We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, clean rooms, okay location, great for the price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Margarita Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Margarita Hotel
Ranked #21 of 21 Hotels in Firostefani
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great staff, clean rooms, okay location, great for the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2009

My fiance and I stayed at Hotel Margarita 9/17-9/20. Because I had booked as a solo traveler, they put me in a room with two single beds, but they do have rooms with double beds. They didn't charge me any extra for him when we checked in. We stayed in a building that was two buildings down from the main building. The rooms were very clean, the bathroom seemed brand new, and we had a fridge and balcony. The room didn't have a safe so bring a lock and lock your valuables in a bag everyday.

The location is about a 10 minute walk to the center of Fira Town. The walk is easy but I recommend renting an ATV or scooter. We rented an ATV for 25 Euro per day and drove to every corner of the island. Since it's a little further away from Fira Town, you can actually sit on your balcony, enjoy the view, and have a little peace and quiet.

The hotel has several vans. They picked me up from another hotel, picked my fiance up from the airport, and dropped us off at the airport on our final day.

The breakfast was typical of a Greek budget hotel. They bring it to you on a tray. They serve bread, ham and cheese, pound cake, tea or coffee, and an orange drink similar to Tang.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chanda3x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    33
    35
    17
    22
See reviews for
10
60
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
145 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2009

I stayed here at the hotel in early September and am very happy with the value for money aspect of this hotel.
The hotel is, in my opinion situated in a very good location. A 10 minute walk (max) to centre of Fira and about 5 minutes to view the Caldera from above the houses & apartments in Firostefani. From this view point you are metres away from the iconic blue domed church with bells that overlooks the Caldera!
The rooms are good & equiped with airconditioning and TV with 25-odd channels, a small fridge/freezer & room safe.
The staff are friendly and attentive & can assist with your enquiries & can also provide transfers for 10 Euro.
Breakfast is very pleasant consisting of fresh bread, Greek honey, jams and spreads, orange juice, coffee (hot or frappe) or tea and a slice of local cake to set you on your journey for the day.
In reflection and all things considered, the price is very reasonable and this is a great value for money hotel.
I look forward to staying here again in a future visit to Santorini.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonTravelbug1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2009

We booked hotel margarita via a travel agent in athens, transfer from the port to the hotel included. Santorini's port, however, is chaotic, particularly when we went (early august, peak tourist season), and there were too many people for us to be able to find the driver. We spoke to the tourist information office at the port, who kindly rang the hotel, and organised our transfer to come and pick us up. We couldnt begrudge the hotel for this, but we did have to wait 15 minutes for our ride, not to mention the time spent quequeing up at the tourist information office, and it was a very hot day...
We had to wait in the lobby for our room until 12 midday with our luggage for the cleaners to prepare our room. The hotel is family run, thus organization is quite poor. The room itself was pretty and colourful, unlike your average Greek hotel (white walls, white bedsheets). The room had internet & AC. The second day the internet stopped working, and although we complained, it was not fixed.
Breakfast wasnt a buffet, and it consisted of fresh bread and spreads (nutella, butter, strawberrry jam, honey), cake, orange juice or coffee or tea. Very plain.
The hotel's pool was small but pleasant.
The hotel is located in Firostefani, and is a 20 minute walk into the main town of Fira. There are some nice tavernas in Firostefani though, we recommend the Simos taverna, for cheap and delicous greek meals. The walk to Fira is quite dangerous though, as there are no pavements.
The hotel arranged for us to be dropped off at the port when we left Santorini.
Hotel Margarita does not have the stunning view of the Caldera.
In addition, you have to buy bottled water, tap water is not drinkable on the island. We reccommend going to a mini market on your way into Fira, buy a big bottle for 50c.
Overall, the poor service of the hotel made our stay a little stressful, especially considering we were paying 90 euros a night. The island of santorini is so beautiful however, that we still had a magic time.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sciencedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
88 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2009

Margarita hotel also has a smaller hotel with the same name that is located down hill a little ways. The smaller Margarita was barely tolerable. We booked it with a travel agent in Athens, and I think that he thought that were spring breakers on a tight budget, so this is what we got. The hotel was not great but it could have been worse. I would not recommend this hotel mostly because of location. There was a nice view, but I don't think there is anywhere in Santorini that does not have a nice view. It is a long and very steep walk to the coast. We found a travel agent nearby that gave us a two day driving tour of the island, that was fantastic! The island is absolutely beautiful!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NyCricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Firostefani hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2009

My friend and I were accommodated in Hotel Margarita for 2 nights last week.
We got a double room with twin beds and bathroom. Everything was so tidy and clean. They clean the room and change the towels in a daily basis.
Room were so cute, everything in white and blue.
My friend was making a joke because she used to say that hotel looked like a hotel for girls... And at that time, everyone in the hotel was female!!!
Maybe you dont have Caldera views, but in a short walk from the hotel, you can get them (at Firostefani).
Location is not too far from Fira's main street (around 10 minutes walking)
Staff was very kind. They were to the port to pick up us and then, they brought us to the port by free.
If any time I come back to Santorini, I will try to be accommodated in Hotel Margarita

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chuslopez77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2008

Me and my 2 brother stayed in this hotel for 2 night.. in triple room.For our 3 weeks traveling its was the worst hotel....
First of all... we got the tinest room ever... we could berely walk there.... Next thing// we got very unlucky with room location. it was on fisrt (main) flooor on with windows facing front of hotel and main road.. In morning people would hang out there waking us up.. Breakfast was very limitted... tea, some breadrolls, and crossons and orange juice.. thats it.. we were not full..
I didnt deal with owner much.. so not sure how nice they were.
The good thing about hotel is that they have unlimiited wireless internet . There was not problem with picking up/ droping off us at airport as well..
Well. overall./ i would say.. a mean i pay 40 euros per night.. very cheap.. its OK for very Budget people....but if you can afford something better.. GO FOR...and i would also recomend to stay in OIA.. instead of Fira.. we like there better...

  • Liked — Free internet
  • Disliked — ROOM and Breakfast
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tanichka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york, ny
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2008

This hotel was so poorly run. First, they promised and confirmed with us that they'd pick us up at the port. When we arrived at the port, there was no one waiting for us. So instead we had to take a 25 euro cab to the Hotel. Then when we got there, they had to change our reservation so they ended us moving to different rooms during the course of our stay. Finally, they told us that bc they didn't pick us up from the port, they'd make it up to us by driving us to the port on our departure. When we were ready to leave, we were told to wait outside for our ride. We waited for an hour until we concluded that no one was coming to give us a ride. We went back in to complain, and they got some young kid to drive us. It wasn't clear that guy even worked there.

The rooms were adequate and having a pool was a nice touch. Other than that, this hotel was a nightmare and I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VA117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Firostefani
2.1 mi away
Argonaftes Villa
Argonaftes Villa
#15 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sofia Hotel Santorini
Sofia Hotel Santorini
#19 of 21 in Firostefani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ellinon Thea Boutique Hotel
Ellinon Thea Boutique Hotel
#16 of 21 in Firostefani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nautilus Dome
Nautilus Dome
#29 of 79 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Mylos
Hotel Mylos
#14 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
2.5 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margarita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margarita Hotel

Property: Margarita Hotel
Address: 11 Firostefani, Firostefani 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 21 Hotels in Firostefani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Margarita Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Margarita Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margarita Hotel Firostefani
Margarita Hotel Santorini/Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing