We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique Property -- One of Best in its Class”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Tsitouras Collection Hotel
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Firostefani
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
265 reviews
260 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 553 helpful votes
“Unique Property -- One of Best in its Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2007

After viewing other 5-star properties in Santorini, I was glad I chose to stay here. It is a unique boutique hotel with only 5 cottages; the rooms themselves are like museums with lots of art in them but definitely comfortable. All the expected amenities are there and the morning breakfast is served in a very nice way. My House of the Wind included a top-notch upright Yamaha piano and this was an unexpected pleasure. I wouldn't be particular as to whether or not you have a personal sundeck; all rooms are very close to the common area sundeck. You can see other people on the property or avoid them. Service is very personal with two resident butlers Monji and Peter and the owner's daughter Eleni is a gracious hostess-manager and hotelier. The location is very convenient; overlooking the volcano and sea with as good a view of any of the sunsets of Santorini. From there you can walk about 15 minutes to the town of Fira along a promenade with great views of the volcano and sea; take the cable car down to the sea; there are a few decent restaurants within 3 minutes walk of the hotel. On the island I had a car and driver as arranged by the hotel and it is a good way to cover the island in 4 hours albeit pricey at 100 euro per hour. One good thing about this property is that compared to other properties the number of steps you have to climb up and down is much less than others. On this trip I viewed Perivolas (rooms somewhat minimalist and lots of steps but not near anything); Katikies (a bit too exclusive for my taste, rooms not terribly impressive for the price and lots of steps but very close to pedestrian entrance of Oia); Zannos Melathron (didn't see the rooms but you have to walk through a maze of an old city uphill or ride a donkey just to reach the property and no view of the volcano). I didn't bother tp see the Amex Platinum Fine Resorts property but was told by my guide that it is a more traditional type of hotel and in a place that is secluded with no real view. The Astra Apartments were to me the most gorgeous and have a really secluded hideaway view over the volcano area, but again not close to anything and you're exhausted by the time you walk to the front entrance from your room. I didn't see the Sea Captains House which looks interesting if you want to be near or in Oia in a small type hotel like Tsitouras (Oia is about 15 km away from Fira); if you're into nightlife it's more interesting to be in Fira but I might have enjoyed it more to be closer to Oia where I could walk around more and see more things around me although it is certainly a day-trip place you can cover in an hour over lunch. I'm not a nightlife guy and by 9pm I was in my hotel room sitting around doing nothing because there is no place near the hotel to walk around after dark except to go to town to the bars. But all things considered it was a very relaxing property, probably the most user-friendly and Santorini is itself a lousy place to be by yourself but also a great place to get away from everyone and everything. So in that sense the property worked fine for me. For my purposes 2 nights was adequate.

  • Liked — unique boutique property with excellent service, location and relaxing qualities
  • Disliked — nothing for me to do at night unless you want to go into town and drink
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank 649ic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    2
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
61
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens,Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2006

A truly unforgettable experience in the most romantic setting! Eleni and Xrisi we cant thank you enough for all the details you had to take care of and for the excellent personalised service you provided . Looking forward to coming again next year !

Tete+Marielle

  • Liked — I cant single out one particular thing . The total experience though was fantastic
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Tete84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2006

My wife and I stayed at the Tsitouras Collection for 3 days and were simply floored by the owners, staff, and overall service of this marvelous hotel.
Situated at the top of Fira (Santorini's capital), this hotel offers unsurpassed views of the volcanic islands of The Caldera. We stayed in the Nureyev Suite...which has it's own private balcony...and were served a sumptuous breakfast (included) from this very spot each morning. (What a way to wake up!) Eleni Tsitoura (and her sister Chrissy) went out of their way to insure that our stay was one of a kind...they took care of our car rental, recommended and made reservations at the best restaurants on the island, and gave us the inside scoop on which beaches to visit during the day. Cocktails were served each evening to further enhance the most amazing sunsets you'll ever experience.
Yes, this hotel is pricey, and it doesn't have a pool (unless you rent the family villa), but these factors are far outweighed by the positives such as: Airport transfers to/from the hotel are included, the mini-bar is free, and CD's/DVD's are at your disposal. So, yes, we would return in a heartbeat. Privacy, attention to detail, and impeccable service go a long way in my book.

Helpful?
7 Thank Globe-trot-er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2006

Imagine a sunset from your private terrace ..with a complimentary cocktail in hand. It's just as peaceful as the rest of your stay at one of the villas at the Tsitouras Collection. Eleni, your host and manager of the property can arrange anything from a private cruise, a private meal from their chef, a rental car which is most helpful on this island and restaurant recommendations/reservations. Each villa is furnished with antiques .. our's was the House of Sea and had an original Picasso cermaic as well as other charming sea-oriented antiques. The breakfast, which is included, is more than enough...served on silver trays, the fresh fruit, yogurt, eggs, cheese, breads and basically anything you want make lunch optional. Head to the beaches as they don't have a pool and a lovely trip to Santorini is complete!

  • Liked — The service was exception and the view unbeatable!
  • Disliked — No pool
  • Tips/Secrets — Go for it!
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MelanieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2005

My husband and i got married at the beginning of June at Tsitouras in Firostefani! Its is a fabulous hotel. It is a collection of 5 or 6 'houses' built into the cliffs. They all have different names. We stayed at the House of Nureyev, which is the most private room/house above the other 4 which incidentally share a massive terrace, so if you are on honeymoon or want some privacy then you must stay in the Nureyev. They also have a private villa with private pool which has to be the most beautiful accommodation i have ever stayed in. It literally hangs over the cliff and when the sun goes down its heavenly. All the houses have original artwork and artifacts dating back to B.C from the volcanic eruption which covered the entire island. Breakfast is served to your terrace on silver trays and there is so much food, dont think about lunch!! The only downside is that there is no pool unless you stay at the Villa itself. But looking at the other accommodation around which is still good, this is THE place to stay for 5 star delux accommodation and service. The management are incredible too, nothing is a problem and they will organise anything from champagne to excursions within a few minutes.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SMS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Firostefani
0.2 mi away
Belvedere Santorini
Belvedere Santorini
#8 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
#3 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chromata Hotel
Chromata Hotel
#11 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
2.1 mi away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#10 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
#2 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tsitouras Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tsitouras Collection Hotel

Property: The Tsitouras Collection Hotel
Address: Firostefani, Firostefani 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Firostefani
#4 Romantic Hotel in Firostefani
#7 Luxury Hotel in Firostefani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tsitouras Collection Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The mansion that forms the nucleus of the Tsitouras Collection was built in 1780. It was renovated in 1985 by the art collector Dimitris Tsitouras, who converted it into five units, each with a separate theme and name, all demonstrating his personal style and respect for the Greek tradition and the needs of modern travellers. Each suite has a complimentary wet bar, CD player, satellite TV, DVD, direct dial phone and safety deposit boxes. All bathrooms are in Greek white marble and fully equipped. An a-la-carte breakfast is served, and lunch and dinner are also available in this boutique hotel. In 2010, a pool was been built on the Maria Callas Terrace where guests can enjoy snacks and refreshing cocktails.Located at the quite village of Firostefani, a 10 minute walk from the main town of Fira. Easily accessible via air and boat transportation, 8 Km from Santorini airport and Athinios port. The Tsitouras Collection is a boutique small luxury hotel in Santorini, facing one of the most breathtaking views in the world. It consists of 5 suites only, each with a separate theme and name. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tsitouras Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tsitouras Collection Firostefani
The Tsitouras Collection Hotel Santorini/Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing