We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kafieris Apartments On The Cliff
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice”
Reviewed 26 June 2011

The rooms were quaint and small -- nothing special, but just right for what we were paying. We appreciated that they cleaned each day, and LOVED having a cold fridge to keep water, wine, fruit etc. in.

The view from the roof deck was the best in town -- with the exception of Oia of course. We had some friends visit who were at a different hotel and enjoyed wine/cheese over a sunset one night.

Great value for the price, make sure to get a room with a view though.

No pool on the premise but there was a cute little jacuzzi thing up top they kept cold-- perfect for hot summer days in Santorini.

Room Tip: Great Value, make sure to get a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayla1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    40
    26
    17
    20
See reviews for
13
71
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2011

We stayed at this hotel way back in 2004, so am writing from memory (the drop down box on this site only allowed recent dates, so I put in March 2001 - this is actually written 7 odd years after our stay at this property). I remember charming rooms which had everything you would need - a bathroom, bedroom and a kitchenette - the bonus being the spectacular view of the Caldera from the balcony.

I recall the owner being very helpful when the seas were too stormy for the ferries to run between Santorini and Athens. He arranged for us to stay an extra night, and also arranged a drop to the airport when we were leaving.

I don't recall what we paid, as the whole trip was part of a package put together by a lovely little travel agency in Athens.

We visited Santorini in the off season so the area around the hotel was very quiet, however this gave us the illusion that we had the island all to our selves, and we made the most of it, renting a little hatchback and driving around Santorini!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gnrtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

After reading some negitive reviews on this website, we were a bit worried about the Kafieris Apartments. However, we enjoyed our 3 nights very much and would return to the hotel at any time. The rooms were clean and comfortable with balcony's and amazing views of the caldera of Santorini. There is a lovely rooftop area with chairs, tables and a small jacuzzi size pool. The breakfast in the morning was nothing to write home about but they did have coffe, juice, and pound cake. The hotel is a short walk back to the main area of Fira either on the caldera view stone path or on the main road. The are of Firastefani where the hotel is is bustling at night so if you wanted to stay close to the hotel you could find many resturants and shops to keep you bust. The staff was very friendly, we had transport from the ferry when we arrived as well as to the airport when we left.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel1284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2009

Arrived by Ferry and were pleased to be met by our driver. Little did we know that this was the best of our service for the four days of our stay. After spending several days in Naxos at Costello Studios with excellent accomodatiions and service, we were really let down by our treatment by the manager here. We were yelled at the first night, for trying to use the Jacuzzi around 8 pm as she claimed it was closed for the evening. Not that it was going to be very enjoyable as the temp was extremely cold. Breakfast was stale bread and deli type cheese and meat that did not appear fresh. Manager and Owner were rather rude and indifferent to us during the entire stay. Our room had a bad odor and I realized that a sewer vent was just below our bathroom window that would not close. Not helpful with touring advise on the Island. Our flight back to Athens was late (8:30 pm) and I really had to argue with manager to get them to hold our luggage and give us our free transfer late in the evening rather than 11 am trip she said she could arrange. Would never recommend to anyone, especially with the number of rooms on the Island.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJBPittsburghPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Firostefani hotels

LA
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2009

We arrived on Santorini with night ship from Athina. We have been good welcome from the personnel of Kafieris Apartments. Very nice vacation, with gorgeous view, good service. It is small family hotel with beautiful view , smiling people and all this for very good price.
Me and my family recommend this gorgeous place, if you want to have happy stay in Santorini.
We wish you nice trip in Santorini.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LA_John_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2008

I stayed at Kafieris for four days in Oct 2008. It would have been decent value for 50 euros but given the terrible service and rude behavior of the hotel owner (Ioannis) and hotel manager (Nadia), I would not recommend this hotel to family nor friends.

The hotel advertises one free transfer either to or from the airport. I had arranged via email with the hotel owner to have a pick-up which was met with a very quick reply saying it was no problem. Another hotel guest (who arrived on a separate day) also faced the same situation and like me, was left stranded at the airport. After waiting for 30 min with no pick-up and no notice, I took a taxi to the hotel and met with a shrug from the hotel manager. She said it was the "van's fault."

Other rude awakenings:

1. Being scolded for showing up to breakfast 10 min before closing (even though Nadia had previously stipulated that we could show-up up until 10am). The guy who showed up at 10:01 got scolded and left with no breakfast.

2. Being refused a second towel and getting scolded by the hotel manager for asking - "one person, one towel, " she said (with hand gestures to go along with the emphasis).

3. Being told on the day that I was leaving that I could only pay with cash. (Even though I had guaranteed to pay with visa).

4. Being told on the day that I was leaving that I would have to go to the airport 4 hours early because that was the only time they alloted for a drop-off at the airport.

I found that, in general, Santorini is not known for being the most hospitable city however the staff at Kafieris would rank at the top for being the rudest during my visit.

  • Liked — quiet surroundings
  • Disliked — the rude hotel manager (Nadia) and owner (Ioannis)
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oia888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2008

I booked a reservation with Margarita Hotel (a cheaper property) which is owned by the same man but was delivered to this hotel by the airport shuttle because the Margarita Hotel was full for the weekend. (Incidentally, I had no problems with transportation to or from the airport being provided in a timely manner; transportation from the airport is free, transportation to the airport is 5 Euro). I was brushed off by the owner and told that I would move to the Margarita after the 1st 2 nights of my stay. After I recovered a bit from 18 hours of travel, I told Nadia who manages the hotel that it would be very inconvenient to move but she just shrugged.

The next morning I left a housekeeping tip, as is my custom, and by the end of the day Nadia told me that she arranged for me to stay at the Kafieris Apartments for the price that I had booked at the Margarita. She was very kind to me for the duration of my stay but be aware that she speaks very little English.

The room was clean but furnishings, linens are very old. The room phone didn't work (Nadia's lack of English was a real problem when I was trying to resolve this problem). The hotel is a decent value for 50 Euro, which a previous poster said she paid. Nadia told me that the room rate was 80 Euro, which would be an outrageous price to pay for these accommodations.

I was surprised to see that another review stated that this hotel is a 5 minute walk to Fira. It is a 15 minute walk to the commercial section of Fira, which is where you get dinner because there are essentially no restaurants in Firostefani.

Depending on what you're looking for in a hotel, this could suite your needs .... but not if you're going to be charged 80 Euro!

  • Liked — Personal patio and airport transportation
  • Disliked — Hassle with owner and check-in and language difficulties
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank FiveforTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Firostefani
0.3 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
0.3 mi away
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
#2 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ellinon Thea Boutique Hotel
Ellinon Thea Boutique Hotel
#15 of 21 in Firostefani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Antonia Hotel Santorini
0.1 mi away
Anteliz Suites
Anteliz Suites
#4 of 80 in Fira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ira Hotel & Spa
Ira Hotel & Spa
#6 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kafieris Apartments On The Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kafieris Apartments On The Cliff

Property: Kafieris Apartments On The Cliff
Address: Firostefani, Firostefani 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Firostefani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Kafieris Apartments On The Cliff 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kafieris Apartments On The Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikos Kafieris Apartments Hotel Firostefani
Kafieris Apartments On The Cliff Santorini/Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing