor, rooms, service, view, food, pool area, location... We will be going back to stay again & I would recommend to all! We had a wonderful stay with every whim catered to. Thank you to Lefti who made our stay so fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marika07921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed for a week commencing 17th July. We arrived frazzled and in desperate need of rest and relaxation. We could not have had more attentive service from the staff - of particular note Lefty and his fantastic assistant Alex - the views were amazing, the room and our private terrace were wonderful. We left almost in a trance. It is a week and a half later and I still feel in holiday mode. Well done guys and thanks a million. We hope to return again!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrazzledofLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Firostefani
0.0 mi away
Apsenti Couples Only - Mykonos
Apsenti Couples Only - Mykonos
#8 of 12 in Agios Ioannis Diakoftis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
3.5 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#8 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belvedere Santorini
Belvedere Santorini
#8 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
#3 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
1.8 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Rocks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Rocks Hotel

Property: Sun Rocks Hotel
Address: | Thira, Santorini, Firostefani 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Firostefani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Rocks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sumptuous aesthetics abound, reflecting its luxurious, low-key, in-house lifestyle where complete peace and tranquility in a magical setting artfully combine with abodes flourishing in comfort, convenience and seduction. Enmeshed around it is the meticulous attention to detail that makes all great hotels bask in magnanimity, that has made Sun Rocks Boutique Hotel, a key destination, time and time again, for Santorini weddings and honeymoons, a prominent couples only hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Prestigia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Southall Travel so you can book your Sun Rocks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Rocks Santorini
Sun Rocks Hotel Santorini/Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing