We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“great location, good value, clean & friendly !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Firostefani
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“great location, good value, clean & friendly !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Great location, little walk from down town FIRA. Good value, clean & friendly! fantastic volcano view at the pool deck ! breakfast come with 2 types of homemade pie and cake, boiled egg, coffee, juice... ext. which i"m happy with it.
WE had a honeymoon room. good size balcony with a set of chairs & table for a nice rest . the view was very breath taking for both day & night !!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsE520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    167
    17
    7
    6
See reviews for
116
448
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Fantastic view, people actually came there to take photographs of the blue domes right next to the hotel.

Location is amazing - just a walk to Fira, and far enough away from the hustle bustle.

The staff is super super nice - they helped me change last minute reservations, - and they dealt with booking.com - i didnt have to do anything. They sent a vehicle to pick us up at 1am from the ferry terminal. They also offer a discount if you pay by cash.

Nitpicky improvements that can be made:
- Breakfast could be a bit better (the egg options were pretty limited)
- If you have big bags - be prepared to lug them yourself down and up the stairs (the hotel staff could have offered to bring our bags up)

Room Tip: Rooms next to the swimming pool have no view from the room itself. You have to go outside to the swi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yummytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santo Domingo de Heredia, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

great value for the money, visited Santorini in May and the views were breathtaking. the room was clean and nice and the buffet breakfast (included in the fee) was absolutely amazing. Santorini during May is kinda windy but it´s a place that has to be visited at least once in your life. the hotel staff was really nice and helped us a lot during our stay. I definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianaChickCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Well, we wanted a traditional Greek village setting with blue and white architecture and we got far more than expected: a very beautiful, extremely calm and unspoilt setting where, unusually, the hotels and apartments for holiday makers haven't created a blot on the landscape. Firostefani is a lovely spot, a marvel of tiny terraces, pathways and staircases on the steep slope. Our own terrace and apartment (more like a stone cottage) faced the caldera and we had an uninterrupted view across the water to the volcano from sunrise to sunset. At night the terraces are lit by candles and soft lighting: everyone seemed respectful of the peace and not once were we disturbed. No nightclubs, disco music or inconsiderate revelry at all. The facilities at Villa Ilias were exactly as described, every member of staff helpful, friendly and very happy to help. It does take about 15 minutes to walk to the main centre of Fira but we were glad to be out of the busy part and completely away from any road traffic. Would we go again? Absolutely.

Room Tip: for complete calm and a little privacy (eg for sunbathing and eating outside) ask for one of the apa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Unbeatable views, great value for the money, comfortable, and clean! The room was very nice - air conditioning worked very well, bed was clean and comfortable, and the toiletries provided were top notch (a nice touch). Delicious buffet breakfast was included in the price. This was my second stay, and I wouldn't stay anywhere else on my next visit. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for the rooms with a caldera view - totally worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We spent 5 days at Villa Illias and loved it. We could not stop admiring the amazing view from its terrace. We also got a room with a balcony (room 4) which is a good idea to keep enjoying the view at night!
The breakfast buffet is good, the staff is nice and very helpful, and the location perfect: very calm and peaceful but close to Fira (10 min walk with breathtaking views).
Hope to be back one day!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

The views are worth a million dollars! The location is a good 10-15 minute walk to town but it is worth it and you dont notice it if you are taken away from the views! The breakfast every morning is so quaint and cute in a village-like or true greek setting as you feel like it's a cottage with great food! Room service is excellent too as they had most of the time cleaned my room by the time we had gotten back to our rooms after breakfast!
Cannot fault the service at all! I had forgotten my swimmers there and only realised after moving on to the next Greek island and they simply with no hassle or extra charge posted them to my home address to arrive one week after returning home myself! My second stay at this hotel and would go back again!

Room Tip: if you are willing to pay a little bit extra- it is worth booking the sea view rooms, as it is right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larissa16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Firostefani
0.0 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
0.0 mi away
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
#5 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ira Hotel & Spa
Ira Hotel & Spa
#7 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Afroessa Hotel
Afroessa Hotel
#8 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.6 mi away
Evgenia Villas & Suites
0.2 mi away
Manos Small World
Manos Small World
#3 of 21 in Firostefani
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel

Property: Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Address: Firostefani 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Firostefani
#3 Family Hotel in Firostefani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Damigos family has been a part of Santorini history for over a century. Villa Ilias is the former residence of one of our ancestors, George Ilias Damigos. It is built on this specific location to capture breathtaking views that are unique only to Villa Ilias and perched 1,000 feet above the Aegean Sea and the most famous volcano in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Ilias Hotel Firostefani
Ilias Hotel Firostefani
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel Santorini/Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing