We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More basic than the pictures might show”
Review of Margarita Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Margarita Hotel
Ranked #21 of 21 Hotels in Firostefani
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“More basic than the pictures might show”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We went to this hotel as part of a package from a travel agent with the ferry ride from Heraklion. We should have researched the place a little more before agreeing to the deal - which wasn't much of a deal, as we discovered.
The room was small and the bathroom smaller and the towels were really rough on the skin. The property has some ocean views but most of the rooms do not (we had a view of scrubby land next door). The people were friendly and the place was clean, if quite simple but it was not worth what we paid (inflated due to dodgey deal with travel agent), nor the normal price when there are MUCH nicer cheap places just a few minutes walk away.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LozVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    34
    35
    17
    22
See reviews for
10
61
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

The hotel wasn't less than what we expected since it was a 1 star hotel. the room is very modest but the bed was comfortable. I didn't like the bathroom it was so poor. The internet connection was good in the room. we had a lovely balcony overlooking the pool. Though the service wasn't really friendly it was good and generous. What we really liked about the hotel is that it is near to the town center. you need a 10 mins walk to reach it. If you're aiming to discover the island, have fun and only use the hotel to spend the night then you can stay in that hotel, however if you're on your honeymoon, you should definitely chose another hotel. To our big surprise, on the last day when we were leaving the hotel to another one, the owner offered us a free ride to the other hotel we found that really kind of him.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We really enjoyed our 7 night stay here. The hotel is basic but provides all that is necessary for a stay on Santorini. It was clean and friendly being a family run business, Poppi and Yannivery nice people treating us almost as family. The room was basic and the bathroom minute but again adequate, and breakfast enough but certainly not a feast, although I asked for and got some yogurt on a couple of mornings and always had extra orange juice or coffee on request. We found the hotel quite charming in its simplicity and would stay there again. A very welcome touch was the refrigerator in our room. We also had a sea view which was lovely.
The position of the Margarita is central on the island with adjacent bus stops to travel north to Oia and a 10 minute walk down to the main town of Fira where a bus can be got for any other destination. We used the local buses to visit Akrotiri in the South for the beach and the archaeological site, to Monolithos in the east for an afternoon on the beach, north to Oia for its beauty, and to the central village of Pyrgos which was lovely (and the food that we had there was the cheapest that we found and was indeed the best of the week) The buses are easy and cheap.
I think that Richard B must have stayed at a different Hotel Margarita as there is no buffet, no restaurant for the provision of any meal other than breakfast and no entertainment.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Friendly staff, picked me up from the midnight ferry that was much appreciated. The pool water is in very good condition but could do with having the dead flies cleaned out more frequently. Breakfast is pretty basic (bread, cake, couple of slices of ham/cheese, coffee/tea). Bathrooms very small.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank douglas Elliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2013

This is a decent place to stay. Clean and very pretty building. The staff is sweet and you feel like you have visited a family friend's home. It is easy to travel north and south from this place as it is kind of in the center of the island. In all, if where you stay is not important, then a good budget place to stay at.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Su_the_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We picked up a last minute all inclusive seven day holiday to the Hotel Margarita in late October. The flight was on time, the transfer bus waiting, and Hotel rooms ready on arrival. The hotel is family run with a number of English speaking staff, all of whom were very helpful. The rooms are clean and tidy, although the beds seem a little hard, and the buffet style food offered a good selection of salads and hot dishes. The pool is clean and tidy although there seems to be quite a lot of flies about. There was some entertainment in the evening, although this was geared to the families and children. All in all good value for money, and the sun shone every day!!

Room Tip: Get a room at the front ,to get the morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Family run Hotel we were there in October and the tourists had slowed down, we were picked up from the ferry and taken to the hotel, it was the middle for the day but we found the staff was just going thru the paces.
We are senior married couple and given room with single beds, on asking for a double bed was given another room. Very small, and very hard bed.
Location was good and we booked it with Island package tour not known what we paid for accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wazza1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Firostefani
0.2 mi away
Argonaftes Villa
Argonaftes Villa
#16 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofia Hotel Santorini
Sofia Hotel Santorini
#19 of 21 in Firostefani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
2.2 mi away
Nautilus Dome
Nautilus Dome
#24 of 80 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ellinon Thea Boutique Hotel
Ellinon Thea Boutique Hotel
#15 of 21 in Firostefani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sky of Thira
Sky of Thira
#20 of 21 in Firostefani
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Splendour Resort
Splendour Resort
#17 of 21 in Firostefani
3.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margarita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margarita Hotel

Property: Margarita Hotel
Address: 11 Firostefani, Firostefani 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 21 Hotels in Firostefani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Margarita Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Margarita Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margarita Hotel Firostefani
Margarita Hotel Santorini/Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing